We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Bahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Bahia to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera de Cadiz, km 159 | Playa El Padron, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The Jazz Brunch is Back!
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent resort hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Kempinski is an excellent five star hotel. I booked a week there in a Deluxe Garden View room (that indeed had a 75% sea view anyway - work that out) and quite unusually I can think of very little to complain about. Indeed, the only comment I would make is that the swimming pools are very cold. Even the one pool that is (allegedly) heated to 26C feels uncomfortably cold to get into. They should address this. The other two pools at 21-24C are icy.
That gripe aside, the property is very well maintained, has lovely sea views and is very clean. I booked through hotels.com snagging a rate that was 40% lower than the best 'special' on the Kempinski website. The rate included breakfast and wifi and on arrival I discovered that valet parking was included too. at GBP185 a night, I think this represents good value.
Much has been said on this site about the breakfast at the Kempinski and it is largely true. It is a wonderful spread of pretty much anything you could possibly want. Nice touches are the fact that you can order a capuccino, latte, espresso at no extra cost rather than filter coffee. The breakfast is served until 11am and if you wished you could have 'brunch' and avoid the need for lunch.
The Pool Bar served good quality snacks and drinks, salads in the EUR15-20 range and sandwiches much the same. Portions were good. Service was mostly good. The grounds of the hotel are its strength - excellent quality sunbeds are available; there are wonderful views of Gibraltar and Morocco and you can walk for miles in each direction on the beach. As some have mentioned the beach is not the best, some large pebbles (think Brighton) but it certainly was not a problem for us. Nextdoor to the Kempinski and a short walk along the beach is the Laguna resort where there is a great selection of restaurants, shops, bars and a swimming pool where the cool people hang out.
The Kempinski spa is being refurbished but looked very nice, treatments eye wateringly expensive with a sports massage around 130 Euro as I recall.
All in all this is a very well run hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a good selection of multi lingual staff. Rooms are spacious and well appointed; the bathrooms are large and well fitted out.
I have stayed at other hotels in the area (Don Carlos, Los Monteros and Melia) and I would certainly rate this hotel above all of those. HIghly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Angus65,

thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your break in Andalusia. Thank you for your candid and detailed review of the hotel. We certainly are looking back to welcoming you again with further improved facilities and services.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    154
    63
    29
    12
See reviews for
150
272
17
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed in the private wing, giving us the best of both worlds.. an apartment within a hotel environment. This didn't include maid service every day (only every 3rd day) or breakfast (but we paid extra for the delicious hotel breakfast each day) but meant that we could prepare baby bottles/food and meals for our children when necessary. Being part of a hotel meant it allowed us to use the hotel's kids club.. which I have to say is THE BEST we have ever come across! Our eldest are 6 and 4 years old and we couldn't keep them out of there meaning we had a wonderfully relaxing holiday (well, apart from looking after our 11 month old)!! The staff in the kids club were constantly engaging the children in fun things to do, ranging from collecting and painting sea shells, parachute games, bouncy castle, swimming pool games and a sports day with races, team games and medals. The restaurants and food was fab.. anything from pool snacks, fresh seafood at the beach restaurant to fine dining (normal 5 star hotel prices apply). You can even arrange for a private dinner by the tower, however instead of this we asked if was ok to use the gazebo there and have a picnic for my partner's birthday which the staff were more than happy to allow. All the staff were more than helpful and always very friendly.. top class service all round. I do have a few moans however..! The apartment's kitchen was not very well equipped, for a family of 5 we only had 2 of everything! The swimming pools were way too cold, meaning the children couldn't stay in for long and none of the adults wanted to go in with them anyway. The lay out of the hotel gardens and pools wasn't very buggy friendly either, with several steps.. this also means it would make navigating around it in a wheelchair very difficult too. Saying that we had a great time and will return for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Julie S,

thank you having chosen our hotel for your holiday with your family. Thank you for your detailed review of all hotel services. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My partner and I decided to have a break in Southern part of Spain. We were looking for a good 5 star hotel. Went trough Trivago, then comments from Tripadvisor, and ended up with Kempinski, Estepona..
My previous experiences with Kempinski had not been very good, but that was approx 5 years ago. And how lucky we were to chose this hotel. From first touch of reservation to leaving the hotel, everything was Excellent.

