We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent you would be crazy not to go here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapeo de Cervantes

Tapeo de Cervantes
C/ Carcer, 8, 29012 Malaga, Spain
0034 952609458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,321 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Schedule:13.00 to 15.3019.30 to 23.30Closed on Mondays and Sundays for lunchHorarios:13.00 a 15.3019.30 a 23.30Cerrado los lunes y los domingos al mediodia
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent you would be crazy not to go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place is on the small side, but if you're lucky enough to get in the food is outstanding.
For 2 drinks each (me and my partner) and around 8 tapas dishes it only cost E40!!! Amazing value. Honestly the pork with pumpkin and pineapple relish I'm addicted to. The octopus was delicious, I can't even describe how good the food actually is.
Just go try it out. The staff are amazing and take their recommendations if you don't know what to have, as they are spot on. I'm honestly considering trying to find a way to come back to malaga just to eat here again. That or kidnapping the chef....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    258
    80
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great tapas place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my boyfriend late one night and had to wait a bit for a table but glad we did. The food and drinks were yummy! Probably the best tapas we had during our trip to Spain. Everything was fantastic except a chicken dish I ordered was a bit chewy and imagine my surprise when they didn't charge us for it. That customer service was A+ and I will recommend this to everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Tourist trap alert!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This place is the perfect example of a tourist trap.
Overpriced so-called 'tapas' that seem to use mostly frozen or canned ingredients and give a low-quality feel to them.
The staff is unfriendly and made me feel like I was a bother for them...

Maybe if you don't know Malaga/Andalousian food you might think this is a typical restaurant in the South of Spain... but as a Malaga-born person I'd say - do not be fooled. After two visits (one with family, one with friends) I regard this so-called restaurant as a money-making machine perfectly crafted to fool naive, unsuspecting tourists.

At least I did not see any locals any of the two times I visited. They must have been eating real Malaga food in a real Malaga restaurant served by your typical friendly Malaga waiters. I.e. NOT in Tapeo de Cervantes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ards
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was hard to find but worth the search. I was tempted to walk the other way when I seen the outside of the tapas bar but so so glad I didn't. It was the best tapas I've had to date my husband and I loved the food and would take a trip back to Malaga just to go there again. I would love to try their other restaurant which diners beside us where telling us was just as good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was torn between this restaurant and el mason de cervantes (also owned by the same owner) but after walking by the two decided to pick Tapeo de Cervantes purely because it was quaint looking compared to the moden interior of el mason de cervantes. We made the right choice...after walking in you realise you can only fit about 15 people in the restaurant, however every Tapas dish we tried was devine. The service was fantastic and the waiters were very good with recommending dishes and drinks for you to try. In total we ended up having 7 tapas dishes, 2 desserts, 2 glasses of local wine and 2 soft drinks which came to €41, well worth the money considering on our first night we paid just over €60 for tapas and soft drinks at another restaurant where the food doesnt even compare to this! Anyone who visits Malaga cannot go wrong with visiting this restaurant....you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapeo de Cervantes also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Tapeo de Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapeo de Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.