We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strachan

Strachan
Calle Strachan, 5, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
+34 952227573
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 1,309 Restaurants in Malaga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Read the reviews before posting and our experience couldn't have been more different, but saying that, we were off-peak. Went in first time for the dish of the day special at about EUR10 for two courses, bread and a (small) drink. Menu explained by a very helpful waitress with excellent English. Sat outside and yes, there was a constant stream of buskers, lottery ticket sellers, rose sellers, african crafts etc, but that's hardly the restaurant's fault, they do the rounds of all the restaurants. Our second visit was late in the evening and again we got good service (indoors). Ordered chicken curry which was mild and very tasty. Nice atmosphere. Maybe its different in high season but we enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    46
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fuengirola, Spain
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Did Enjoy It..!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had an evening meal here on the 11th Feb, 2013 and we did really enjoy our meal and the atmosphere. It seems to have mixed comments on their reviews but everything was fine for us including their services. The only thing that disappointed us was there were no vegetables served with the main meals!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tourist place, but a few pleasant suprises”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very friendly staff with exellent english. Pleasant outside atmosphere. Service was very quick, too quick for making proper paella (tried the vegeterian kind which was just okay). Delicious olive oil served with the breadbasket (they cahrge for it). Absolutely divine fresh battered seafood!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant as we liked the atmosphere of the neighbourhood and had a lovely dinner nearby the night before. The service was very slow. The starters were awful- we both found hard plastic in our potatoes with spicy sauce (which wasnt spicy more like thousand island dressing). The paella was bland. The restaurant was cold inside and the waiters unresponsive. This restaurant is in a nice neighbourhood...anywhere else would be better

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Food is Spanish in style and of good quality. Atmosphere is lively and friendly. Good for a pleasant evening with friends.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strachan also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Strachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strachan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.