We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playabella Spa Gran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Playabella Spa Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Playabella Spa Gran Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costalita s/n, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, albeit 10 Kms out of Estepona. We got a really good deal for 2 nights and actually extended it for another night. Our room had a lovely view of the pool area and was a old size. The bathrooms are also spacious. The reception staff were helpful and two of them had excellent English. We actually had no issue with the hotel as such.
However, even though there is a safe in the room, it could not be activated unless one paid for it each day. Also wifi is not available in the rooms unless one pays for it. One can get an hour for free per day in the lobby area. This was most inconvenient for us as we are away from home for 3 months and our two children are on two different continents in different time zones.
We had dinner in the buffet restaurant on the first evening and we can truly say that it was the worst meal we have ever had. In this country that has such wonderful fresh food, it appeared all to be bulk bought in containers, or frozen and reheated or old. As someone who hates food wastage, I'm afraid we contributed to the garbage heap that night.
So the hotel is recommended if you don't mind paying for a safe and don't need wifi. But the buffet dinner is definitely not recommended.

Room Tip: You either have a view over the pool area or the ocean. However the ocean facing rooms seems to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    354
    153
    51
    34
See reviews for
594
150
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a one week stay .the hotel is nice but as always not as nice as the pictures we saw on travel republic .also wish we had researched the area more as not near anything ..you really need a car unless you want to just stay at the hotel.it is right on the beach but we didn't have great weather but would have gone in to swim if had been better weather.the food was good !and I ate way to much!we thought this hotel was a lot closer to estepona but we did a lot of traveling went to Cadiz and Seville and we love Spain ..the staff are very nice and helpful but this is a very Spanish hotel not good if you want lots of English people which we didn't mind ,,thought the food was better because of it .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is our fourth visit to this hotel. It is perfect at this time of the year. The rooms are spacious and clean with lovely balconies and fantastic bathrooms. The food is lovely with a great choice of dishes for every taste and is beautifully presented. There is show cooking at breakfast lunch and dinner including pancakes. The service cannot be faulted.the pool complex is great with many sunbeds and direct access to the beach. A car is really essential and there is lots of free parking surrounding the hotel. A really nice spa. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabella Spa Gran Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Greetings,

Alejandro Castillo Aguilar
Gerente Playabella Spa Gran Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 7days on a all inclusive .....hotel is in a very good location , although a car is needed to get out and about. The food is a good selection if u like a lot of salad but on the whole food is not at a high standard ( infact pretty much like Joe's cafe) the bowls and plates are chipped and marked this is a breeding ground for bacteria . Evening entertainment was basically 3 French idiots prattling around on the stage., all entertainment was centred around the French guests nothing was organised for any other guests. The reception staff are very rude and abrupt not Wat you would expect for a 4 star hotel. The spa is okay but is more like a indoor swimming pool for all the local teenagers very noisy and was definitely put off by the Spanish man keep spitting on the floor and in the orange and lemon pool...The cleaning staff are wonderful always pleasant and make sure you have everything you require they need to give a few pointer to the receptionist staff...the bar tender in the pool/beach bar his name is Diego was run off like a headless chicken keeping everyone happy on his own maybe he needs a little help. I will definitely not be going back to this hotel. For the area of esteponia and Marbella there is far better for the same money.so before you book I advise you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a flying visit. Things that I found very attractive in this hotel, the public areas were mainly marble, green ( with foliage ) and clean - and up kept and maintained spotlessly, staff were very helpful, off street parking available if needed at 4 euros per day. I love the ceramic tile " headboard " it really added to the air of cleanliness in the room. Room fittings were functional but not high fashion, solid and again well kept and practical. If you like dresses might not be enough hangers for a fortnights worth of clothes ( for you non light travellers/ clothes-a-holics) but plentiful hanging space. All the pictures I have seen on internet travel sites I would say are accurate of the hotel, no photographic tomfoolery or strategic camera placements used.
A thing that I found "interesting" ... a charge to use the room safe in this day and age - really?. Surely most people travel with electronic stuff today, necessary security element of room rental.

We had a hire car and I would recommend this to see lovely medieval villages in the mountains nearby other wise you might not appreciate what this region really has to offer, be bold strike out!

