We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Authentic, Upscale Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Urb. Monte Biaritz 1, Estepona, Spain
952-886-078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 323 Restaurants in Estepona
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent, Authentic, Upscale Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We found this little gem right across the busy highway from the Marriott Playa Anduluza where we were staying. In fact, we were able to walk from the Marriott to the elevated crosswalk over the highway to the front door of the restaurant in just five minutes.

The first night we walked in, we were greeted by the owner with a warm "Buona Serra" We later learned that he used to own a restaurant in Dusseldorf and decided the climate was a little better in Estepona.

Our server was Graciella, who was charming and refined. My wife and I both selected veal dishes with a bottle of Chianti and a chocolate souffle. It was an outstanding meal although the price was a little on the high side for the area. During our dinner we noticed the owner finishing the preparation of a pasta dish with truffle sauce and lots of cheese in a hollowed out cheese wheel. That meant a return trip a few nights later.

We learned the pasta dish was Fini Fini and we ordered that along with a veal and mushroom dish and a bottle of Rioja during our second evening there. The pasta did not disappoint, nor did the veal. It was a bit more crowded that night and the staff was stretched a little bit, but the service was still excellent.

Overall we loved the genuine Italian food and the warmth and friendliness of the staff.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Fini-fini (speciality starter) was overpriced and not value for money Main courses were very nice but the wines were expensive. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Main disappointment was that no free drinks were offered at bill payment time. Most other restaurants in the area offered limoncello or pasheran.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Capannina: fine food, relaxed dining, a meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We've been dining at Capannina for 4 years ( we too are timeshare people from the nearby Marriott resort ). We know well the people & the food as we like another reviewer, eat here several times during a visit. Capannina is a casual dining restaurant with fine dining food. Service is prompt and attentive. The chef is skilled and personable, often taking orders himself & answering questions. If you're in a hurry, say so as they will push you in and out. Want to linger? Tell them & your night will move at a casual pace as they slow down the food.

The menu is wide & varied offering seafood to meats as well as pastas and pizza. Prices will vary according to how far up the food chain you climb. Above all things, the ingredients are always fresh, perfectly cooked, and nicely presented. Be sure to scan for the specials when chef serves lobster in a half shell with pasta or a mini lamb rack ( both my wife's favorites ). Food portions in our opinion are just right . . . not to large, not too small and we reccomend getting an appetizer as it will add to your tasting experience and you'll still have room for desert. And yes, the deserts are all very tasty. A night at Capanninas can be what ever sort of dining experience you want to make your evening. Prices are moderately high, but when you taste the food & take in the atmosphere I think you'll agree that you receive a solid dining experience. I highly reccomend that anyone visiting in the vicinity of Estepona or Marbella consider a visit to Capannina.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bland & over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Were recommended this Italian by the nearby Marriott Playa Andaluza. Nice atmosphere but disapointed by the quality of the food. The complimentary breads were dry and tasteless. My tomato soup arrived way too quickly and although the bowl was reasonably hot to touch the soup itself was lukewarm - clearly a sign of it having been microwaved! We had 2 different pizzas and 2 diferent pastas. The pizzas were rather bland and not really up to our expectations - we felt we've had better pizzas at cheaper and less authentic type of places. The pastas were just ok - nothing spectacular to be honest. We had cheesecake for dessert - very nicely presented but tasted more eggy than cheesecakey. Final sting was when i was presented the bill - waiteress gave me the choice of paying in Euros or GB Pound Sterling - I chose the Euro as you lose out by paying in pounds. Waiteress clearly understood my preference. However, after she handed me the payment slip I noticed the transaction had in fact been done in pounds. i was annoyed but decided to leave it at that and left. Wouldn't really recommend this place either for the food or for value for money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Walking distance from the Marriott in Estepona, La Capannina was a pure treasure. The food was excellent - from well prepared delicious salads to unusual pastas to superb meats. We ate here 2 days out of 7 and truly enjoyed the experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Capannina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.