We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not actually get to stay there - Scam” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Larios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Larios to your Saves list
Hostal Larios
C/ Marques De Larios 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did not actually get to stay there - Scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I booked a room at Hostal Larios for two nights through their website and received a confirmation email. Nevertheless, when we turned up at the Hostal they could not 'find' our booking even though I'd printed out the confirmation they had sent me. The guy in the reception blamed it on one of the young guys working in the reception who must have forgotten to make a note of it. They then proceeded to offer us a room at their partner or sister hotel a few streets away, as they were full. The other hotel was not nice, the bathroom smelt and it was definitely not worth the amount we were meant to pay at Hostal Larios and were subsequently paying at the other hotel. So be careful when booking at Hostal Larios, you might not actually end up getting to stay there and it's quite clear they've got some deal going on between the hotels....

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I booked a room for two nights via hostels.com in early April 2010. Hostal Larios subsequently informed me that they did not have availability (blaming a mistake on the hostels.com website) and that they had arranged for a room in a different hotel. As the alternative hotel did not look very nice, I cancelled the booking (by e-mail) with Larios two days before arrival. Hostels.com com has apologised for the error and refunded my booking deposit. Hostal Larios, however, refuses repay the EUR 100+ they charged to my credit card despite various requests - their excuse is that sometimes they don't receive e-mails. If you book here, don't expect Hostal Larios to honour their cancellation policy!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Centrally situated in main pedestrianised street. Rooms basic but clean, including en suite bathroom (though no hot water for 2 and a half days). TV had only Spanish channels. Staff generally helpful, but wouldn't let us use the phone when the flights/vocano crisis arose on our last day. Said phone for guests was not working and directed us to the street cabin outside.

Hostal itself was in a quiet building but problems all night with people in the street coming and going to/from clubs/work etc. On one occasion, having been woken at 3 am by the racket of engines, vehicle 'reversing' alarms and loud voices, I opened the shutters to find 2 blokes on a cherry picker attaching banners (advertising the Malaga film festival!) to our balcony! And we were on the third floor!

Cheap, clean, OK if you sleep in a coma!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Nice and comfortable accommodation in the heart of the historical city centre.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed here in November (3 nights) and again in December (1 night) 2008. Small rooms, comfortable beds, lots of hot water, very clean. Not all rooms have private bath, some have partial baths. In-room lighting is dim. Perfect location on a main pedestrian street – the few rooms in the front have French doors that allow you to see all the action, though that also means they get the street-party noise all night. Other rooms are on a large airshaft where hotel laundry is hung. Access from street when building doors are closed (evenings and nights) is by intercom – push the wooden door open after the staff acknowledges you. Your room key is left at the desk when you are not in your room. Staff efficient and business-like. The Hostal occupies part of the 3rd floor (3 floors above street level). There is a small elevator, to the left of the staircase. (We failed to notice this in the total darkness inside the building after arriving at night, so lugged our stuff up 3 flights of stairs by the light of our headlamp.) Free wireless Internet if you bring your own computer. Otherwise, no access (cannot use the staff computer in the office, and there is no wired access.) The #4 bus from the airport will drop you at the statue of Marquez de Larios (if you ask for that stop), and all you need to do is cross the main street, Avenida Principal (head away from the water), and the hostal is in the first block of the street Marquez de Larios, on your right, above a bank.
While in Malaga, don’t miss having drinks and seafood tapas at Vieja Casa de Guardia, just a couple of blocks west of the Hostal along the main street, Avenida Principal. Freshest seafood around, drinks from the casks, your bar tab noted in chalk on the bar, and overall a great experience. Other food in Malaga was nothing special – we had better food (quality and value) and more pleasant surroundings elsewhere in Andalucía.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Yes. I stayed 3 nights at the Hostal Larios and I have to say I was suprised. Our room was basic but clean and tidy. The Hostel is just in the centre of Malaga.

  • Liked — location, room, price
  • Disliked — *
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Larios

Address: C/ Marques De Larios 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Larios is located in the very centre of Malaga, where commerce, tourism and trade exist side by side. Visit the centre on foot, without using any means of transport! The rooms have recently been refurbished. They have air conditioning, heating, TV and some have ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Larios Hotel Malaga
Hostal Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Larios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.