We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Playa Andaluza to your Saves list
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

. First time to this resort will certainly try to go back. 2 bed 2 bath with fab decor and furnishings. Good gym with nice indoor pool area. O/S pool with lots of sunbeds, nice and comfy.Nice beach area, beware of Chinese masseurs. Get the VIP card and book, lots of good restaurants are recommended. The best were Guey(Way) and La Fiorentina. Also a must is to visit the small village on Benahavis for lunch, A car is essential to get around, to see all there is in the surrounding area, also much cheaper than getting a taxi to and from the airport..

Room Tip: Try get the Alhambra block
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    170
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
285
171
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newmarket
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have visited this resort and I think it was even better this time! Arrived mid afternoon Sunday and was promptly checked in. Apartment was two bed and extremely clean with everything you expect from a Marriott. Unfortunately we had rain for most of the week so didn't get to experience the outdoor pools, the main one was being repaired. It was great to have the gym and indoor pool and again these were very clean. We didn't use the onsite spa as we thought it was a bit pricey. Staff were extremely friendly in the bar and restaurant and the food served was lovely, the Flamenco evening made a nice change. I would agree with others that eating places within walking distance are in short supply, however if you are prepared to drive then there are some great places around. All in all a great week away and look forward to returning, hopefully when the sun is shining!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We has just had a very wet but lovely week here.Having stayed at many Marriott places before we always expect great service but I felt this place deserved a special mention. The staff were wonderful all so pleasant and helpful.Our apartment was immaculate, the grounds were really well maintained.The food in the restaurant was absolutely superb and the service was excellent.Keep up the great work Playa Andaluza!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Marriot resort is about 45 minutes drive from Malaga Airport down the A7 Motorway, it is easy to find and the directions we were given were clear with good checkpoints, however be warned that Spanish Motorways have less warning of junctions and turn offs than UK /Dutch/German M Ways. Also stay off the AP-7 which I believe is a toll road.

The resort is 5 star, it is an impressive location, and the apartment we had was two bedrooms for my wife and I , our two year old, and my mother in law. The apartment has a lounge and kitchen diner, utility room, and two bedrooms and two bathrooms , ours had a huge bath, and shower, the other one was a bath & shower as well. The standard of furnishing and décor is very high, all rooms had TV,s and we had a DVD player as well, with international as well as Spanish channels. The kitchen was super equipped with cookers, dishwasher, fridge freezer, utensils., glasses, cook ware, microwave, and more, so you can easily cook, and buy your own food. We were first floor, and the buildings have basement parking which there are lifts down to, very convenient for large amounts of luggage we were carrying. Check in was a delight , quick, convenient, prepared, no form filling etc. There is a convenient little supermarket on site you can juts bill what you but to your room. There is a very plush indoor heated pool, with multiple Jacuzzis , kids pool, and very modern gym and saunas all to a very high standard of equipment.

There is a dining area (casual) and bar with some nice staff , who are polite,efficient, and well trained , the food is very good there and well priced , again you can charge direct to your room.
I ordered flowers as a mothers day gift from my son to my wife , the staff organised this without any issues at all.

There are two kids areas with ball pools, and toys etc which were well equipped, safe, and very clean, in terms of facilities, its hard to fault the place, there are also tennis courts, ping pong tables, giant chess and draughts boards, outdoor pools and outdoor kids pools, and so on .

Externally it is very Spanish in style (nice) and the gardens and layout of the buildings is very impressive, and absolutely immaculate.

My minor issues are the following, the beach fronting it was stony , gravelly, and not all that attractive, there were a few niggles at night with the power turning off at night, also there was some work going on during our visit , we went to sit outside for a drink, at that point the refurbishment of the outside pool started , and drills , hammers, etc all banging away, i know work has to be done , however it was unfortunate timing. We also had a crew cutting trees on a Sunday ,morning at around 10.30 right outside the window, again work has to be done , but timing was poor.

Check out was fine, although we literally had a maid knocking at the door the second the clock struck the hour, which was a little too efficient. It is very near Puerto Banus , 16 euro in a cab, but is kind of out of a town , Marbella centre is about a 25 minute drive, parking quite easy there. You are going to need a car basically if you have children, if you do have children note the hire car companies have child seats , but do NOT fit them , you need to do that at the pick up. Unless you stay at the resort the whole of your time and you easily could , you will need a car.

I enjoyed it, it was relaxing , great place to stay, and very high standard of accommodation, immaculately kept, however slightly removed from any nearby towns, and you will need a car in my opinion.

Room Tip: You will need to ask to get a view of the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent a week here and traveled the south of Spain. You can not go wrong with this property. The lights went out periodically when it rained but other than that the trip was perfect and everything about this place was great.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house but the garden view was best for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a week here at the end of February.

Total Marriott experience. Love these places.

Great facilities and rooms. Lovely, friendly people. Beautifully maintained grounds.

The worst and most over-priced restaurants and marketplaces ever!

Same as every Marriott resort I have ever stayed at. So why do I stay here? Because they are beautiful, efficient, and centrally located to great sights and restaurants.

Hence - 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here in November for a week in a 2-Bedroom Condo. Although the condo did not face the water, it did overlook the pool area and we were quite impressed with the level and quality and comfort of furnishings. The staff was very friendly and could speak English very well. The beach area was rocky and too cold for swimming, but you could see the mountains from Morocco across the sea, which was exciting. There is a very good restaurant on site, that we ate at one evening, an indoor pool and workout facility, a snack bar by the pool, a gift shop, and a grocery store onsite. The grocery store had delicious chocolate croissants each morning. The only thing i wish was better was if their concierge would come in earlier. Often we would already be out enjoying the sights by the time they would show up. The lady at the sales office kept calling asking us to tour the facility, but we just disconnected the phone and that took care of that!
You do need a car if you visit, as things are all within driving distance (restaurants, grocery stores, Mirabella downtown, etc). once you get use to the expressway system in the area, then you are fine. One more hint, watch the speed limit on the toll roads. They have photo radars in place everywhere and you dont want to be like me and get suprise tickets in the mail a month later from the Spanish government.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Address: Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Playa Andaluza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.