We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Playa Andaluza to your Saves list
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience - again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second visit in 2 years. Excellent apartment with everything catered for, including hi speed wi fi. The facilities are well mainttained and the staff could not be more helpful. Outside of the resort you can walk to restaurants and bars but a rental car is essential to explore further. If you want to drink it's not far to Puerto Banus for an elegant night out by taxi.

Room Tip: We were in Almeria Block facing the pool which gets the early evening sunshine for the balcony, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    170
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
286
171
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I exchanged into here for a week at the end of April/beginning of May.
As one would expect from a Marriott resort the apartment was stunning and well equipped, the grounds beautiful and well appointed; the staff friendly and helpful.
However, there were some negatives for us.
Firstly it is really hard to find. The area is looking quite sad and run down.
It is not a resort for quiet couples as there were lots of children there.
Surprisingly for a resort of this size there is only one restaurant and, frankly, it is nothing special and quite expensive. So unless you self cater or go off site you are a bit of a captive audience in that respect.
There are a few eateries within walking distance but they are nothing special either so you'd need to go out in the car.

Having said all the above, we had a really lovely week but wouldn't go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent six days at this vacation club by Marriott. While with Marriott your accomdations and service have to be a high standard, I found that this particular hotel (and I have been to many) was way beyond par. The room was very large, with a balcony looking over the gardens and the beach. The place was immaculate The beach was so beautiful there with golden sand. The restaurant, Solara, served a great breakfast buffet and we also ate dinner there and lunch during our week. The food was consistent and good. They have a wonderful line up of activities during the week also, don't miss the Flamingo Show on Tuesdays. The best of this stay was the staff, they went above and beyond. Each one nicer then the other. Special kudos to Roberto at the Desk, he was not only knowlegable but could also become a comedian should he choose. Alinia in the restaurant. There was also a lovely lady from Germany ( I think ) at the desk her name escapes me but she was wonderful also. If I have one complaint it is the parking situation. Underground with so many pillars, it was hard to get in and out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well-appointed studio apartment was ours for a week. Facilities were excellent, staff helpful and friendly. Location very handy for local buses. Plenty of choice of bars and restaurants nearby. We self catered, limited by only having a microwave, but we knew that before we went. Free hi-speed wifi was an added bonus. Security on site was very good, though we were bothered by street traders off-site. But that didn't detract from our enjoyment. We are staying at the Marriott's Marbella later this year, and are really looking forward to that too, based on our experiences here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We exchanged for a week at the Playa Andaluza expecting a good but typical Vacation Club experience and that's what we got. The resort was well maintained, two bedroom apartment was as expected, except we were given a ground floor handicap room in a resort less than a quarter full?

They had our reservation screwed up using my last name first and first name last so it took extra time to get in the resort and find our reservation but the receptionist was nice and figured it out eventually.

The staff was extremely friendly and outgoing, on site secure parking under the building was nice. The area around the resort was nothing you'd want to explore on foot and driving was required for any offsite activities.

The On site restaurant was good and moderately priced for a resort, the on site market was well stocked with a bakery that made great breads and pastries daily. The typical pressure to do a sales presentation was applied and had to be declined each day.

The gym was excellent with plenty of modern equipment, really first class stuff, from cardio, to machines, to free weights and stretching area. Indoor pool and spas were crowded with lots of kids but in good working order most of he week. Sauna was broken all week but steam room was relaxing.

Outdoor pools were unheated and in late April too cool for all but he brave polar bears. All in all a good point to explore the region, Puerto Banus and Ronda were must see areas, Malaga town centre was also impressive, very clean but you need to be careful of pickpockets as in most heavy tourist urban areas.

Room Tip: I would not recommend ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Four nights here was like a little piece of heaven. We had a three bedroom apartment that was fully furnished. The beds are very comfortable and the place is spotless. The complex is safe a secure. The staff is attentive and very professional. The marketplace is well stocked for either a meal, or just some breakfast items or snacks..the prices are reasonable..bought breakfast for four for two days for less than $24 euros. This included freshly baked breads, butter, ham, eggs, chorizo, spanish omelette, milk, orange juice and coffee. I would recommend this resort to any one wether it be couples or families..

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week just after the Easter holidays had ended. Consequently the resort was quiet and the weather was excellent - plenty hot enough without reaching the scalding summer temperatures.
The downsides of this resort:
You'll need a car if you plan to do anything more than soak up the sun. There are no decent restaurants within easy walking distance and nothing else worth seeing nearby.
The outdoor pools aren't heated even though the roofs could all be covered in solar power collectors to heat the water.
The on site restaurant is very pricey - nice for a night or two but too expensive to warrant eating there all week.
Check in is normal - 3PM but check out seemed very early - 10AM. I wouldn't like to have to get all my kids organised and out by that time. Midday is far more reasonable.
The upsides:
Service is brilliant - some people were exceptionally good (the guy in the restaurant whose name I can't remember) but all the rest we encountered were very good. Nothing was too much trouble, anything we asked was explained and everyone was helpful.
Excellent underground car park - good size and well lit.
The hotel itself has plenty of facilities for families (look at the photos) and the beach is great for adults.
We will probably come back next year with the kids. It was a great base to explore southern Spain and we had a brilliant time :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Address: Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Playa Andaluza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.