We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOULD BE BETTER” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Hague
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“SHOULD BE BETTER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is officially a 5 star hotel but they are many things about it that mean it isnt. I really dont understand how the star system works when you can have 2 different hotels in the same counttry with the same start ratings but different standards. Anyway why isnt it 5 star in my opinion?
The hotel is a little dated.
Reception looks fine but the bar area is old fashioned and not as inviting as it should be. The sofas there are comfortable but ideally need replacing.
The bedrooms are OK but the airco didnt work as well as it should do. We had 2 adjoining rooms and the celing fan came on in both rooms when trying to put it on is just one room. There were knocks on the furniture.
The bathroom shower leaked for the first couple of days and was then fixed. That exposed the fact that the bathroom then wasnt cleaned properly as the water mark was there for 2 days before we complained. The bedroom wasnt cleaned properly - there was a piece of fluff near the mat next to my bed that was there for 10 days (so no mopping or vacuuming).
The hotel is supposed to have wifi throughout the hotel but it definitely doesnt and i wasnt the only one to have this problem
On a positive side the pool area is nice, clean and very well kept. There are plenty of sun umbrellas and sunbeds. If you want one by the pool you have to be early but to be honest the grass area is better and more spacious
My conclusion is that the hotel needs to undergo refurbishment and then it could be a super hotel. it is good value for money but In the meantime a lot could be done to improve it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Hotel Elba EStepona for your holidays as well as for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

The would like to thank you for your positive list about the Hotel facilities and services and we are really sorry to know that some of your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this, in the meantime we would like to thank you to give us the possibility to express our own opinion:

All your comments have been taken seriously and shared with the appropriate Head Departments in order to be analyzed.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    230
    88
    55
    24
See reviews for
273
325
25
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel and rooms were very clean, most of the staff were very friendly. And some of the staff were downright rude. One of the bars near reception was manned by the most miserable barman we have ever come across. We were almost afraid to order drinks from him! Other guests at this bar were saying the same thing. The 'a la carte' restaurant was awful, the service was non existent, our party of 6 diners were served 5 starters, we waited 10 minutes for the 6th starter to arrive, with no apology. The main dish's were bland and flavourless. To be fair to them, after complaining we were told we wouldn't have to pay. and we could have a drink on the house for the trouble (we were all inclusive so that was irrelevant).
The beach bar service was awful too, hardly ever being acknowledged, having to call a barman away from chatting to his colleagues to serve us most of the time. On one occasion there was a dodgy looking group of Spaniards, sat at a table amongst other holiday makers with children openly smoking cannabis. Nothing being said to them.
The swimming pools were great, lots of children, great if like us you have kids, but probably a nightmare if you don't. Make sure you get your towels early, as they do run out!
The Buffet was nothing special, same as virtually every other spanish hotel. It got a bit samey after a few days. The staff in the buffet were great, very friendly.
The location of the hotel is not great, it's on the side of a duel carriageway, nowhere really to walk to apart from a useless Aldi supermarket. There is a shop in the hotel, but quite expensive. 15 Euros for a paperback!
We found there was at times a feeling of tension amongst the staff that you could pick up on. We came to the conclusion that there must be internal problems within the hotel.
I wouldn't class this hotel as a 5 star, it lacks the finer touch's, probably 4 star.
Overall we enjoyed our stay there, but it could have been a lot better. We would not make a return visit though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your comments on Tripadvisor about your stay with us ..

It is disappointed to know that your overall stay was not what you expected and this recent experience would deter you to return. We sincerely apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations.

All your comments have been taken seriously and shared with the appropriate Head Departments in order to be analyzed.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a lovely week in this quality property where staff are well-versed in customer service. Hugely helpful and pleasant. Beautifully maintained gardens and very comfortable rooms. Lovely spa. Excellent food, but bar prices are not exactly going to attract people on a regular basis; something they ought to look at to generate more regular business. We'd be happy to return some time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Client

First of all I would like to thank you for this wonderful comment regarding your stay with us here at the Gran Hotel Elba EStepona & Thalasso Spa.

