We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good night sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here on 16th June before flying to Paris the next day.
Cant complain, comfy bed, quiet night sleep, Breakfast was nice. Dinner was a bit hectic but there were 2 girls looking after about 40 grumpy travelers so well done to them, food was nice.
The hotel it self is about 1km from the airport so perfect if you want to break up a trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    199
    213
    59
    33
See reviews for
153
220
39
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have booked this hotel after experience from Bilbao where free minibus shuttle was provided. So we have decided to spent 1 night in Ibis budget in center of Malaga and the night before flight here in HIE. But this plan was really wrong one. Ibis budget is cca 200m from train station from where you can reach airport in cca 15 min for 1.70 e. HIE Malaga Airport is connected with town and airport just by Airport express bus (going every 30 min, with unpredictable departure from the bus stop near hotel, as traffic in town is heavy, fare is 3e - but hotel will refund you one way - which is nice). I would not recommend you to try walking from/to airport as pavement is sometime missing - but as an emergency plan it is viable. So if you want to reach airport fast verify Ibis budget and train time table(http://www.renfe.com/EN/viajeros/cercanias/malaga/). Hotel itself is standard HIE, nothing to add. Internet is not included in priced (in Bilbao it was at least available at reception, so you could make on line check-in there). Room was clean, but worn out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Luzanky,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goirle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is located at only a few minutes (by buss) from the airport. It has a reasonable restaurant and good comfortable rooms. Because it is located in an industrial area and has no outside terras I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent an unplanned night at this hotel due to the recent air traffic control strike delayed our return home. We booked on the day and the hotel served its purpose well. Close to the airport (although due to the one way motorway system a very convoluted taxi journey was taken from the airport – beware the minimum €15 charge!) the hotel was clean and our room very spacious. The only fault was we could not get the shower to work but as it was 5am in the morning and only the night staff were on duty unfortunately nothing could be done so we had to make do with the bath. The staff were however very friendly with check-in completed very quickly on our arrival at 10.30pm. In addition, whilst the hotel restaurant was a little chaotic with a lot of uncleared tables the waiting staff were very friendly and our food (very generous portions) arrived very quickly. There was also tea/coffee and cereal available at 6am on our departure and whilst it wasn’t the full breakfast selection it was still very welcome at that time of the morning. Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel if Malaga Airport accommodation is needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a late flight so after collecting hire car we tried to find the hotel.we could see it but couldent get to it!! It was dark and im sure it would have been easier in daylight. When we did arrive the room was very clean and a good comfortable bed. slept well. Breakfast was a serve yourself buffet,which was excellent and a wide range of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Since the plane we were travelling was leaving very early in the morning we decided to go the night before and stay in a nearby hotel. Close to where we were leaving our car and the airport was the Holiday Inn Express basic but clean and nearly new.

The reception was manned by Beatriz and one other person. The service was quick and professional. They diversified to answer the phone, attend to clients and serve behind the bar.

The dinning room offered a set menu as well as an a la carte one and we were in fact served at our table with expertise and in a friendly manner. The food, simple but well prepared tasty and well presented. A complimentary buffet breakfast with a variety of juices, cereals, fruits, cold cuts and bread was available from 7.00am until 10.00am. Before this time you did not need to leave the hotel with an empty stomach as you could get hot beverages and biscuits.

We were really very surprised at what got. Particularly being served at dinner when in some more important hotels you have to self service yourself.The rooms were quite big and comfortable with television, hair dryer and plenty of hot water. Great value for a night stay it is away from shops, restaurants etc. Families with children were staying. I can fully recommend for a short stay. Difficult to find we had to call Beatriz twice to get there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Need a place which is close to the airport, Clean, quiet AND affordable--- this is that place!!! Downside-wifi is 11 euros per day- but offer to join their points club and its free. Tricky to find- thank you GPS.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.