We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came, we saw, we bought” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Playa Andaluza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 35 hotels in Estepona
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We came, we saw, we bought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came here for a trial week five years ago and bought our first week. We have been back every year since and now own a second week here. Whether you are an owner or you pay to stay here you won't be disappointed. The apartments and spacious and well equipped and maintained to a high standard. The food in the restaurant is excellent and very well reasonable. The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. Weather is always worth coming for. I love it

Room Tip: I prefer morning sun and a,ways go in Cadiz apartment building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    148
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
254
151
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This resort has a natural beauty and charm that makes you want to stay there time and time again. The setting and design are simply gorgeous! We are already making plans to return . It is truly a lovely resort!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 1 week in a 2 bedroom apartment.It's a nice & quiet complex where you could chill out.We had a great sea and mountain view from the balcony.The staff are very friendly.It's only 5 minutes drive to Puerto Banus,the next city port and 15 minutes drive to Marbella center.Renting a car is necessary.We really relax in Playa Andaluza.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We're Marriott Vacation Club owners and we really love this resort. In terms of quality, we have never been let down at any Marriott resort, and this is no exception, It's the newest of Marriott's European resorts and is certainly much fresher and more spacious that the nearby Marbella Beach Resort. We enjoyed the luxury of a huge 3 bedroom lock-off apartment - this is where Marriott's quality really kicks-in - we were all very impressed indeed!. As ever with time-share locations, you will at some stage be approached to attend a sales event, so refuse immediately if this doesn't appeal, but do expect the staff to press you a little. Also, if you choose to eat and shop on the resort you'll certainly pay far too much for the privilege, but this is no problem as there are no shortage of good restaurants and bars within walking distance and a good choice of Supersol supermarkets within a few minutes drive. For a better and more varied choice of restaurants and other attractions, Puerto Banus and Marbella old town are relatively close by. Please note, you really do need a car for this resort, but at least when we were there we had no problem with parking. The various pools are all very impressive, although the gym is a little on the small side. The beach is fine, but certainly not special, but at least it does have a bar. Overall, recommended!

Room Tip: Get a corner apartment if you can as they're larger - the higher you go the quieter it will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I are new Marriot vacation club members and were contemplating staying at this resort or the Marabella resort (which we ended up visiting our last day ). I prefer and recommend THIS resort because the layout is perfect and more private. However, if you have children, traveling with a large group, or are single, the Marabella Marriott would probably be more accomodating. My husband and I relaxed the entire time thanks to the wonderful service, and great amenities. The prices for the marketplace, restaurants, etc. were also reasonable compared to other Marriotts. For dinner, I would recommend visiting Puerta Banus-so many restaurants and shops, not to mention fabulous people waching! It's not a question of if we will be back, but when! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We absolutely loved the Mariott"s Playa Andaluza resort. The resort staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The consierge was amazing. She really went out of her way to help you get to your destinations and recommend restaurants.

We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom room with another couple. The kitchen is fully equipped, there is a separate laundry room which is a bonus as we were travelling for two weeks so that came in really handy. The living room and big patio were also an asset.

The resort was very clean and had so many activiites for children and adults. There are three pools and one is dedicated to children. They have a bbq area which we used one evening to cook beef tenderloin, fresh veggies and potatoes. Enjoyed the meal on our patio with lovely Spain wine. Can't get any better than that.

The food in the restaurant was very good and they have a good choice of options. Breakfast was included and was good as well.

The pools and beach were relaxing but the water was cold. Laying on the beach you often get vendors trying to sell they wares so you may find it more relaxing by the pool inside the security gates. There is also an indoor pool with many jacussis and a decent work out room / gym.

Every Tuesday is Flamingo night so we really enjoyed the show without having to leave the resort.

We highly recommend this resort for it's amenities. The beach is not the best though if that's what you are looking for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We always this forward to a week at our home resort as a Vacation Club owner, but this time around wehad a few issues.

Yes the Marriott Playa Andaluza is a lovely resort, with great facilities and in a good location. But when you pay so much a year to be a Vacation Club owner you expect to be treated like one. Upon check in the check in desk couldn't recognise that we were owners and that we were visiting our home resort. When we found out we have a ground floor room we were very unhappy but we happy to give it a try based on the check in desk clerk's description of the room, lovely room with a great view of the pool. Well! We were allocated probably what was the worst room we have ever stayed in over the many years we have stayed here. The room was so dark and the only view we had was of the garden's trees and bushes. We rang the reception straight away to try get moved to another room, but because they were apparently 97% full they couldn't accommodate us until 2 days later. When it came to moving rooms they wanted 70 Euros from us for the inconvenience of us moving rooms! We thought hard to get this waivered but they were having none of it. We are still trying to resolve this now that we have returned.

We do love visiting Playa Andaluza but this time we felt a little let down by the vacation club, and we noticed some things that need a bit of attention this time around. The rooms seem a bit dated now and you don't seem to get as many amenities as you use to. The pool toilets were not very clean, and the ladies wash room didn't have any soap in it for days, surely this is something that should be checked daily. The umbrellas around the pool at times are a struggle to put up, you notice this happening a lot around the pool. The bar is still very slow and overpriced, though the staff in the bar and restaurant are very friendly. As always though the grounds are well kept, especially the garden areas.

There are some great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Tanino and Robin Hood are really nice if you fancy a nice meal out one night. And Los Arcos over the road is good for kids and cheap drinks. We also recommend a trip to Benhavis one night, which is about 15 min drive up in the mountains so beautiful views and restaurants up there!

We didn't let the bad things ruin our holiday though, we still had a great time.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a higher floor room if you want light and a view! Ground floor rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Address: Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Playa Andaluza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.