We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exclusive part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina to your Saves list
Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   C/ Ramos Carrion 38, 29016 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An exclusive part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter period. Having a holiday home in Malaga inland we like to try different places to stay on the coast for a couple of days. The hotel was set in a residential area; it was apparent from the neighbouring properties that this was an exclusive area.

We had a junior suite, we couldnt fault it, a large circular room with a huge terrace commanding views of the port and the City .

We walked on a couple of occasions into the centre of Malaga, a pleasant walk along the promanade - it would take about 30 mins to walk into the centre.

There did seem to be an attractive dining area within the hotel which we didnt use but we did have drinks on a lovely patio area one evening after returning from a night out in Malaga.

The only downside to the hotel would be it's perched quite high up on a hill, so not for the infirm, but a taxi would be relatively inexpensive into town.

We have no complaints about the service we received.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varsenare, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Beautiful setting, on a hill and during the day it is a nice walk to the city.
returning after diner however is quite an exercise, as it is a steep climb.Take the bus and get off at the right stop, ask the driver.
The room we had was very large, had a balcony overlooking the sea and the garden;nice to rest and read.
Service at the front desk is OK, but if you have a heavy suitcase be prepared to climb some stairs.
Breakfast is OK
Price is OK
ISOLATION is very poor, especially if you have high heels above you or people taking a shower at 1AM or drying their hair for 15'
Do not book when weddings or parties are being held.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for a short stay and take the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool Lancashire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel; started life centuries ago as a fortress on the hill keeping guard on the town of Malaga. Now extended and sympathetically modernised it provides truly individual accommodation. Set about 2 miles outside Malaga Centro, it is walkable (uphill coming back) but suggest a taxi for about 5 euros; arrives at reception in 2 minutes. Staff are excellent and very helpful. We travelled for a week-end break in February hence the place was quiet but imagine in the summer this place would be buzzing. Probably best suited for adults. We left our kids at home and in our view was a good plan. The rooms are large and individually designed. Ours offered fantastic views over the Med and Malaga in one direction, and over the hills from the other. Room standard was good and authentically impressive. Ours had a huge terrace shared with one other room and offered amazing views. The grounds are splendid and kept to a very high standard. This is not your average hotel chain boring shoe box, it is a truly individual experience and costs no more than many of the shoe box variety. Only down side was dining and bar facilities. The bar was rather sparse and breakfast limited but cest la vie, this place is a must visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

An old castle, have had Bellavista room, with private terace and almost 360° view over Malaga.

Staff is very nice, breakfast is classy but fresh, interior and garden is extraordinary.

A minor setback might be that it is a bit isolated and bit far from the city center, you can walk in the morning but you will need to take a taxi in the evening as your feet will probably kill you after a day walk in beautiful Malaga. But hey, that's a castle, of course is on the hilltop :)

Room Tip: Choose Bellavista, you will thank for the tip :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kisjulya
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our Spainish vacation and when I
saw it I was speechless. My husband booked this hotel as a surprise to
me and boy was I surprised! A true Spanish castle, tons of local
flavor. Our room #5, was not ready so we were offered refreshments on the
terrace. The room was awesome! So romantic! Overlooking the terrace
with incredible sea view. I did not want to leave. It was
really quiet and calm, not too many visitors, or perhaps we just did
not see anybody. At the end of 18 day vacation I just wanted to relax
and it was the perfect place to do it.

We got few restaurants recommendations and chose one, which had really
very good food.

Now cons:
There is no kitchen in the hotel. Breakfast is very limited and cold.
Instant decaf from a plastic bag gave me shivers. And very fatty jamon
(Spanish ham) did not impress. Staff also failed to bring more food as
it ran out, so we had to go, find somebody and ask to bring some more
which was quite difficult as they speak no English. I wish that
quality of food would be higher and better variety.

There are allot of weddings being planned at the hotel, and it's the
most beautiful place for it....but having brides/grooms all day long in
the courtyard was a bit disturbing as it's a very small place. There
are also allot of filming going on there...all Saturday morning there
were tons of people with cameras and projectors running around the
hotel, at times pretty loud as they were filming.

Our terrace was gorgeous, but it was very sunny all day long and hotel did not
think to provide any umbrellas at the tables. So we could not use it
except for the evening.

There are all little things, but they make the overall picture.

Never the less, I loved this hotel and definitely looking forward to
coming back. I truly hope they read the reviews and take care of
few drawbacks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Enjoyed spacious suite, spectacular views of Malaga and the landscaped garden. A few tacky details like artificial flowers, but otherwise a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

nice view and spacious rooms, good breakfast with and excellent toaster that you can fit rolls, pastries etc in to enjoy hot.

the hotel is a cheap taxi ride ($5) easy bus ride ($1.20) or easy walk (only a short uphill near the hotel on return- otherwise enjoy a level stroll along the sea front promenade.

although the reception staff offered no info to this effect, or on much else.

my main critiscism is that in trying to look old they have resorted to fake- fake flowers, fake books! (cardboard boxes) fake furniture! (eg drawers that have a facade only no drawers)- this is TACKY

Room Tip: rooms good, don't rely on reception for info
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina

Address: C/ Ramos Carrion 38, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castillo De Santa Catalina Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.