We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Que rico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapeo de Cervantes

Tapeo de Cervantes
C/ Carcer, 8, 29012 Malaga, Spain
0034 952609458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,310 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Schedule:13.00 to 15.3019.30 to 23.30Closed on Mondays and Sundays for lunchHorarios:13.00 a 15.3019.30 a 23.30Cerrado los lunes y los domingos al mediodia
Marlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Que rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have to endorse all the great comments about this exciting, friendly and very cosy restaurant. Our first experience was so great, we had to go again. Mouthwatering tapas, particularly good fish ones, were washed down with a great Rioja and followed by delicious desserts - fig flan and apple crumble to die for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,210
    251
    76
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Deserves 6 out of 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When it comes to dining out, the ambience and company your with, is just as important as the food. Tapeo de Cervantes certainly meets that criteria. All the dishes are wondeful, great wine. And cheerful service to match! Its normal to reserve in this bijou joint and highly recommeded although we didn't this time, but we were welcomed to dine at the bar, were the staff attentively served our drinks and chatted with us. Fabulous dining experience... Hope to go back soon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Like this wonderful place needs another review. Just a "Thank You" to all the reviewers before that made me want to go here when we were in Malaga. It was an overall great experience. Yes, the place is packed and cramped quarters, but that all adds to the fun. Almost everything we ordered was beyond delicious. The braised pork dish was melt in your mouth unbelievable, and the blood pudding amazing. The tempura gambas were just okay, though. Wonderful flan as well!

I can't believe that we had 8 tapas, of this caliber, and a bottle of Spanish red for under 50 euros. We did have a slight problem because we had reserved through The Fork, but I had the printout of the reservation and the owner did seat us. We saw many tables turned away with no reservations, so it is important to have them.

This is a must visit place for us when in Malaga. We will be there again in June and can't wait to eat at Cervantes!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Doesn't disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having earlier spent the day at Lake Vinuela where I asked the most important question of my life, we wanted to toast to our engagement. Malaga’s number 1-rated restaurant seemed appropriate and it didn’t disappoint. Tapeo de Servantes is only a miniscule place – just a few tables so booking is essential. It’s quite cramped but has a great atmosphere and most importantly, the food is exceptional. We enjoyed a bottle of local wine, and an assortment of small plates: red pepper cod; seasoned chicken in lemon basmati rice; veal with peppers & mushrooms; rocket red berry salad with goat’s cheese; tuna with fried aubergine & pumpkin mash. For desert – choc & vanilla ice cream with berries desert. A very memorable day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful little tapas place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went here for my wife's birthday last year after reading about it on tripadvisor. The place is really small and only have 7 tables, so either book in advance or be prepared to wait for a table. Oh my, was it worth a wait? Exceptional tapas and our expectation were exceeded. Good atmosphere and service. I would highly recommend you visit if you are in Malaga and try as many tapas as possible.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapeo de Cervantes also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Tapeo de Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapeo de Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.