We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of restaurante Al-yamal

restaurante Al-yamal
Blasco de Garay, 7, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
952212046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,154 restaurants in Malaga
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Having been in malaga for 5 days now, we were bored of the standard tapas served in the majority of restaurants. Having seen this restaurant at number 20 on trip advisor i thought we should give it a try. It was a little difficult to find at first ... we also thought it was closed as the doors were shut. Inside the restaurant is small and quaint but very nicely decorated. The waiter (owner?) Provided us with an english menu however we asked him for his recommendations, all of which turned out delicious. We had pitta bread and humous to start followed by a kofte, chicken tagine and beef with vegetable cous cous. We also ordered the mint tea with orange blossom water to finish which came with a selection of sweet biscuits. The food was delicious, the service was great as was the atmosphere. Just because this restaurant isnt number 1 on trip advisor you shouldnt rule it out, my boyfriend and i are huge foodies....we love good food (quality over quantity) and we highly recommend a visit to this restaurant. Its certainly not the cheapest place to eat...it came to just under €60 for 2 soft drinks, 4 dishes and a pot of tea with a selection of biscuits....however you will leave with a full tummy and wont be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    61
    30
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT food, waiter gave us amazing recommendations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We LOVED this restaurant! The waiter (maybe owner?) was very knowledgeable about the history and culture behind the food and took the time to share his recommendations. This place is definitely worth visiting, we would go back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

For a really good couscous, this is the place to go. It had been highly recommended by friends, so we booked to try it on the opening night of Málaga feria. What a brilliant start to our evening! Although a couple of dishes had already been suggested by our friends, we decided to let the restaurant decide what would be best - and we weren't disappointed. Effectively, we got a 5-course meal! Hummous and pitta bread to begin, then a starter of keftas (meat patties) with a little salad, followed by lamb pinchitos. The main was a mixed tagine of lamb, beef, chicken and vegetables with couscous and a delicious gravy. We were pretty full up after all that, so asked for a bit of a break before finishing with a tray of extraordinary mint tea with little arabian sweet cakes. Five courses plus drinks, yet the bill was only €26 each. We will DEFINITELY return, and although it is tempting to order the beef in plums that our friends recommended ...... it is also tempting just to let them bring us whatever they feel like again! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent arabian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent arabian restaurant.As I have seen the exterior I was a bit scared,but when I came in,I was from the start nicely surprised.The restaurant inside is nice and cozy.The staff/owner is very pleasent.The meal was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We eat here in early July 2013. The food is excellent, and the service equal to that. I highly recommend to visit this restaurant when you're in Malaga city center. It is on a walking distance from Calle Larios and other turist locations in Malaga.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed restaurante Al-yamal also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol

Been to restaurante Al-yamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage restaurante Al-yamal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.