We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of restaurante Al-yamal

restaurante Al-yamal
Blasco de Garay, 7, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
952212046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,319 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes you get a great surprise in taking a chance on a restarant. While trip advisor was 2 for 2 with great recommendations this trip, Al-yamal was a special treat for me and my wife.

The food, ambiance,and experience was very special. One of the great experiences I have had in a dinner. The green tea service at the end of the meal will always be remembered.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“best moroccan food and friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Recommend Al-yamal for lamb tangines, houmus, couscous etc. Very fresh food and great tastes. Beers/wines available but try the teas - mint tea is fantastic. Not chaep - €60 for two with wine but very good value.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Really nice food, very pleasant owner.

Like previous reviewers, we were the only people in there as Spaniards clearly never go to bed and don't know that 8pm is the proper time to eat (it filled up later). The owner made suggestions from the menu and it was a good price for a lovely meal. We ate pastille, which was basically chicken strudel. It sounds odd but was actually lovely and not something I would ever have tried without him suggesting it.

It's well worth visiting if you're in Malaga.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you are looking for cus-cus, this is the place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Excellent food and service, we returned two times in the course of four days (and this just because they were closed on Sunday evening). Perfectly flavoured mixed meats cus-cus, huge portions, Rioja wine was fabulous, I still dream of the place. Mmmmmmmmm.....

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Moroccan food in Malaga for many many years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Recently I visited my beloved Andalucia. And of course went for dinner in Al Yamal. I lived for 15 years at the coast of Malaga and Pedro, the owner, was the first to introduce me to Moroccan food. Since 1994, when I was dedicating my live and work to the Arab influences in Spain, I went many times to Al Yamal, with friends and with clients. And none of us were ever disappointed, even the ones who are not the bravest in tasting new flavours. When I went back this September, I found the restaurant the same like so many years ago. Runned daily now by Pedro's son, it still offers the perfect ambiance and my same favorite dishes like the couscous with lamb, the tagines and of course the wonderful simple oranges. Congratulations!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed restaurante Al-yamal also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to restaurante Al-yamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage restaurante Al-yamal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.