We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caracas Playa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Caracas Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Caracas Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida San Lorenzo, 32, 29680 Estepona, Spain (Formerly Altamarina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 37 hotels in Estepona
Milano, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

we have rent a room during 3 days in the hotel with a splendid view and balcony, the room are very clean and the personal is very nice too.
our room was equipped with a large bed and nice decoration, so I am not agree with some of the commentary that I have read
the employees were cleaning all the hotel when we were here and I think that a lot of work were made on the last months
good luck

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 7 night in November a Estepona . It was only 60 Euro per night , and we were on a budget. The rooms and bathroom were very clean, and each morning we received a very good but complementary breakfast. The location is fantastic. Just a minutes walk from all the major attractions and the Beach . Great view in the sea from the hotel balcony. All the other staff was fantastic and accommodating. They let us leave our baggage in the lobby after checkout so we could tour on our last day with ease.
i recommended This hotel for the Holiday

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Caracas Playa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
thank you very much for your advice we will very pleased too see you again in our hotel
see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night (12th October 2013). The hotel owners were friendly and welcoming and were happy to help with any requests (they also both speak English). The room was big and exceptionally clean, with a very comfortable bed and free WiFi. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and plenty of hot water. We chose one of the rooms with a balcony and had a stunning view over the sea. The hotel is situated approximately 10 mins by car from Puerto Banus and close to the historic center. Continental breakfast was good value and the dining room provide a quiet ambient. I honestly cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is better than many of the 4/5* hotels that I have stayed in in the same area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this hotel in october 2013. It was our first time in Estepona Andalousia and we really enjoyed it. I had a room on the three floor which overlooked the street . The room was clean, with a clean balcony. We had booked an airport transfer taxi but as Estepona is well linked to Malaga airport (we travelled via budget airline) The hotel was only a five minute walk away from the beach and near the main shopping street.
We found the food to have far exceeded our expectations. We went half board and was pleasantly surprised to find that drinks (including house wine/beer) was also included! There was a huge variety of food (although the weekends were definitely much more crowded and you can feel the tension of people "food hunting" popular items such as fresh seafood, ox tails (Which was not replenished once gone :( )

I found mealtimes to be crowded so its advisable to come down early as possible to secure seats and food! it is a pleasant hotel, the rooms aren't flashy but comfortable. The only downsides is they charge for Internet (I really dislike it when hotels do this) but the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Recently changed hands but still a warm welcome to a friendly 2 star hotel. Comfortable room but need to improve on maintenance of TVs and air con. A good range of food at breakfast - did not try the evening restaurant. May not be back next year but we will certainly return soon.
Estepona is an old town with plenty of shops, loads of restaurants and not the usual excesses of tourism, a fine beach so just the job for a relaxing stay. Easy drive to Tarifa, Ronda and just an hour from Malaga airport- in season good express bus service from Marbella and Malaga.

Room Tip: For quiet room choose a room above 2nd floor and overlooking the back of the hotel or the side stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caramarthen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel Caracas Playa Estepona, Spain

Located in the old town of Estepona Three miuntes from the hotel is a very good promenade with sandy beach and Great Beach Restaurants.Good mountain views and the rock of Gibraltar.
In the town of Estepona there are excellent restaurants and tapas bars.
Good position to visit Marbella Seville, Jerez Rhona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The 2 Star Hotel Caracas Playa, with Ricardo and Staff’s hospitality,
located in the old town of Estepona,
close to quaint colourful flower lined streets, the market ,
archaeological sites, flower square and other small squares close by,
where in the evening the locals enjoy shopping, eating and drinking.
The streets around offer a wide range of excellent restaurants and tapas bars.

Two minutes from the Hotel is a very good promenade with wide sandy beach,
offering mountain views and the rock of Gibraltar.

The Port is a must, with its abundance of fish and
excellent Bar/Restaurant ‘Escolterra’ serving Fish Tapas & Fresh Fish Display of the Day
also, close by is Plaza De Toros (Bull Fight).

Nearby Marbella, its old town worth a visit with orange square and a walk on the prom
but our preference by far is Esteponas prom and local flavour.

Estepona is an ideal location for trips to Rhonda - a must visit place,
the town is split in two divided by the Gorge, stunning views, a spectacular setting.
Trips to Seville, Sanlucar, Cadiz and
Jerez - visits to the Andalusian Equestrian Art Show, Dancing Horses
and Tio Pepe, World Famous Home of Sherry.

We will return!

Room Tip: A Front Balcony Rooms gives a side view of the Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Caracas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caracas Playa

Also Known As:
Hotel Caracas Playa Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol
Address: Avenida San Lorenzo, 32, 29680 Estepona, Spain (Formerly Altamarina)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caracas Playa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel two stars City in historic center of Estepona near of all. Beach, Bus, Taxi, Golf... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Caracas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caracas Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.