We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we were after which was a week of total relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isdabe Complejo Residencial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Isdabe Complejo Residencial to your Saves list
Isdabe Complejo Residencial
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Cadiz-Malaga, Km. 168.5 | C/ Del Norte No 2, 29688 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good for what we were after which was a week of total relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Globeles Playa Estepona was everything we were hoping for. All areas are spotlessly clean and modern (apart from our actual hotel room which was in the old Mallorca block - we didn't mind this however, as the room was quite large with a balcony that had 2 chairs and a table, the beds were comfortable and the shower was ok and those were the only reasons we were in there). Maid came every day. The only gripe I've got and I was expecting it anyway was the complete lack of a vegetarian option at meal times. At first I enjoyed the delicious salads but I found I craved other flavours so then decided to look at the soup options, I first tried the "Courgette Cream" which to my surprise was a red/orange colour, but was delicious, the next day Courgette Cream was on again however it looked totally different and definitely more what you would expect courgette soup to look like - that was ok but it made me wonder what I had actually eaten the day before, to my excitement, towards the end of the week Tomato was on but it looked and tasted nothing like it, someone could have put 1 stock cube in 10 litres water to get the same effect. I then started making up my own sandwiches from the hamburger buns which are left out at snack times and then having the one and only other option which was plain pasta and "tomato sauce" or passata as it was. Anyway I never went hungry especially as chips were always on offer and the desserts were delicious. One other thing, I didn't really get a cup of tea or coffee to my taste so would recommend taking your own tea bags. Coach transfer did take 2 hours and that's not great it you've been up since the early hours of the morning but we only had to wait about 15 minutes at the airport before we set off and it is a way of seeing all the other locations and hotels. Evening entertainment was ok but main show didn't start until about 10pm after the kids stuff and the bingo. There were a lot of English staying there, mainly couples and a few families but the majority of guests were Spanish families, the teenagers were a bit of nuisance on a couple of occassions speaking very loudly all at the same time at 2am but didn't appear to actually be going to their rooms but just hanging around outside. The one thing I loved above everything else was the ability to get sun loungers and a brolly at almost any time of the day, the pool area is brushed and cleaned every morning and it was usually about 11 ish when people started to turn up

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

we researched and rang the hotel to ensure our booking for pool/sea view was confirmed , only to arrive and at our room to be looking at car park, walked back to reception and was told by the guy no we are not booked for pool/sea view, he wanted another €50.00, adv I was not paying and told him re call to confirm, we were then given a room that had an adjoining room and door that was locked used for families, tiny room , again I went to reception to check out as we were not happy , however lucky for me I have a little spainish and understood every word in spainish he discussed about me to another person on reception beside him, I was completely mortified , I did tell him I can speak spainish and understood everything he said about me to his co worker, it didnt bother him, he was rude to the highest level and should not be working at front desk meeting+greeting guests, please take note hotel manager

Room Tip: try to avoid guy at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had researched extensively and were expecting fairly basic but clean accommodation in a lovely setting. Unfortunately there was a mix up when booking and although we are a family of four only three were expected. The gentleman on reception looked up the paper work and apologised saying he would put an extra bed in the room. Instead of a family room we had a twin room with 4 beds all in a row. It looked like a dormitory and was not at all worth almost 200 euro for two nights. The complex itself is very pleasant with beach access, although the beach is not the best in the area. One pool was empty and some of the public areas need a little tlc. It is a very Spanish resort and the staff were extremely friendly especially to the children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsdabeEstepona, Community Manager at Isdabe Complejo Residencial, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. We regret the inconvenience caused by confusion with the number of people and the reservation made. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed one night on our way home to England. I had booked on the internet last October. On arrival we were told we were in the new building and had a sea view. We had booked a family room and I was expecting the usual cramped shared room with our kids. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. We had two double, inter-connecting rooms. Each had a well-proportioned en-suite shower room with walk-in shower. It was spotlessly clean and modern. The air-conditioning was really good. The beds were very comfortable. We had a fabulous view of the massive shared pool and, just behind it, the sea.

The next morning we had to leave early to catch our fight so we were dismayed when we realised they didn't start serving breakfast until 8.30. However, when we turned up about twenty minutes early the staff let us in to the dining room even though they were still setting up for breakfast and they even offered to give us something to take with us for the journey. Breakfast was fairly basic but it does seem to mainly cater to Spanish clientele so a 'full Engish' would probably be off the menu!

