We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Selwo Aventura

Selwo Aventura
Autovia Costa del Sol Km 162. 5, Estepona, Spain
902 19 04 82
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having visited this zoo before, the entire family was looking forward to going again. This had been a family favourite of ours.

The zoo describes itself as having three sections (plus activities). Strictly this is true, however I always think of it as two relatively flat sections with a large hill in between. The zoo describe the walkway up the hill as a third area - it does have an aviary section and some minor attractions and should be experienced.

The last time we visited there were (included in ticket price) two Jeep train routes. One between the top and bottom areas and one around the very top of the park. Now there is one circular route that ventures into the valley and out (not down to the bottom area and at additional cost).

In past visits, we didn’t attempt to walk up the hill, preferring to get the train and walk down instead. We believed the hill would be too much for the young children and the elderly in our party. This time, with no alternative, we walked up the hill. I can confirm that this is indeed problematic for both young children and the elderly. There are no rest/refreshment points en route until the top. If we had visited in the heat of July / August we would have probably not bothered and left the park.

The park is shrinking in size as construction moves up the hillside, but they have been adding some attractions in the valley area. In my opinion the lost attractions were better than the new ones.

In terms of price, there are tickets for the park alone or discounted tickets for this park, Selwo Marina (Benalmadena) and/or the Cable car (near Tivoli, Benalmadena) combined. Discounted tickets can be bought online (some food discounts are also available online). Also, discount coupons can be found in the park pamphlets that can be picked up at Malaga airport and some hotels and petrol stations. We found the coupons to offer best value.

I still prefer this zoo to Bioparc Fuengirola (I don't know of any other non-marine zoos in the area). However, unless I was based very close (Estepona side of Marbella) this would no longer be high on my list of priorities. I will certainly be checking the website to see if it has improved before our next trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    108
    55
    41
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average commercialised zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been in many parks around the Europe, usually with really good experience. Sorry, for that, but I have to be honest with this place. I left this place with the feeling it is really just a money making operation. I know it is hard in current situation, but It left a bitter taste of mass tourism commercialisation. Gardens, smaller than this one (e.g. Zagreb ZOO), or bigger (e.g. Munich ZOO) all have some warm soul, you feel nice. But here I felt commercial touch at every step.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been to selwo twice before and had an excellent experience! We visited June 19th 2013 with our mother who has walking difficulties and needs wheelchair assistance. The park is now half the size and the safari truck from the bottom of the park to the village is no longer available. We had to push her uphill to the village at the top which was almost impossible. We were disgusted to find after paying an entrance fee of €65 to be asked for an additional €60 to have the safari truck tour which in the past was included in the entrance price. We will not be recommending or returning to the safari. Very sad!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A shame what it has become”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having been once a year at least for the last 10 years Selwoo used to be a family face.
Went on Monday and was most disappointed.
The truck ride to see the two different areas has gone.You have to pay an additional 15 euros a head for a short ride now.
The rope bridges, the mountain area with bears and the tigers has gone as the land has been sold off to developers.
The price has gone up and the number of animals has declined.Left with the same feeling you have when you hear a good friend is very ill.
It's the last time we'll go as a family, and probably the last season Selwoo will survive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selwo, Gerente at Selwo Aventura, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
The entire team of Selwo Aventura, managers, keepers and all our staff work arduously, and will continue to do so, in order to provide our visitors with a great experience, and ensure they enjoy an adventure in Africa, getting to know this continent’s most emblematic species. In these difficult times the effort is greater, as is the satisfaction of knowing we have met the expectations of each and every one of our visitors, which is why we are so enormously sorry for disappointment of your latest visit to the park. May we reiterate that we will continue working to provide you with the very best Selwo Aventura, incorporating animal species such as the Hyena, Northern Bald Ibis, Cuvieri’s Gazelle or Dama Gazelle. As well as novelties such as Feeding the Lions, Cheetahs or Elephants, Interactive activities such as with the Wallabies (this season at no additional cost) or coming soon the new hanging bridges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved staying in the Masai Village hut it was such a great experience to be allowed to wander around in certain parts when the park was closed and see the shyer animals like the Red Pandas come out to play a a very different experience in the morning we went off for a four hour River Ride on horse back with Riding Fun in the sun in Casares two great days that were at one with nature.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selwo Aventura also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Selwo Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selwo Aventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.