We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dune Bar the Hotest place in Estepona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dunes cafe

dunes cafe
passeo maritimo, Estepona, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 323 Restaurants in Estepona
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dune Bar the Hotest place in Estepona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went for a walk along the sea front in Estepona and discovered the Dune cafe bar which is on the sea front just past the post office next to the hair salon.

Dune bar offers a big selection of food and drinks at reasonable prices and we have to say we think it the hottest place in town as its a sun trap saying that they have nice big umbrellas over the tables to protect you from the sun.

We were served by a lady who was very pleasant and gave us great service we also chatted to the owners who are couple from the UK what lovely people they are.

We now recommend the Dune cafe bar to everyone we know as you will always get great service and value for money.

We have to say the first comment above is seems to be quite malicious against the owners who are lovely friendly people who can not do enough for customers.

If you visit the Dune cafe bar all you will see is lots of regular customers that go back year after year plus the locals who love the place.

So if you go to Estepona visit the Dune cafe bar not to be missed.

Barry & Barbara

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    2
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The WORST service on the Costa Del Sol, oh no it's a Brit, how disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Without doubt the rudest and most arrogant service we've ever experienced during over 20 years of visiting mainland Spain and I'm ashamed to say the proprietor is a Brit. Dune is a cafe on the Paseo Maritimo in Estepona in a good position and whilst the coffees are fine the service and food leaves alot to be desired. The lady that served us on a previous visit was fine, but she seemed to be working under alot of strain. However the other half of the couple running the cafe was just bad tempered and had an awful attitude to his customers and his partner.
In total contrast just next door, the cafe run by a Spanish family offered exceptional, friendly service and great food showing how it should be done.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Excellent position & nice breakfasts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

If we feel like a walk along the Paseo Maritimo and a spot of breakfast and a coffee then the Dunes Cafe is one of our stop of points.

Catering for a slightly more English market, it is none the less reasonably priced with a good quality food.

Probably a good stop of point for a light lunch on La Rada Beach if the chirringuito's don't take your fancy.

Worth a visit for a light snack!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“Lovely position!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

DUNE CAFÉ
Whilst staying at the MacDonalds Villacana resort we went to explore Esepona and found our way to the Passeo Maratimo. This esplanade backs the beach and can be walked for well over 3 Kms. You can drive along it, partly immediately behind the beach front gardens and partly behind some buildings that front the beach.
In one of these we found the Dune Café with spectacular views out to the sea, the Rock of Gibraltar and Africa. It has an all year round trade, frequented by ex pats, Spanish and other international clients. It boasts a beach-front terrace with 40 seats on approximately 70 square metres. Inside there is an additional 35 sq. metres which is designed as a gallery area enclosed by beautiful plants. The inside area seats 30 people and there is also an additional kitchen area of 20 sq. metres. The owners (who are a British couple) currently serve breakfast, lunch, baguettes, wraps, salads, jacket potatoes, some tapas. The menu was presented in English and when we stopped, the owners were re-arranging the parasols to ensure there was adequate coverage from the sun.
We had a snack – a cheese and ham toastie for my wife and an excellent Club Sandwich for me.
A really good place to stop for a snack.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dunes cafe also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to dunes cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dunes cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.