We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - Noisy, Dirty and Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Hammam

El Hammam
C/Tomas de Cozar 13, Malaga, Spain (Centro)
34 952 221138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Spas & Wellness in Malaga
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Avoid - Noisy, Dirty and Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Visited this 'hammam' a couple of days after Christmas day 2012. Receptionist was on the 'phone when I went in so had to wait to be served. Small changing room ok but doubled up as a storeroom for their cleaning equipment!

The main bath area had dark grey tiles on the floor which made the place look dirty - or maybe it was. In an environment that should be lit with predominately with soothing aromatic candles it was far too bright, in fact it was brighter inside than it was outside. There was two tea towels, to help reduce light getting in, hanging over extractor vents.

The noise was from uneducated guests was excessive. There are three massage tables and the masseur came in to prepare for a client. The noise she made was a disgrace with absolutely no thought given to the people present. She even lacked educatiing/training and professionalism in how to conduct herself. Throwing an aluminimum bucket around and shouting, not talking, with her client. It was at this point I got up, changed and left (by the way the don't have a hot shower, to wash down, in the changing room).

Having been to large number of arab baths in Spain, so I know my stuff, this is not an arab bath in any shape or form, and a visit should be avoided at all costs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    8
    10
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The guy who was supposed to give my girlfriend a massage was not aware of my rendez vous.
we had to wait 1 hour, there were no hot bath no pool nothing but three small rooms with no music no soap !!!! And the rooms were not even hot !!! Anyways the massage was good and the poeple friendly.

I don't recommand this overpriced place !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, España
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“is this it..??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

i got a coupon for a day at the hammam incl massage for my birthday. my gf prorganised the time for the massage, since it should have been a nice surprise. when i arrived the guy knew nothing of my appointment, but he was very friendly and squeezed me in.

when i saw the hammam i was very disappointed. no pool, no hot baths, not even a jacuzzi!!!! only 3 small areas with a little "river" of hot water. no music, no soap as they say on the homepage either....

the massage was really nice and relaxing. but definitely way OVERPRICED for what one gets....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average sauna/ body scrub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

90 euros a person for a turkish style bath scrub, its men and women mixed. I didn't feel the scrub was as well as other turkish baths, but i guess the massage was good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good relaxing evening!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

went to these baths using the buy one get one free offer for baths and massage, the 3 rooms did not differ in temperature as much as promised and found that they all felt pretty much the same. though it was still a very pleasant experience i felt my pores clear out and the massage was basic yet effective.

a very 'Cosy' set up though the ambience in the upstairs room is well done!

The baths did not compare to my previous experiences in other locations where many more rooms had been available though for something set in the heart of Malaga definately worth the trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Hammam also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Hammam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hammam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.