We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Andalusi Health & Spa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malaga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Andalusi Health & Spa Resort
Save
You added Sol Andalusi Health & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Camino Cuesta del Palmar, 29310 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beware......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

For personal reasons, we had to stay at Sol Andalusi again - Our previous experience was pretty aweful, so we suspected the quality of our stay would be "testing". We booked for 3 nights in a 2 bedroomed apartment for my wife and I and my wife's 86 year old mother... we did not want to eat there as all our previous experiences have been pretty dire... So it was just to sleep. Also our booking-contact knew my mother in law, so was aware of her age.

Firstly, bearing in mind the whole resort was originally built as a Retirement Home - we were allocated an apartment in Phase 2 - which is not accessable by car unless you fork out and rent a garage as well. So getting an 86 year old not only to the apartment, let alone back to the main building is a nightmare (especially if the weather is bad)....so we had to opt for the main building and for 2 x studios... Basic, but ok ( no kettle in one room) - but hey, we only wanted to sleep there and would be out from 7am until 8:30pm.

We returned on the 2nd night to find the hot water was tepid, but thought no more about it. In the morning, there was no hot water at all...so none of us had a chance to wash, shower etc... as we left at 7am we told reception..... We returned at 8:30pm and still no hot water... so we made a decision not to stay another night.... At reception we were told that the problem had been fixed and hot water would be available in another 3 hours! ie 11:30pm

This was unacceptable 11:30 was a guess and we had to be away early again in the morning.... but they would not make any refund or allowance for the "unusable" room... in fact, they tried to over charge us the basic rate!!!!!

Next morning we contacted the "booking-contact" and was offered a 10 euro per room discount ie 20 euros for being unable to wash for 24hrs....

I used to own a hotel and hot water is a basic part of the contract of supply - a faulty hot water system is a fact of life... but expecting guests to pay for a night where they were unable to wash, is just unacceptable. The room could not be let without hot water, so there was no loss to the hotel!

The booking-contact said we would have been offered another room to enable us to wash... which was in Phase 2!!!!! So back to the original issue of an 86 year old unable to gain close access to the room!!

All in all, Sol Andalusi could be such a wonderful place - but greedy developers mixed with very poor management and a lack of how to deal with customer issues makes this Hotel a place to seriously avoid....

One up point... at least the reception staff are now polite!

Room Tip: The main building has only studios and 1 bed apartments - everything else is a walk... and remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husband and i got married at Sol Andalusi on 24th September 2011. We had the most fabulous wedding with 120 close friends and family. We chose this hotel as it has beautiful grounds, the staff are wonderful and they offered amazing room rates for our guests. Before the wedding we would often dine in their restaurant and have drinks in the bar, the service is second to none and the meals are as good as any michelin star restaurant we visit in London.

We had attended other celebrations there such as weddings and communions mainly for spanish families and we knew they had a high standard to uphold. They did not disappoint!

Our guests travelled from all over the world to attend our wedding and they could not believe the room, they were well euipped, stylish and spacious. The hotel had all the ammenities you could need and everyone had access to the three pools and spa if they wished. My friends in particular made use of the buses into Malaga and Alhaurin de la Torre.

The hotel staff could not assist us enough in the year leading up to our wedding, (in fact we had to choose the 24th as they were booked up for every other weekend in june, july and august and september from Nov 2010) nothing was too much trouble, they sourced and booked us a traditonal "cortador" and spanish guitarists to play during our meal. Every time we had a meeting with the hotel or restaurant staff with ideas or requests, we left happy in the knowledge that they would do their best to help us.

We had our ceremony on the terrace with all our guests looking out on breathtaking views, we had our cocktails there also and then our meal underneath the stars. The food was outstanding and all our guests could not believe the high level of presentation, it looked beautiful. The food was served hot to everyone without exception.

We were also able to dance the night away after the dinner until 5.30 am in the sound proof theatre, no other hotel in Spain lets you do this if they have other paying guests staying.

We would like to thank all the hotel staff for making our day so special, in particular Fernando, Luis, Jose, Paco, Abadel, and Antonio.

I would highly recommend this hotel for an event or even just a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I arrived with my family to visit a family member who lives at the resort. My initial impression was that the grounds and facility are lovely but Sol Andalusi is really out of the way from Malaga. You definitely need a hire car to get around. Mind you, it's not a far car ride, only 15-20 minutes to the Mediterranean, but definitely not suitable for walking to the sea. The city of Malaga is also quite far. The closest town, Alhaurin de la Torre is a nice little town to walk in but doesn't offer much besides restaurants and cafes. The staff at Sol Andalusi are lovely; so accomodating and willing to help when needed. The rooms are modern and clean. My only complaint about the rooms is the lack of towels. Apparently they are only changed every three days, even when requested. I forgot a pool towel when I packed for the trip so I needed to take a bath towel from my room, as the Spa was closed for siesta so I couldn't rent towels from them. Therefore, I was down one towel. Anyway, it was a very pleasant stay at Sol Andalusi. Like I said, the grounds and staff were lovely. Enough to make it worth coming back, despite the location! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Andalusi Health & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Andalusi Health & Spa Resort

Address: Camino Cuesta del Palmar, 29310 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malaga
Number of rooms: 173
Also Known As:
Sol Andalusi Health And Spa Resort
Sol Andalusi Health Hotel Malaga
Sol Andalusi Health & Spa Resort Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Andalusi Health & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.