We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De la mar

De la mar
Puerto paraiso 29, 29680 Estepona, Spain
0034952797180
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 293 restaurants in Estepona
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Continental, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a leisurely, long lunch here and returned on a very busy Sunday evening. They managed to find a table for our party of four and we had a superb meal. They do roast dinners all day on a Sunday, but we all opted for the fillet steak with Diane sauce. Each steak was cooked exactly as requested and was served with chips, broccoli, carrots cauliflower cheese and peas, all of which were cooked perfectly. We sampled the house wine, which was very palatable. Finally, what made the evening memorable was the excellent service from our waitress Vallie. She was attentive, helpful and very cheerful even though she was very busy. Big thank you, Vallie and everyone at de la mar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    25
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good English food in a Spanish environment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a really pleasant restaurant. The service is good , meals are freshly prepared , wine list is decent and the desserts looked delicious. Pricing was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Found it through tripadvisor and it was as expected. Attentive friendly service. I ordered salads and they were fresh and tasty. Friend ordered swordfish and was also pleased. Nothing to complain about + free wifi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“lovely food and great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited after being recommended to go.

Quite a small place and was quiet but we went in and were not disappointed. They had a very well priced set menu - about 17 euros for three courses and a nice cheap house wine. Host was very friendly, especially with our children, and we went back again a few days later.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always superb home made cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed in Estepona Port twice this last year and the first place we make for to eat is De La Mar! The welcome and of course the home cooked food is guaranteed quality - you just know it is going to be really tasty and delicious! Mar adds that extra touch as your delightful host and that is the 'icing on the cake' so to speak. Dave & Jane

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De la mar also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to De la mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De la mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.