We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Playa Andaluza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are staying in a two bedroom seaview apartment and I could not ask for anything more. There is a wonderful 24 hour gym, pools, jacuzzi, saunas ect. I would however advise to rent a car and if you look online it cost us only about 60 euros for the WEEK. So, dont take a taxi or the bus as the car is just much cheaper and better. The reception gave us a welcome package, and really I could not ask for more ( except a bit of sunshine ) !

Room Tip: request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    152
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
263
157
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked 5 nights at this vacation club in early October and were expecting a nice Marriot style single room accomodation. When we arrived we were astounded to be shown to a room that was the smaller bedroom of a 3 bed apartment. Room was clean but very very small, we did not have enough storage space in the room and had to use the balcony to store our things. Room was on the ground floor with no privacy whatsoever so we had to leave curtains drawn throughout our stay. Basically this room should not be marketed as a 4 star room under the Marriot brand, since this smaller bedroom (part of a larger apartment separated into rooms for rental) offered for rental is inconsistent with the apartment offerings in the rest of the resort and the Marriot brand. This tiny room was priced at €135 per night (excluding breakfast; including breakfast it was over €150) which was absurdly expensive for the room offering and for what is available on Costa del Sol (please refer our separate posting for our stay the prior week at Hotel Guadalmina, where we had much nicer accomodation, larger room with seaviews and at distinctly better prices). We are sorry to say that the room was the worst part of our stay.

Breakfast was quite nice, good choice but the coffee on offer was just instant coffee, so quite disappointing.

Resort facilities were quite nice, gardens were well maintained, pools were nice. Restaurant food offering was quite basic (pizza/ pasta/ burgers) but there are a lot of good restaurants nearby. We tried a lebanese restaurant by the highway which was very nice and quite popular.

On our first morning we were made to listen to a 4 h time share presentation, a sales pitch for us to buy a one week timeshare in an apartment in this resort. The apartments in this resort are nice, however separating a 3 bed apartment into a 2 bed apartment and a separate room, for separately renting out a 2 bed apartment and a single room is quite a peculiar model adopted by Marriot.

Overall would return to Costa del Sol but certainly not at the Marriot.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Banus, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights in a two bedroomed apartment. Has to be the cleanest accommodation We have stayed in. Most comfortable bed slept in for a long time. If only the weather had behaved it would have been perfect as the outdoor pools looked perfect, just a shame it poured down. Mandy on reception was friendly,helpful and made the check-in process a pleasure. The free round of drinks at the bar was a great touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if they have one and go for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel w/c 13 October 2012 - it was a timeshare exchange. On arrival (about midnight) we were warmly greeted by the receptionist, given all the information we needed and directed to our room. Our room was a studio room, which although small, had everything we needed - two single (very comfy) beds next to each other, a large TV, table and two chairs both in the room and also outside on the balcony, a small kitchenette area with microwave, sink, full size fridge, toaster, coffee machine, large bathroom with bath and shower. The room was spotlessly clean - the maid service attended each day and ensured it remained clean and tidy throughout our stay. We also had to request two non-feather pillows and these were sent to our room within half an hour of requesting from reception.

The hotel itself is definitely 4 star - the grounds and facilities are of a high standard. There are three main pools - one near the bar/restaurant which appeared to be more of an adult pool, then two further good sized pools - the last of which has a slide and appeared to be more of a children's pool, but also still good for adults. There were also two small pools for toddlers and also a large jacuzzi. The pools were cold, but enough people were enjoying them so they weren't too cold. The pool surroundings were also very clean and it was good that all pool areas were only accessible via a gate which was locked at the top e.g. child proof - good to keep your children in/out of the pool area to ensure they are safe.

The beach area was also very nice - accessed by a gate for which you need your key card to get back in. The sunbeds were very popular and there is also a beach bar which was closed due to it being out of season. However, the food available here when open is very nice. Could do with some more sunbeds on the beach as fully occupied, even in low season. People did seem to be doing the typical thing of reserving beds even though they weren't using them until later.

The facilities available for children seemed great (we don't have children) - there is a volleyball court, pool tables, table tennis tables, large drafts and chess, mini golf, play areas, a basketball/football court, climbing wall, as well as the pool games and slide etc. Certainly appeared to be a lot to keep children occupied and also safely. We didn't use the indoor facilities, but they seemed to be very popular also.

We only ate in the restaurant on a few occasions - firstly for breakfast which we thought was a little expensive at 15 euros each. However, there was a good selection and also Cava on offer for those who fancied it. The hot food was well covered, but could have been a little hotter. There was a large cold selection of food, but we did feel this should have been better covered - largely due to the number of flies (see below). We also ate lunch at the restaurant/bar which was also nice, if still a little expensive. Our evening meal was absolutely lovely and could not be faulted at all. We had this on our last night and wished we'd had more evening meals there as it was so nice. We felt that the pool bar area could have been a little better in terms of more seating and a wider selection of snacks/drinks available.

