We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Azul Resort Estepona

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estepona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar Azul Resort Estepona
Save
You added Mar Azul Resort Estepona to your Saves list
Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I have now stayed at Brian's apartment E5 for the past 3 years in a row and I dont usually return to the same destination twice. If you want to get away for a completely relaxing break this is the place to go, my sister and I (on our annual girls holiday) dont even bother to hire a car, we go to the Supermarket at the beginning of the week by taxi to buy drinks and snacks for lunch and then get taxis out for dinner in the evening either to Estepona (5 minutes) or buzzing Porta Banus (20 minutes). Brian's apartment is very luxurious and everthing you could possibly want is supplied including UK TV channels!!! The apartment is right next to the pool (15 feet or so) which means you can pop in and out as much as you like without an inconvenient long walk. This year a pool bar has opened which provides very good food and drink all day. As a guaranteed week of good weather (usually reliable in this part of Spain) and lovely, luxurious accomodation and facilities, I couldnt recommend it highly enough. I will no doubt be back again next year. Thanks Brian!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is the second year running we have stayed in Mak's apartment at Mar Azul Resort (see www.marbellaresorts.com) and i have already booked for next year. The kids (2 & 6) absolutely love it. The whole area is so secure and the comfort of having 24hr security guards and CCTV gives total peace of mind. They love to play on the grass in the garden and then run in and out of the pools. There are 2 life guards so we were never worried. Apparently the life guards will be giving swimming lessons from now on which will be great for next time we are there. The apartment is very nice with wonderful views over the pools and the sea. Its such a peaceful place to be and all the staff are very helpful. The grounds are beautifully maintained and everything is so tasteful and classy. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed at Caroline's apartment c4 in May with daughter and husband.
We had a lovely holiday with no complaints thanks to Caroline's friendly advice and info regarding apartment and surrounding area.
She has thought of everything in terms of making your stay as enjoyable as possible right down to cotton buds, eye make-up removal pads etc. she even supplied 2 soft bathrobes for myself and daughter! the apartment is 100% spotless and the grounds and view from pool are absolutely breathtaking, the whole resort was so peaceful when we stayed there.
Hope to return again at some point.
Thanks again Caroline.
PS. We also used Paco for airport run he is so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed in Caroline's apartment C4 for 2 weeks with our two children (aged 3.5 and 11 months).

From our initial contact, Caroline could not have been more helpful. She gave us full details of the apartment and its amenities, answered every question and was proactive in contacting us over the volcano issue!

The apartment is spacious and very comfortable. By far the nicest apartment we have rented in this way (ie through holiday lettings type sites). For the children, there were some toys, a toddler table, ikea plastic tableware,a mixer, books, dvds, a travel cot - their own bathroom!!! For the parents there was more crockery and glassware than at home, a dishwasher, a comfortable bed and .. their own bathroom!

There is high tech moodlighting etc etc, but that is not what makes or breaks it. It is simply a luxury apartment.

The pool area is amazing, with lovely shallow areas for the kids to play in and my son especially liked the 'secret houses' and bridges.

The staff were very friendly and efficient. In the complex, there is nothing lacking.

I would certainly recommend this holiday but with a couple of points to note for families with young children:

the pool bar was not operating so there is no catering on site;
the beach is not great, you need to drive into estepona for a child friendly beach; and,
there are not many facilities in walking distance for a young family.

Estepona itself has amazing playgrounds on the promenade, there are some very good restuarants and the town is unquestionably spanish - refreshing we found!

The Kempinski is within walking distance from the apartment and has a small play area for children and a spa and lovely restaurant if you are happy to use a babysitter (why ruin the 5* environment with the kids?!)

Many thanks to Caroline - and I hope anyone going has as happy a holiday as we did!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian50, Owner at Mar Azul Resort Estepona, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
BRIAN COLLING, owner of apartment E5, responds (helpfully hopefully) :-
The MAR AZUL-Resort has two cafe-bars. One is located right by the side of our main swimming pool overlooking the Sea, and the other is within our reception area lounge. Both offer good value drinks, light meals, and a special menu take-out facility. BUT, being a relatively small holiday resort, it is simply not economical for our community to open these out of peak times. Our peak times are normally from mid / end June through to mid / late September. During these & other months our owners & guests can wine & dine locally in various cafes & restaurants in the Laguna Village (8 minutes walk away) or within a choice of bars & restaurants in the very nearby Kempinski Hotel (4 minutes walk away). Less up-market options would include "Cruisos" beach-bar (8 minutes walk along the beach) and "The Garden & BBQ Bar" (just 2 minutes walk away)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at The Mar Azul Estepona in Apartment E5 which is owned and managed by Brian Colling from June 19 to June 27 2010. He arranged for a taxi to meet us at Malaga Airport and return us after our holiday with his special driver, Paco, who was so helpful
The setting and view from this apartment is lovely and the pool is kept absolutely spotless and the gardens are constantly tended. The apartment is so modern and totally well equipped. There is absolutely nothing we required that was not available, Brian has thought of everything. The kitchen has all the latest equipment and everything worked. Excellent glassware ,cutlery and crockery. Bathrooms were an absolute joy to use, Large spacious and beautiful. The large sitting room has a 42” TV with Sky .
The briefing that Brian presented prior to our departure was amazing in its detail and meant that anything we were not sure of initially was fully explained in his brief. His attention to detail and his professional approach to managing the apartment is to be highly commended. He even rang us the day before departure and the day after our return to make sure everything was satisfactory. How is that customer relations!
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajaani, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We (2 adults and son 14 yrs) stayed two weeks at Brian's apartment E5 in June. Everything was perfect including all instructions how to use the apartment and facilities. Only problem for us was that apartment did not have wireless internet, so we need to use wireless connection from the office (just 30 meters from apartment). But I know that Brian is considering getting WiFi to the apartment so this problem might be solved soon.

Staff of the resort was most polite and helpful. We highly recommend this luxury apartment to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian50, Owner at Mar Azul Resort Estepona, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Brian Colling, the owner of apartment E5, confirms that WiFi is to be installed within the E block of the MAR AZUL-Resort in the first three weeks of July 2010. Brian's guests will, from that point on, be able to access WiFi from within his apartment, and from his terrace & private garden, and at no additional cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Fantastic apartment with a great view. We loved the garden which had sun for most part of the day and the surrounding pools were gorgious. Thanks to AJ for dealing with all our queries and requests promptly. Definately will be going back soon!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Azul Resort Estepona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Azul Resort Estepona

Address: Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#4 Family Hotel in Estepona
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mar Azul Resort is an exclusive, luxurious and peaceful oasis in a prime South-facing beach-side location next to the Kempinski Hotel Estepona & Laguna Village, with panoramic views over the Mediterranean Sea. It comprises only 72 privately-owned luxury apartments (some of which are available for rental) & Aparthotel with leisure centre, in a magical setting of tropical gardens, sculptured swimming pools, fountains, waterfalls, and romantic thatched cabanas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar Azul Resort Estepona Hotel Estepona
Mar Azul Hotel
Mar Azul Resort Estepona Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Azul Resort Estepona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.