We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place; yummy food; right price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calle de Bruselas

Calle de Bruselas
Plaza Merced, 16, 29012 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
+34 952603948
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 1,145 restaurants in Malaga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming place; yummy food; right price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We went by for coffee and some tapas on our first day in Spain after a redeye from the USA. We were travel sore and tired, but our waitress was so cheerful -- an absolute sunbeam. Service was attentive and kind, food was great, and prices were good. Nice place to people-watch in la plaza.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    17
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varazdin, Croatia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great & Weird”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Every time I am in Malaga a go for a brunch or a drink to Calle de Bruselas. Its on Plaza de Merced just close to the Picasso house. The stuff is great and the interior design very cool. Good tapas, good prices and free wifi ! I can sit there for hours in the sun . Open to 2:00 am !!!
Plaza Merced, 16, Málaga
952 60 39 48

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found the Cafe Calle de Bruselas when looking for somewhere for breakfast. We liked the fixed price menu options – I'm reluctant to go into a cafe, sit down and order when I don't know what it's going to cost.

The staff are hard-working and friendly. This cafe represents honest, unpretentious, traditional value – no trendy graphic designs or branding here – just great service and value. We liked it a lot and felt very much at home here.

The breakfasts were ideal – the freshly-squeezed orange juice is the nicest we sampled and the traditional bread with tomatoes and olive oil was just as it should be. With coffee and table service, the price of €3.20 seemed a bargain. We reckoned that Bruselas' pricing is a little cheaper than cafes around the Picasso museum and the cathedral.

Plaza de Merced is a great square with lots of activity to watch and enjoy. We weren't around later in the day to try the tapas, but at €1.80 per plate (€2 after 9 pm), it would have been worth trying.

Worth seeking out and highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Weird, wonderful, wacky and great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Since we first discovered it, this has been one of our favourite bars in Malaga. It's in la Plaza de la Merced. Since the overhaul of the Plaza itself it now has a greater outside space. They do food of the tapas variety, but most go just for a drink and to watch the world go by, or meet up with friends. The inside of the bar is quirky and the decorations change with the times. We were there once for the Hallowe'en festivities and they really went to town. Service is wonderfully efficient and friendly. It's the kind of place where everyone knows everyone but it's not like an English 'local' where they'll turn their heads and look at you as if you don't belong! It's all-encompassing, has a great gay following, but it's not a 'gay bar'. It's a place to hang out and you know you'll 'belong'. Prices are very reasonable, the staff terrific and entertaining and this is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Great spot for an afternoon lunch, and hang out. Had huge tapas, and equally huge jamon salad, both delicious, reasonably priced, friendly staff, happy to let me type away on my laptop for a couple of hours. A good spot for a coffee, bite, drink, and to catch up on email.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle de Bruselas also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Calle de Bruselas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calle de Bruselas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.