We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable stop on a tapas run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Piyayo

El Piyayo
Calle Granada 38, 29015 Malaga, Spain
00 34 952 220 096
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 1,239 Restaurants in Malaga
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Reliable stop on a tapas run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Whenever we are in Málaga Centro we always end up having at least one drink in this place. The location is excellent for a quick respite while exploring the marvelous sights in the immediate area, i.e; Málaga Cathedral, Museo Picasso, and Alcazaba among others. Always a large selection of delicious freshly made tapas served by people who actually seem to be enjoying their jobs. My favorite part? Ice cold bottles of Cruzcampo at the correct (non tourist) price. Hard to improve on this place. Visit and find out for yourself.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    35
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Suggested by locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were walking around Malaga and we asked for a good and not too expansive restaurant in Malaga. A Almonds seller suggested us "El Piyayo"...really nice!I went with my family. We have good food, fresh, tasty and really typical. We started with 3-4 different tapas, I really recommend "Ensalada Malaguena" and then we went for fried fish, which was really fresh and crispy.
All this food for 35 euro...amazing, isn't it?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tapas heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I love coming to this bar, the staff are friendly especially if you make the effort to speak to them in spanish. the secreto Iberico is to die for and so is the tortilla. Also the only place where you can get a zoco thats served in a huge glass how it should be.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, mass
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a big deal, but a good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Not to sell short the popular El Pimpi, with its lavish decorations, good tapas, and frenetic atmosphere, there are times when I like to sit down -without the hype- and have a couple of tapas simply served without any pretensions. El Piyayo is such a place and, as a previous reviewer noted, the tapas are very good, particularly the octopus salad and the marinated anchovies. And the price is right.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great tapas restaurant and bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

El Piyayo is just off the main drag by the port. Atmosphere is very Malaga. Friendly staff and a good selection of tapas. Try the bocherones (little anchovy filets in vinegar) and a glass of vino blanco de Malaga. Good value and nicely done. Worth a detour.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Piyayo also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Piyayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Piyayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.