We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N340, Km165, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 hotels in Estepona
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

ROOM
An impressive room with a comfortable kingsize bed, giant comfy pillows to match - great sleep. Decorated and furnitured to a very high standard. The bathroom is very modern, two sinks, a large bath and the toilet area is seperated by a frosted-glass panel. The only downside is the bath takes a very long time to fill up as the tap is slow running and quite tricky to working out how to use! The room also has a chargable mini-bar and a TV with one English speaking channel (Sky News). Lovely balcony area too.

POOL, ETC
Nice pool area with comfortable loungers for sunbathing. The waitress is around the pool area to take any drink/food orders. If there is no-one to serve you, there is a telephone for you to call and someone comes right away. The hotel also has a Spa which we didnt use.

INTERNET
Wifi free of charge for your ipad/laptop throughout the whole hotel.

FOOD
Our board basis was bed and breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet service which had a good choice of cereals, pastries, fruit, fried eggs, sausages, bacon, etc... these were set-out/ cooked nicely. My only negative is, I did order a caesar salad during my stay which was a little 'soggy' and the dressing didn't taste too great - that said, my friends ordered different dishes and enjoyed them.

LOCATION
Situated in a remote area near the motorway, there are only one or two bars/restaurants within walking distance. It is a taxi ride into Estepona town or Port which is around €18 one way - expensive round trip each day/night. There are some nice restaurants and bars in Estepona port. I personally wasn't that fussed on Estapona town itself, it was very quiet although a good traditional Spainish experience. I would definately recommend visitng Puerto Banus which is a €20 one way taxi ride. A gorgeous port where some of the rich and famous moor their yachts. Stylish bars and restaurants serving beautiful food plus a long list of designer shops (ie. Dolce & Gabanna, Cartier, etc...).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    65
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
109
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent four nights half board at the hotel for a quick get away, we were not disappointed. We had a fabulous break - service was faultless and friendly, the food was delicious and plentiful and our room was clean and well cared for. The walk to the beach is not scenic - you have to cross the dual carriageway via a footbridge but the walk is worth it as we found the beach to be quiet and clean. There were 2 beach restaurants to choose from both of which were fine. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked this Hotel because of the rave reviews on its' Spa facilities. We were not disappointed. Great facilities and services in well-maintained and modern spa. The rest of the Hotel is very good value for money.Rooms are spacious with large bed and very good bathroom. Location is on the outskirts of Estepona, but car or taxi is required to get to town centre.Some excellent restaurants nearby.We tried the "Carnicero" ( about 500 metres from the Hotel), and "Playa-Bella" a ten-minute drive away.Big outdoor pool for warmer months. Will definitely return and can thoroughly recommend, but beware this is an adult only Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a pool-side view room if you can, but any room will be O.K. The Hotel is situated far enough fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

All round good one. Fab relaxing spa. Big comfy bed with loads of pillows. Piping hot power shower and bath. All clean and spacious. Polite, helpful and smiley staff. We took advantage of a special offer and were not disappointed at all. The value for money exceeded our expectations. Happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors, you might just get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January as we had business meetings.
There was a problem with the door entry card, and we could not get into our room straight away, but the Reception Staff were so helpful and held our luggage (replaced door battery) and put our bags in.
The bedrooms were spacious and the bathroom was huge. Had a great night sleep with the comfortable pillows (even got a pillow menu), had a balcony to enjoy the sunset.
There is lots of room in the reception area, and the bar staff were really helpful. Had tasty bar snack, and the buffet breakfast has lots of variety, and there is food to for everyones taste.
We used the spa which was very relaxing and the circuit list of how to enjoy the treatments was really helpful. If you contact reception they may do a deal for 2 people going to the spa ... its worth a try.
It is well positioned off of the A7 motorway and has underground parking.
The outside pool looked good .... bit nippy to try it out.
The staff at the hotel made this stay really enjoyable, they were polite, professional and really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just B&B for us but it's a fabulous hotel with some serious money spend on design and matched by great friendly and efficient service. Well placed just off the A7 (although you won't notice it's there) the Barcelo is definitely a great place to base yourself if you're exploring from Malaga to Gib - so it's not on the beach! However, lots of restaurants along the A7 in Estapona, Marbella and a somewhat tacky Peuto Banus (but great if you're partying in a crowd I'm sure)

The only annoyance is the limited TV (although I guess I should learn more Spanish) and the Internet (although free each device phone/laptop/ipad etc. has to have it's own code which expires on checkout - fine but we extended our stay twice so ended up surrounded by paper with codes on. I guess that's a small issue and won't bother many - no idea why that should happen nowadays though!)

Spa looked amazing but at €30 each per day (although if you get there at 10am they were doing 241) it seemed a lot to add when you just fancy a quick dip in the evening though.

I'd definitely stay again though - breakfast was great with a lot of options - I made it down everyday which makes a real change for me! Outdoor pool was lovely....

Room Tip: Higher floors do give you a view over the sea and local area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely clean relaxing hotel, not least as it is is child free. Lovely pool area and indoors very roomy areas and a large spa with a wide range of facilities. Food excellent with a wide range of healthy and tasty foods. The Nespresso coffee available is amazing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable . All staff very pleasant and helpful. Would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa

Address: N340, Km165, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#6 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Estepona Thalasso Spa**** is an Only Adults situated in the new Golden Mile between Puerto Banús and Estepona, very close to the best golf courses of the are and only 400 m away from the beach. With 92 modern rooms, all with terrace and free wifi this hotel is a perfect place to stay.Its Thalasso Spa Center, one of the best is Spain, with over 2000 sqm2 our USpa offers the best health and beauty treatments. All the water areas of the Thalasso Center use Sea Water directly from the Mediterranean.The Barceló Estepona Thalasso Spa also has got a Buffet Resturant, A la Carte Restaurant, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar so as 5 modern meeting rooms, all with natural light and equiped with the most advanced technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Barcelo, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selenza Estepona Thalasso & Spa Hotel Estepona
Selenza Estepona Thalasso And Spa
Selenza Estepona Thalasso Hotel
Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Estepona Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.