We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Banus Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Senator Banus Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Benamara , Crta N 340 KM 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again if in the area.
Not a big hotel and overall definitely a four rather than a five star to manage expectations but it is good. The rooms are of a very good size with big balconies all overlooking the pool. Lots of greenery provided in the view from neighbouring land and not overlooked which is nice. We were on the second floor and so didn't have a sea view at that height over the palm trees. All along this coast its best to get out and about but there are surprisingly good restaurants neighbouring and over the A7 via the footbridge to this hotel and look them up on tripadvisor to read the great reviews. The Lebanese, Thai and local tapas were all fabulous.
Definitely walk down the left of the hotel and through the villas to the beach as you'll find the lovely Salduna Beach to go for the day, enjoy a drink or a meal. A more chilled vibe than some other beach clubs.
I'd say a car is definitely needed for this hotel if you're there for more than a few days. Its great then to go to estepona, particularly to the old town and to Benehavis which it is fabulous to visit in the day as well as to eat at the fabulous restaurants at night. Puerto Banus is also a short taxi ride away from this hotel.
Overall a good hotel that i'd recommend in the area.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    56
    28
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
114
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I partook of my holiday in September and waited to write a review so I could read the subsequent comments made by others. To be short and brief this is definitely NOT a 5 star hotel and I would agree with all the previous comments on this account so I will not detail yet again the reasons why. The majority of remarks referring to the rooms were positive and I absolutely concur with this and I can only say that our room sited on the top floor was immaculate and kept that way by the maids. One thing we always do is leave a tip on the day of arrival in our room for the maid and her thankless tasks and perhaps this had some influence , I would hope so. The breakfast was fine despite the negatives from some guests and the only BIG NEGATIVE is the poor man on the grill who had to work his cotton socks off to cope with all the different orders from the inevitable queue
that was there on a daily basis . Queuing in a 5 star hotel , you must be joking and just how the restaurant manager who strutted around like captain peacock could habitually turn a blind eye to what his guests were undoubtedly suffering is beyond me having had pointed this out to him. The evening dinners were thankfully self service as otherwise the few and hard pressed staff would not be able to cope . The meals were well presented and there was always a large and satisfying choice so this is a positive despite what others have said. Yes the wine is horrendously expensive and do not , I repeat , do not just have a glass of the house wine as you are served the smallest and meanest amount I have ever endured on my travels and all for the remarkable sum of €4.80 for a couple of mouthfuls . I suppose the negatives pointed at the reception staff really depended on the shift but we personally found them helpful and enchanting with special attention and thanks to the amiable doorman/ porter who actually enjoyed his job and this really showed.
Would I stay here again ? No , not until the management stop saying since April ( read the replies ) that they take customers comments seriously and always endeavour to act upon them and do just that instead of empty political promises. Hope this has been of some use to fellow travellers .

Room Tip: Choose a top 5 floor room as the balcony has railings and not a solid concrete barrier so that you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Another high point in our travels was this stop of for us on the way to the airport. We were not expecting too much it was of a busy motor way. We were pleasantly surprised as it is lovely and most of the staff were so helpful. Be warned if you want a treatment ( this is a spa hotel) book in advance. Reception said I could go along when they opened at 5pm but when we got there ( I wanted a manicure) they were fully booked and not as friendly as the other staff in the hotel. It is a relatively short drive to the airport a welcome rest at the end of our travels. The rooms are great and the crooner at 10pm was good fun. The beach is a 10 minute walk fromthe hotel but that was ok for us as we were not expecting to have access to a beach.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, this review is based on the fact that this hotel is rated as a 5 star hotel.

Positives:
- Room was very nice and spacious. The balcony area was quite large and had room for 2 sunbeds.

- Pool area is very modern and in excellent condition. Sun loungers are very comfortable and much better than average plastic sun loungers you sometimes find at other hotels/resorts.

- Spa treatments were good (booking required).

- Adults only hotel which meant the hotel and pool area were always quiet and relaxing.


Negatives:
- Staff are not friendly or welcoming. Upon first arrival we were immediately asked for our passports and hotel voucher and were offered no help with our luggage. This is not a major issue, just pointing out that this is not exactly a 5 star welcome or experience.

- There was a mistake on our bill at the pool bar. An incorrect bill was given to us and when this was queried, the staff member became angry and began to speak aggressively in Spanish! That was our first and last trip to the pool bar!

- Location is not fantastic if you're expecting easy access to the marinas of Estepona or Marbella. The hotel is located adjacent to a main motorway (A7) and whilst there are some good restaurants and bars close to the hotel, to access a lot of these involves crossing a large footbridge to get to the other side of the road. May not be a major issue but for anybody with vertigo or perhaps elderly people, this might not be what you want on holidays.