Hotels's own reservation service: Excellent. They found me the right type of the package to stay in.

Arrival to Hotel: Even it is a few minutes away from City center, it did not feel we were staying outside of Estepona. Taxi from Bus station to hotel took about 5 min, and cost was about Euro 9.
Reception service was outstanding. One particular member of staff, Mr Gerarbo (I am sure I have written name wrong, apologies). He was so professional that he could understand after few words what customer's needs were.Everybody in the reception was very helpful.We had one slight problem with our room (our fault as we had not explain previously what our requirements were ), and Mr Gerarbo sorted it out without fuss. This just proved to us, that Hotel Management really knew in this hotel what they were doing and that reflected to their staff as well.

Room 618, sea View Room:

As we saw 3 different rooms, all facing to Sea side , we realized that all the rooms looks same (they are very good). What was so good about 618 was Bright balcony under the sun. And balconies are not tiny, you could have a small coctail party on these balconies
Room itself was well maintained with housekeeping, Turn down was very well done, bed was excellent, and you can choose the pillows (Hotel has pillow menu) as well, if needed.
Tv was good, and reasonable amount stations. I just hope they would have had more English stations (entertainment side, all News channels were there, CNN, SKy, BBC). As I have used to an idea to have coffee/tea making facilities , this was missing from rooms. I fully understand it is extra income, when people order it to room, but it is part of modern comfortable issues in the hotels.
Lighting by bed was ok, perhaps it could be a bit brighter ( was trying to work on Laptop on bed,)
Bathroom: An excellent Bathroom, separate shower and bath (and toilet had it is own door). Bath was nice and spacious. This hotel really has invested to Bathrooms.All amenities first Class.Slippers and Bathrobes were supplied as well.Several towels available in the bathroom.

We ordered Iron and ironing board. Very good, not a cheap iron you could easily burn your shirt

Restaurants/Bar:

We visited Fish restaurant. It was ok. Service was very friendly, and food average (sorry). We missed their Steak restaurant which looked beautiful and I have heard it is very good. As my partner is Vegetarian(fish ok), needed to miss it on this visit

Breakfast: what ever you do, make sure you book your room with Breakfast. It was one of the best Breakfast Buffet services I have had. Selection was fabulous, ingredients fresh,and service was very good. if you like a good breakfast, don't miss this.Again credits to Managements who have realized how important a good breakfast is Well done Kempinski

Bar: Service was good, but I felt is was missing a" feeling". Five star hotels can have some great Bars, where you want to have an Aperative before your Dinner, or Night Cap before you go back to room,or just nice drink , coffee, pastries etc but this felt like Bar which have been set in the lobby because they had to have one.

Pool: Fabulous, and again staff so well trained and Friendly. Congratulations. And it had several sun beds and you did not feel like a sardine. Nice, spacious area!

Spa: I only used the GYm/Dry Sauna/Steam sauna, and again: Congratulations. It is new, fresh and it was a pleasure to go to Gym every morning.Selection of Equipment were very well thought. This Gym should be an example to any five star hotel how to build gym to hotel
Sauna and Steam rooms were very clean and well maintained (new as well). Both Dry Sauna and Steam Room were very spacious. And again: Congratulations to Kermpinski!

Over all , one of the top Hotels on our List. I always thought smaller hotels, and smaller, individual hotel chains are capable to supply this standard (like COMO), but Kempisnki has surprised me. And it is also thanks to Management. If managements fails, staff fails. Here they have succeeded and so have Staff as well. I had a feeling in this hotel that their motto was: Customer Happiness is our Success!
Thank you

Jussi and Ian

Room Tip: Worth to invest to Sea View room. But if you need to be more careful with your spending, Garden room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Jussi and Ian,

thank your for your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Bahía in Andalucía and for your detailed comments. It was a pleasure to read about your experiences at our Hotel.
Thank you for having enjoyed our services and offerings and for sharing your impressions. We are pleased that we could make your stay a memorable experience and looking forward welcoming you back soon. Again, thanks for your nice feedback and all your comments.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just got home from Spain and my favorite hotel Kempinski Bahia Estepona partly leisure and partly business trip. As usual service was impecable, weather was a bit hit and miss with chilly wind but still had a wonderful time.