It is with great pleasure that I read through your thoughts and realized how much you enjoyed your holidays with us. I will personally pass them on to all staff members, as they will be delighted so receive such positive feedback.

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Elba 15th to 22nd of July 2013. My wife & I joined our daughter and her husband and children.
Without doubt one of the best all round travel experiences. Beautiful rooms with the best en suite facilities ever, very helpful and friendly staff with an incredibly effective security lockdown system when one small grand daughter decided to play hide and seek and could not be found. 10 out of 10 to all staff concerned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently returned from a very pleasant weeks break but as much as we found the hotel very nice and our overall stay relaxing, it has to be said this is not a 5 Star location. The reception staff and cleanliness of the hotel is indeed of a high standard but, they are let down by the not so high standard you will find with bar and dining staff. It is a little chaotic and haphazard to be entirely honest about it all and falls below the levels which would be expected of a 5 star establishment. They should also make their mind up between all inclusive or not because I can't help thinking those guests that are half board or B&B, are subsidising the all inclusive guests with the high (very) bar and beverage prices you have to pay. Previous to our stay, I read a few reviews which were along the same lines as I have mentioned but, I always prefer to keep an open mind and judge for myself. Generally I do tend to disagree with most negative comments posted but unfortunately, not this time it has to be said.
In summary, this is a 4 star hotel at best with 5 star prices therefore, I would recommend they realise this and adjust accordingly, one way or the other.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa. Our client’s feedback is a remarkable device which help us to improve our service and standards every day.

We are really sorry to know that not all your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this.

We hope that this experience has not tarnished your image of our Hotel. We kindly ask you for a chance where we can assure we will do our best to achieve our main goal: your maximum satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lovely hotel, kept clean and tidy. Room cleaned daily and to good standards. Nice to hear the waves from the room. We liked to patio area and pool for adults only, although many people ignored the many signs stating this...maybe they can't read though and pictures used instead.
Food plentiful and of excellent standard. Freshly cooked fish and meat available. We were all inclusive and only paid extra for a bottle of wine in the restaurant on the Spanish night. Lovely food there too.
My own fault, as I never took insect repellent or anything for bites and I was bitten a lot by mosquitoes ...but I'm fair skinned and usually get them wherever,
Could have done with another member of staff on the bar, but we never really waited a long time to be served.
Would defiantly recommend the hotel if you like to relax and don't mind being too far away from gift shops in the town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel but not the standard of five star hotels in the likes of Cyprus, Turkey, etc., that said they understand how to charge five star prices such as over 12 Euros for two slices of bread with salad inside and cold oven chips - not a good place to stay if you are planning on snack lunches every day. And bar prices outrageous. Also our family room was a double room with a camp bed in it for our 5' 8 son! Had to practically climb over his bed to get to balcony - Receptionist insisted this is their family room. Possibly a better deal if you go all inclusive with a young family I suspect. Entertainment dreadful but kids seemed to enjoy it. Hotel had no one checking if guests happy or doing a 'walkabout'. You had to keep asking where places were in the hotel and although the staff were friendly, they struggled to cope - Reception, bars, towel kiosk often no one around. The pool is far too small for the number of guests there - not helped by blow up beds and dolphins, etc and can be very noisy. We went to the marina much of the time - both were lovely. This is very much a family hotel in our opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

We are really sorry to know that your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this, in the meantime we would like to thank you to give us the possibility to express our own opinion to the following 2 points:

Family Room:
Our Family Double luxury Rooms, of 37 square metres, all of them with a private terrace or balcony of 8.5 square metres are spacefull enought for an extra bed of 80x190 ( we dont use camper bed) . We also offer Prestige Family room of 55 square metres,with a private terrace or balcony of 19.7 square metres.

Lunch & Snacks
Our prices are according the category of the Hotel.

Pool Service:
We have taken all appropriate measures to address the inconveniences you encountered.

Our client’s feedback is a remarkable device which help us to improve our service and standards every day, even if sometimes it is impossible to satisfy all the customers


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.