We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel cancelled our pre-paid reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Banus Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Senator Banus Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Benamara , Crta N 340 KM 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 hotels in Estepona
Ile-de-France, France
1 review
“Hotel cancelled our pre-paid reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It might be helpful to other travelers, to know that if you have flight issues, the Senator Banus Spa Hotel just cancels your pre-paid booking, and refuses to reopen it when you show up the morning after, after a night of nightmare in Barcelona airport, trying be booked on the next connection to Malaga. Here is what happened to us: we are French and had pre-paid a 11 day/10 night-package including flights and stay at the Sanator Banus Hotel, with half board as an option. The flights were not direct (Paris-Barcelona / Barcelona-Malaga), late arrival planned (last flight was landing at 11PM). Our first flight from Paris was delayed up to 3 hours. We were still said until we reached Barcelona, that we could catch the last flight to Malaga. Once we landed in Barcelona, we learnt that it was too late to take the last connection. We tried to call the hotel to let them know, and had a voicemail with a message that the service was opened until 10PM (information voicemail with no possibility to leave a message). We were confident that the hotel might check with the travel agency and learn that we had flight issues. Nothing of this happened. After a night of nightmare, trying to find a solution for the earliest connection, we finally were booked on the 1st flight the morning after, leaving Barcelona at 7AM. We rented a car upon arrival in Malaga airport, and were driving to the hotel, relieved to be at last able to enjoy our vacations, after a full day completely lost. Having difficulties to find the hotel in the last miles from Porto Banus, we called the hotel for help. We were then at last able to tell them our flight issues, and that we were a few minutes away. To our surprise we were replied: “your reservation has been cancelled due to no-show yesterday night”. Even after our explanation of the airline’s issues and the fact we could not reach the hotel due to late hour, we were still replied that “nothing could be done, and it was not possible to reopen the reservation”. So we were simply left on the streets in our rented car, with no destination after a 1-hour night sleep and a return flight scheduled in 10 days. We were still confident (we are optimistic by nature), and called the travel agency to explain our issue. They were surprised by the situation and told us they would call the hotel and get back to us. Several hours after, we were called by the agency that let us know that they had called the hotel and they still replied that the reservation had been cancelled because of no-show, and could not be reopened. We were refunded by the agency and had to find a hotel by ourselves… Thanks to the kindness of the Spanish people, which we’ve been enjoying for years, both for business and leisure, we could find a hotel before the end of the day. This happened to us this week, and we would not loose one minute of our stay to write this comment you’re reading right now (again, our optimistic and positive spirit). Except for this reason: we just connected to an online hotel booking website, and saw that the Senator Banus Hotel offers 5 rooms left for the duration of our stay. While we were thinking they might be sold-out. No comments, as you can imagine... We just want you to know what can happen to you with this hotel if you have flight issues. We are now going to enjoy our stay in this beautiful region, and the marvelous hotel that welcomed us last minute!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
69
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I only came here as a day visitor to use the pool & to have lunch. Free sunbed, parasol and towel included. Very modern & Clean. Was much busier than when it used to be the Crown Plaza and a much more professional feel about it.
Lunch by the pool was very reasonable, From tapas to a selection of sandwiches. All well presented.
Staff were very nice and attentive, Only down side was that they served all the drinks in Glasses as opposed to plastic. Which for safety reasons by a pool whilst everyone was barefooted was a worry.
This will be my new place to relax by a pool for lunch and countless cocktails..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Know that it is our aim that pass a pleasant experience and that's what we are working and trying to improve every day.
Best Regards

Abel Garcia
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff and the hotel were fantastic . The room was beautiful and cleaned every day. As it's an adults only resort it's actually a pleasant experience being around the pool for most of the day . It never felt busy , there's an abundance of restaurants and nightlife close by . I would 100% come back again. I can't speak highly enough of the resort

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that our visitors enjoy with us. We hope to visit again.
Best Regards,

Abel Garcia
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought id write a review as I am quite fussy with high standards and not easily pleased! Me and my partner booked up for a week away just to relax and this hotel was honestly perfect for us. Location wise its not the best but we just got taxis everywhere so not a problem (To Puerto Banus). We stayed as bed and breakfast as we like to eat out every night when we are away including lunch also but the breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite when we arrived as it was a special occasion for us and our room was amazing with a massive balcony and lovely view. Hotel staff were lovely and friendly also. It was nice as it was adults only so no children splashing you around the pool, but do watch out for the odd stag or hen do that turn up for the weekend!! Hotel staff are quick to tell loud parties that arrive to keep the noise down which is good. Overall either for a romantic break or a girlie weekend I would recommend this hotel. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Best Regards,

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week at this hotel room only but upgraded to breakfast and upgrade on high floor which was worth it for what we paid.
The good points are . Lovely rooms most good views. Good area. Very clean.Quiet no children adults only. Breakfast good.

Bad points. Food dreadful we had one lunch terrible, worst ever. long wait not worth waiting for, not much of it. the worst food I have had the whole time we have been to Marbella which have been over 15 years so this needs attention.
The other point which for us was uncomfortable was the sun lounges. They have no cushions on them which for a 5 star property is unheard of very uncomfortable.
For us if they could get food better and some pads on the sun lounges, maybe a little entertainment some evenings I think this hotel would be amazing.
I do hope the hotel takes on the remarks as I can see by reading other comments we are not alone especially on the food.
Having said all that we would return hoping next time we could have a lunch by the pool and enjoy the pool lounges a little bit more

Room Tip: high floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Best Regards

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Currently staying in the Senetor banus spa hotel and having stayed here before when it was originally named the crowne plaza to me the hotel is still great.....what i must say is in terms of value for money it is far better....we upgraded to a penthouse suite on the top floor named the Boreas suite. it has vast living areas 2 enormous balcony's on 2 floor's and the upper level comes with a jacuzzi as well.To add to the experience there is a suite called the morpheus suite with infinity pool, bedroom fit for a king and unbelivable living area,if your thinking of pushing the boat out for once in your life do it in this room take as many photo's as possible and say i really stayed here....The pool area has beds available any time of the day and the lady chef and the waiters working the at breakfast time are very chearful and pleasant which kicks the day of with a real bang....coming back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best Regards,

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a week on room only basis, this was our first visit under the new owners. Very clean, pool areas lovely, good house keeping services.
Disappointed to find mini bar facilities removed, no complimentary water in the room and we had a lovely smell of cooking due to our room being directly above the restaurant.
We found the reception staff lacked customer service and friendliness.
Great value for money so will return again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Best Regards

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Senator Banus Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Banus Spa Hotel

Address: Urb. Benamara , Crta N 340 KM 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#3 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Senator Banus Spa Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Descubra nuestro primer hotel solo para adultos*. Perfecto para lunas de miel, escapadas romanticas o aniversarios, ya sea para pasar unas vacaciones de autentico relax en pareja o para divertirse con amigos de la mano de nuestro equipo de animacion. *Se considera adulto a partir de 16 anos, no se aceptan ninos ni bebes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Senator Banus Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Banus Spa Hotel Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Banus Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;