We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adults only and a really nice spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N340, Km165, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Autumn Getaway
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adults only and a really nice spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Barcelo is a good choice if you're looking for an adults-only hotel with pool on the mainland. The hotel is in good shape and comfortable, but not many amenities worth writing about.
The bonus is the on-site spa (extra of course). They have a really nice circuit of jets in their water spa, plus sauna and steam. We also had a couple very nice deep-tissue massages there.
The hotel is a good home-base if you have a car to get around. Don't bother with the hotel parking garage, just park on the street.
As many reviews mention, there is nothing immediately around the hotel. But a short distance down the frontage road is the town of Cancelada with the following recommended restaurants:
El Carnicero *****
Legada *****
Aidan's ****

Room Tip: To get air conditioning working, put card key in reader by the door and close the windows and patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director General at Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Customer,

First of all thanks for the time that you have spent in send us your comments, these comments are very important for us in order to improve the service offer to our guests.

thanks for your good comments, no doubt the best award for us!

We hope to see you again in a near future and show you all our improvements!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    82
    27
    8
    12
See reviews for
7
153
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Great hotel! Not luxury or anything but exactly what is says on the tin, good value for money.
Adults only place which means the pool area is quiet.
Bedrooms are big and clean - no issues here.
Breakfast is okay - not gourmet but if you are looking for a fry up great!
Parking is a bit dodgy in that the car park is small but other than that no issues!

If you are around Canceleda roundabout there are some nice restaurants - La Fiorentina being one of them !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director General at Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all thanks for the time that you have spent in send us your comments, these comments are very important for us in order to improve the service offer to our guests.

Thanks a lot for your good comments! i´ll share it with the whole team!

We hope to see you again in a near future and show you all our improvements!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

2nd visit after a crowd of wedding guests hit the hotel August '13. This was peaceful and blisssful! Ask the staff anything - nothing is too much hassle for the team there and brilliant restaurants nearby in Cancelada (and Heaven Beach too!)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director General at Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all thanks for the time that you have spent in send us your comments, these comments are very important for us in order to improve the service offer to our guests.

thanks a lot for your good comments, these are the best award for us!

We hope to see you again in a near future and show you all our improvements!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Breakfast spread was good with great choice. Didn't eat any other meals as the menu wasn't great. They charge 10euros per day to park your hire car even though they are not in a town/city centre. Everyone was fighting over the few street spaces available outside. No kettle either. Apparently you only get drink making facilities if you upgrade to a suite. Good base if you're site seeing but maybe not so if you want to spend most of your time in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director General at Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all thanks for the time that you spend in send us your comments, these comments are very important for us in order to improve our service.

We take in account your comments and we will make a improvement plan to grow up in our quality of service.

We hope to see you again in a near future and show you all our improvements!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The staff were extremely helpful and professional our room was spotless and very comfortable , we made a last minute booking after being let down else ware and we needed 12 double rooms we were very impressed with the attention and service from the manager at reception.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director General at Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Dyana,

First of all thanks for the time that you have spent in send us your comments, these comments are very important for us in order to improve the service offer to our guests.

thanks a lot for your good comments, It is without doubt the best award for us!

We hope to see you again in a near future and show you all our improvements!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Fantastic adult hotel - peaceful setting and great spa facilities. Went with a friend and was just what we needed. To be honest I'm not a swimmer and have never used a spa but I thought I would try it since it was a big feature of the hotel and was really pleased I did. The spa is huge with lots of different rooms and treatments on offer.

The pool is big enough for the hotel and could always get a sunbed. Noticed considerable amount of Spanish people using the hotel & spa which is a good sign if the locals are using it.

Food was excellent and good choice of buffet food for both brekky and dinner, never packed full of people which added to the peacefulness.

Hotel immaculately clean, spacious and modern. Staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel fairly remote, using taxis to Porto Banus (16-20 Euros one way) but worth the trip. Very exclusive with designer shops and yachts! Lots of restaurants but more pricey. If your after a hotel in the thick of it then possibly not the one for you - great to relax and rejuvenate!

Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, one wing of the hotel looks a busy road. Ask for upgrades as I think we g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director General at Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Vicki,

First of all thanks for the time that you have spent in send us your comments, these comments are very important for us in order to improve the service offer to our guests.

thanks a lot for your good comments, It is without doubt the best award for us!

We hope to see you again in a near future and show you all our improvements!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Very nice, clean hotel.
Rooms are large and airy with fabulous beds that are huge & comfortable.
Very friendly staff. Always on hand to help.
Pool area really lovely. Spacious, clean and very peaceful.
I would certainly be visiting this hotel again.


  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director General at Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Julie,

First of all thanks for the time that you have spent in send us your comments, these comments are very important for us in order to improve the service offer to our guests.

thanks a lot for your good comments, It is without doubt the best award for us!

We hope to see you again in a near future and show you all our improvements!

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa

Address: N340, Km165, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#7 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El hotel Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa**** es un moderno hotel solo para adultos, con 93 habitaciones todas con terraza, situado en la nueva milla de oro entre Estepona y Puerto Banus, a 600m de la playa y rodeado de los mejores campos de golf de la zona. Su centro Thalasso Spa, con 2000 m2 de superficie, ofrece los mejores cuidados en salud y belleza, asi como en sus restaurantes donde podra disfrutar de una oferta gastronomica que incluye cocina Gourmet Saludable. El Barcelo Estepona tambien dispone de salas de reuniones, todas ellas con luz natural y equipadas con la mas avanzada tecnologia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selenza Estepona Thalasso & Spa Hotel Estepona
Selenza Estepona Thalasso And Spa
Selenza Estepona Thalasso Hotel
Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.