Room Tip: Ask for the new building (18 months old). The rooms are modern and well-designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsdabeEstepona, Community Manager at Isdabe Complejo Residencial, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Three girls on a girly holiday,booked with travel republic. Nice and clean, stayed in a junior suite in the new block, we had a king/super king size bed and sofa bed. Sofa bed was pretty uncomfortable but bearable if you're only staying a few days! Rooms spacious, nice , modern , tastefully decorated bathroom. No balcony but 2patio doors, requested pool/sea view and got it-other alternative was the car park! Pool area nice and clean, never seemed overly crowded. Hotel guests are mainly Spanish families and older people, three British girls really stood out, hotel caters for the Spanish, restaurant and bar staff didn't really appear to speak English but was overwhelmed at how friendly and helpful all the staff were to us. If you're a vegetarian that doesn't eat fish you will struggle. Dinner was was limited and repetitive - salad bar- 2 choices of meat/fish- potatoes- carrots or peas then dessert. The quality was good but if you stay longer than a few days you may want to venture out for food. Breakfast was similar, good quality, but limited. Bear in mind dinner is not until 9pm which we did find a little too late, we were on Half board basis and you do have the option of having breakfast and lunch or breakfast and dinner.
Hotel is about 10min walk from bus stop, good bus service to take you to Marbella €2.05, Puerto Banus etc, but if I came again I would stay a bit closer to where it's all happening!
Area is good location with proximity to Gibraltar, Ronda , Grenada etc, hotel does provide trips to these places but they are reliant on a lot of people signing up for them, so you're better off arranging for yourself.
Wifi available for extra cost for 3days it cost me 12€ per device, was able to use in room, by the pool etc.
in summary, basic, good value, great for a few days .

Room Tip: Ask for pool/sea view in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsdabeEstepona, Community Manager at Isdabe Complejo Residencial, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Our buffet offers a wide variety of hot and cold dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers and you can always find a vegetarian alternative. We hope to see you again.
A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel Isdabe, or what purports to be Hotel Isdabe, is in fact one block of four blocks within Complejo Residencial Isdabe – a residential complex for Spanish senior citizens. You check-in at the main Complejo reception (you can book into the Complejo sector separately if you wish, at a lower rate) then take a short walk through the grounds to the ‘new block’ – and it’s very nice indeed having been completely refurbished recently to quite a high standard for a 3 star hotel, and obviously aimed at the standard tourist trade. The gardens are nice and it’s right on the beach for those that want that type of holiday. The complex is a little hard to find if you don’t know the area and a little bit adrift from bars/restaurants which are about a 10 minute walk away and across the main highway. A car is really essential unless you just want to lay by the pool or on the beach. However there is a bar and shop close by, although nothing special. The complex is midway between Estepona and Marbella

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the block that is Hotel Isdabe not Complejo Residencial which is really a holid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsdabeEstepona, Community Manager at Isdabe Complejo Residencial, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. As you mention our Hotel offers excellent value for price. It's a great place to enjoy a few days of rest and relaxation along the Strait of Gibraltar. Our Hotel is a new building that offers a high standard. We appreciate your feedback. We are looking forward to see you again in Isdabe.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were not given what we were led to believe on the web page. We booked with alpharooms.com and were completely misled. There were two standards of accomodation and we were given the lesser which was falsely interpreted on the alpharooms web page. The place was dilapidated and the room we were given was run down and dirty. The second part of the hotel which we believed we had booked into was completely different, when we challenged the receptionist he informed us that if we wanted to stay there it would cost us more money. This is no way to run a booking agency. In the end we left and forefeited the money and it spoilt our day. Very disappointing. Will never use the complex or alpharooms again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsdabeEstepona, Community Manager at Isdabe Complejo Residencial, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Sandra,

We regret the misunderstanding. As you can see on our website very clearly differentiate both accommodations. No responsibility of the information of third pages. Sorry for the inconvenience. We spent all our wholesalers documentation for them to publish. We recommend a book next time on our website.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isdabe Complejo Residencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isdabe Complejo Residencial

Address: Ctra. Cadiz-Malaga, Km. 168.5 | C/ Del Norte No 2, 29688 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Isdabe Complejo Residencial 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Isdabe Complejo Residencial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isdabe Complejo Residencial Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isdabe Complejo Residencial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.