What I did not really appreciate was the buffet restaurant. I can appreciate that the hotel is trying to appeal to the broad spectrum of nationalities that use the hotel, I think it kinda misses the mark on this front. Menu then seems fragmented.I did not think that the meats were of particular note - odd for such a gastronomic people. I understand that you wont get acorn fed black pork on this budget, but it could be a lot better. As for civil order and queueing forget it. Get stuck in there or you'll be waiting a while. The big hits at breakfast are the nice croissants and breads ( cut and toast your own ) and the fresh fruit and yoghurts. One poor chap had the job of manning the hot stations - pancakes and eggs to order, stationed too far apart from each other to do both at the same time successfully.
I did not think it was a great value for the lunch I had, but was ok ( but only ok ) for breakfasts.

The hotel was still well occupied even in the mid weekend of September, kids are back at school etc. So there were not many families when we stayed here, but still a mixed age range with maybe forty per cent falling into the mature range - this is GOOD NEWS for me as I don't like to be somewhere with folks screeching through the halls on their way back to rooms after a night out or even spent in the hotel bar. Every body in the hotel appeared to be content - which always makes for a more pleasant stay. Hot water was plentiful, great pressure, adjustable shower jet head. Outside the hotel reception there was a vending machine for water ( a couple of Euros for a large bottle which could be kept in the fridge in your room- perfect ) and an aviary, as well as a little shop, an estate agency office - and a place for Nonna and Poppa to sit under canopied shade while Papa pops up the street to pick up the car.

Great stay for what we wanted, which was a reasonably priced "nice hotel" close to the wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in Playabella with my family for a week in August 2012. It is a wonderful place. Hotel guests were mainly from Spain, France and Poland. The hotel staff was polite and helpful. The room with a balcony overlooking the pool was nice. A large bathroom had a shower and a separate round bath. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed everyday. Food was great, everyone could find something to eat (traditional Spanish food, wide range of seafood, delicious deserts, fruits). The pool with slides looks nice, but it is rather for children and it too small to swim for adults. The beach near the hotel is long, wide, but not very clean with stones at the entrance to the sea. However, despite a crystal-blue water, during our 7-days stay, we couldn't swim in the sea, because of jelly fishes (medusas ) in the sea. It is necessary to pay for sun- beds (4 EUR per day) at the beach. Sun-beds near the pool are free. Towels for the beach can be taken from the reception (deposit 10 EUR).
The location of the hotel is far from the town. The nearest supermarket is ca. 20 min from the hotel. By the local bus you can go to Estepona.
The hotel represents good value for money, however the beach was below our expectations. I can recommend the hotel for families with children, particularly those who enjoy staying near the swimming-pool.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground (1) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Thought I would write a review after recently spending a couple of weeks there in early June. We thorough enjoyed our stay, the hotel is clean, the food is good, the sun was shining so what more could you want! Ok this hotel is not for you if you like to be surrounded by other brits as it's main patriots are Spaniards and French so everything is geared up for them - Animation/Food etc. This didnt bother us although if your children wanted to join the kids club they may have felt a little left out. There isnt a huge choice in the restaurant but what is there is really good - although just repeated on a weekly basis. We were all inclusive and the drinks were all branded - smirnoff/Absolut vodka, bottled beers - never had that before. It was pretty quiet most of the time we were there so there was no scramble for sun loungers, your right on the beach which is also great and the kids loved the two little water slides. The rooms are fine, clean, plenty of storage, fridge, the bathroom was huge with the biggest bath ever and lots of mirrors.

It was a lovely holiday very relaxing and to answer the all important question - yes I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabella Spa Gran Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Alejandro Castillo
Gerente Playabella Spa Gran Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Playabella Spa Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabella Spa Gran Hotel

Address: Costalita s/n, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#8 Family Hotel in Estepona
#9 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabella Spa Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Costa del Sol where sun and golf reign supreme, the Playabella Spa Gran Hotel enjoys a beachfront location in the town of Estepona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Playabella Spa Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabella Hotel Gran
Gran Hotel Playabella
Playabella Spa Gran Hotel Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playabella Spa Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.