- I visited the gym once. Some equipment was not working and I noticed ants on the floor. Again, I wouldn't say the gym facilities were terrible but definitely not anywhere near what you would expect from a 5 star.

- Having to pay to access the sauna/steam room and spa area. I was surprised that this would be an extra cost having already paid to stay in a 5 star hotel.

- Came back to our room one day to find our door had been left open by house-keeping. I have also noticed other reviews mentioning this.

Overall, this is a nice enough hotel and you can definitely have a relaxing break here as long as you are not expecting an ultimate 5 star luxury experience. If you manage to get a good deal then I would definitely recommend a week here, but under no circumstances would I recommend anyone paying full 5 star prices to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I have just came back from a 11 night stay at this hotel and it was the most relaxing place I have ever been. The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in a deluxe double room for 4 nights then we upgraded to a penthouse. For an extra €175 each it was totally worth the money!! A beautiful room with 2 balconys plus jacuzzi! We even had champagne delivered. There is room service available but it is a little bit pricey. We were self catering so we ate out most nights at all the lovely restaurants nearby. Shops, cafés etc are across the road which you have to cross a pretty daunting bridge to get to! My favourite was the American bistro. Great food, great cocktails and great staff :) it's a pretty quiet area considering it's on the motorway. I 100% recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing break in the sun. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Hotel from 3/10/2014 to 7/10/2014. Staff were top class very good English and other languages also. Top floor room had a view of the med. First floor would not have as good a view and would be nearer the pool area and pool bar. Hotel features two pools, the large pool close to the bar for the serious relaxers and a more discreet pool to the left which is very suitable for the not so gifted swimmers - max depth 1.5 meters. Spa and gym available also. Location is on the main road between Marbella and Estepona which is busy but does not impinge on hotel at all.
The main road is crossed by a footbridge some way up the road from the hotel but there are restaurants and other facilities close by on the same side including an access road to the beach. Would highly recommend this hotel for a similar short break. Breakfast at €15 a head extra was delicious and plentiful

Room Tip: Top floor has best views and upgrade to a suite and get a roof terrace as well. First floor room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week from 28/09/14. Lovely hotel, room was nice, towels and linen changed daily. We were in room 132 overlooking the small pool with nice views with the sun rising over the trees, room had an enjoining door to the rom next door so unfortunately could hear everything from talking walking TV and everything else you could imagine!! But apart from that it was fine.

We had 1 meal at from the pool bar at lunch time 2 burgers and chips and at £30 were pretty bad I've had nicer from a burger van tbh and the drinks prices were edinburgh city centre prices so expect to pay about £5 per drink.

Spa was free to use between 10am-12am after that you had to book and pay and from what I saw any treatments were quite pricy.

Outside there are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from, there's a pub next door called Robin Hood was quite nice for a drink before dinner, we had a meal 1 night and was quite disappointed food wasn't too great and at £100 for 2 courses expected better, you are better of walking 10 mins up the road (left from hotel door) crossing the blue bridge and choosing from lots of restaurants our favourite was the Italian next door to beakys bar lovely food staff atmosphere £25 all in for a bottle of rose 3 courses each and coffee!! Also avoid bar amara also called man Friday (2 names)? Just along from the hotel we had breakfast there and it was terrible! Just a mess on a plate with low quality sausages etc.. Try over the road again plenty of places for breakfast at £8 for 2 including coffee.

There is easy access to Marbella by bus again left from hotel walk up towards blue bridge and get the 79 to Marbella 5 euros for 2 into Central Marbella the the L2 back to hotel, no hassle and bus stops at every stop so no worrying about missing stops.

All in all had a great relaxing break with lots of sunshine
If your expecting a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed as it's only maybe just a 4 star as missing nice touches like mini-bar was one there but empty also slippers and robes and also on our 1st night got to the bar at 23:45 (bar closed at 12 midnight) and told we couldn't get a drink!! I'm Scottish the drink wouldn't have lasted long!!
We will return but maybe August as the pools were cold and was a bit cloudy for a couple of days

To summarise- A nice break perhaps after your main holidays!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Senator Banus Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Banus Spa Hotel

Address: Urb. Benamara , Crta N 340 KM 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#4 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Senator Banus Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Descubra nuestro primer hotel solo para adultos*. Perfecto para lunas de miel, escapadas romanticas o aniversarios, ya sea para pasar unas vacaciones de autentico relax en pareja o para divertirse con amigos de la mano de nuestro equipo de animacion. *Se considera adulto a partir de 16 anos, no se aceptan ninos ni bebes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Senator Banus Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Banus Spa Hotel Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Banus Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.