The one thing which was very frustrating was the number of flies, although this wasn't just an issue around the hotel, perhaps more to do with the time of year. They were all over us whilst outside, very persistent, and made it difficult when eating as, as soon as your food arrived they were straight on it. They were also inside the restaurant, hence why we felt the cold selection of buffet should have been covered up.

The Market Square shop was useful and had everything you'd need during your stay. I wouldn't say it was too overly priced, no more than your typical hotel shops. Lovely fresh baguettes/bread available each morning. You can even rent DVD's for only 4.50 euros from the shop to play on the DVD player in your room. The TV has all English channels (freeview) so if you are in on an evening you can watch all the soaps or other programmes of interest.

The hotel has free wifi available - all you need to do is login each day using your room number and surname for free 24hr access. This worked perfectly well on our iphones whilst on the resort. A bonus for when you want to check out the local maps before heading out or even restaurant reviews.

Transport wise, people recommend that you have a car whilst staying at this resort. However, we used the local bus service and found it to be more than adequate. The bus stop is no more than a 10 minute walk from the hotel and buses run either way along the coast road every half hour. It was only 4 euros for us to get to Puerto Banus each day - or only very slightly more to get to Estepona or Marbella. We tended to get a taxi back at night which was around 11/12 euros, again, not too bad and certainly not worth hiring a car for given that you would have to pay to park at Puerto Banus etc. We even used the buses to get to and from the airport - you can get a bus from the airport to Marbella for only 6 euros each and a bus from Marbella to the resort for about 5 euros.

Puerto Banus is only a few miles away and was our favourite place to go - a wide selection of bars and restaurants to choose from, plus shops (including designer). We enjoyed sitting at the Salduba bar on the corner where you can sit for hours watching the flash cars pull into the port and see all of the amazing yachts etc.

To summarise, we would fully recommend this resort - certainly worth a 4 star - all staff were very polite and friendly, the resort was spotlessly clean in all areas and had everything you could ask for during your stay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were here 4 years ago and we thought our memories were too good to be true. But it was as good as we remembered and even better because our kids (7. 5, 5) are old enough to enjoy it. We even spent a lot of time in the sea. The water is still perfect for swimming in the middle of October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Clean, friendly and lots to do. This resort is 5* with lots to do (especially for the kids). There are 3 table tennis tables, pool table and air hockey in the games room, badminton, volley ball, activities pool with water polo and volley ball net, etc etc. There is only one restaurant on site and a little expensive, but very nice food. The beach is on resort and very clean. The resort was fall occupancy, but didnt feel full at all. With the many spaces, 3 pools and beach, people was spread out and always room by the pool and on the beach. Peurto Banuz is 15 minutes away and worth a visit for the posh yachts, cars and nice cafe bars / restaurants. The old town marbella is good for shopping. top tip - park in the underground car park as you can pay on your way out by card. no need for cash at the meters. cost us between 5-7 euros to park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in September and Unfortunatly the weather took a turn for the worse with torrential rain almost every day.
This didn't ruin our stay as the villas are like home from home.
We stayed as part of a time share deal that friends of our brought from the ideal home exhibition. We all went along to a time share talk that lasted around 2 hours however was not pushy in the slightest. We did not purchase one however if you have a family and a spare 10k it would be worth looking into.
The villa sleeps 6 with 2 double en suite rooms and also a sofa bed.
There are wide screen tvs in every room and a large lounge with sofas and a dining table. The kitchen had everything you needed even a dish washer, utility room with tumble dryer, washing machine, the list goes on, everything was catered for. In the bathrooms there were hairdryers and the bedrooms big wardrobes and the worlds most comfortable beds EVER!
Due to the weather we didn't get chance to make use of the outdoor pools which was such a shame as they look out onto the beach and there are plenty of sun beds.
There was an indoor spa that was excellent with a plunge pool and 2 jacuzzis along with a large pool. There were steam rooms and saunas in both changing areas along with a unisex one.
There was a gym that had lots of up to date equipment with tv's in the running machines.
We ate in the restaurant the first night which was very nice and had an Italian themed menu. I would say this was a little on the expensive side as we then ate out on another occasion at Tanino a restaurant just off the motorway a very short walk away from the hotel. The food here was fantastic, very unique settings and very reasonable for what we paid. If you're looking for somewhere for an afternoon or evening meal then ask for directions from the hotel or look on trip advisor.
We ate in on another night in our villa having purchased food from the local supermarket. There are lots around so don't use the shop at the hotel as its very expensive.
We had a hire car from Sixt from the airport, very good and we made use of it travelling to Gibralter on another day.
We would def go back to this hotel just a shame the weather is never guaranteed in Spain during September.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Address: Crta de Cadiz, km 168, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Playa Andaluza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.