There have been quite a few changes since September, new director, changes to the restaurants and menu's, for me it was better food and there is a new menu opening in June, completely italian. So now there is a designated fish restaurant with beautiful fish, a steakhouse a la carte with fantastic dishes and we have yet to try the new italian. I am going back with my family in June so will update any other new changes. Oh forgot to mention even the pool bar restaurant has changed it's menu and the food is more generous and mor tasty.

Cant wait to go back for family break for 11 nights.

Our only downfall on this short 5 night trip was Britsh airways flight Gibralter. Going was great if a little long at 3 hours due to route. Coming home was a nightmare and our flight due to go at 1.30pm was delayed. In the end we were put on a coach to Malaga and flight left at 6.30pm. Although we had paid for Europe Business class we were not given any special treatment or refreshments at all. Although we were told the problems were due to the wind, Easy jet and Monnarch flights landed and took off as normal. British airways later flight to Gib also arrived at Heathrow before us. Not sure what they were playing at but who knows.

Anyway hope BA takes us to GIb and on to my favorite hotel on time next month, don't want to miss a minute of my holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, this time we had a full sea view room, if I'm honest the noise with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear TrudieCamberley,

thank your for your recent stay in May and for your good comments on our restaurant and menu changes. We are very pleased that we could convince you of our new offerings and services. Your feedback about your stay is greatly appreciated and will be shared accordingly.
Thank you for your loyalty and for being our guest. We are looking forward welcoming you back with your family in June.

Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Poli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a very pleasant experience. Excellent service from checking in,fabulous room. This hotel is a must. Beautiful gardens and pool areas. We have eaten a superb meal in the steak restaurant which was top quality with excellent staff. Lunch at the pool Bar is worth a mention Delicious caesar salad with friendly staff. Cannot thank the reception staff enough especially Jean-Marc Poli .This is a top class hotel in Spain, we will be recommending to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear sally D,

thank you for your nice feedback and for having stayed with us.
It's a pleasure to read your comments about the restaurant offerings, the hotel facilities and our staff. Your comments will be shared with all concerned.
Again, thank you very much for having enjoyed your stay and for sharing your experience.
We are looking forward welcoming you back during your next trip to Estepona.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed for a week in this beautiful hotel and found it absolutely perfect! The swimming pools are brilliant as the different levels give the opportunity to always find chairs available. The food was amazing - the best restaurant by far. Snacks and drinks around the pool were just as good. Location is great as the town is quite close and the staff are just so friendly. All in all perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Azsam1

thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Estepona, Costa del Sol, in Andalucía. We are happy that your stay did meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback on our employees. Thank you very much for enjoying our offerings, services and hotel facilities.
Looking forward welcoming you back soon to Kempinski Hotel Bahía.

Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Poli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

best hotel I have stayed in Spain
Beautiful grounds, nice swimming pool, friendly staff (Especially Christina in Reception and the kids club staff), elegant and spacious rooms.
only negative point I can mention is the beach its not as clean as I expected I think it might be a public beach and not owned by the hotel.
But over all loved the time we spent.
{ Must visit the Selo zoo cross the road (5 mints by card) our kids loved it, with the safari trip and the animal feeding, there is even a zip line ride, well worth it}

Room Tip: I chose a garden view, but I had a partial sea view (Bonus) , very quite and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Saif-UK,

thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your family trip to Andalusia.
Thank you for having enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Your comments on our staff are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the concerned.
The beaches in Andalusia are all public beaches. In this case we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Looking forward to welcome you and your family back!

Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Poli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bahia

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, km 159 | Playa El Padron, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#2 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bahia 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short drive from Marbella, the Kempinski Hotel Bahia is a lavish, five-star property sitting within breathtaking subtropical gardens, and affords extraordinary views of the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and African Coastline. The Kempinski Hotel Bahia has created a fresh and elegant look to its 128 spacious rooms and 17 luxurious suites. It boasts a host of fabulous restaurants and bars (some seasonal), Kempinski Spa with sauna and steam room, and excellent children's facilities, amongst other things. Situated near most Andalusian cities and a mere 45 min. Drive to Malaga International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Resort Bahia Estepona
Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.