We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, quiet and very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacDonald Villacana Resort

Save Saved
You added MacDonald Villacana Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacDonald Villacana Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra de Cadiz 165/166, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Estepona
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, quiet and very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We exchanged into Villicana through club la costa and weren't dissapointed. We were given a 3 bedroomed town house opposite the smaller pool, halfway down on the North side. The grounds of the resort are beautiful, full of colourful and beautifully kept borders etc. Our townhouse had a private outdoor area with seating, loungers and buit in BBQ (which we used on 2 occasions). The ground floor consisted of an open plan kitchen area, dining area and seating area with lots of storage. The second floor consisted of our double bedroom, which was huge, with an ensuite bathroom. The third floor had the two twin rooms and the additional bathroom. The appartment was immaculate and well equipped. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We didnt use the small pool outside our appartment, mainly due to the selfish quests (who despite MacDonald notices saying not to leave towels 'reserving' sunbeds as they would be removed, which they weren't!) who almost filled all of the beds routinely in the morning before the pool opened with their towels! However we actually preferred the larger pool further down the complex which had the sauna, steam room, indoor pool and larger outdoor pool with small jacuzzi. Lots of sunbeds and parasoles and really helpful pool guy.

We hired a car and had no problem getting around, visiting many places during the week we stayed. Definately recommend a car if staying in this resort as supermarkets etc would be a pain with public transport or taxi's. Had read peoples issues with road noise and can honestly say it didnt bother us in the slightest, all of the resorts are based off of the main road and therefore are always going to have some element of road noise.

Would recommend visiting the smaller beach in Estepona which is within a cove and has a shallower and calmer waters edge, the beach is just past the marina at Estepona, driving through a big car park area or drive out through Estepona and head in from the other end. The restaurant on the beach on the East side was excellent, cant recommend their mixed fried fish enough!!

We deliberately went out of season with 16yr old and 20yr old and 70yr old granny and loved the fact it was quieter.

Room Tip: We were located in a three storey town house, which was beautiful and very roomy for our group of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erith, Kent
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We exchanged into Villacana through Dial an Exchange and having stayed there before we knew what to expect. The resort is beautiful but although it is across the road from the local village (Cancelada which has a couple of nice restaurants) there aren't may other bars or things to do in the immediate vicinity. We did go down to Villacana South most nights as there was free wifi down there (Villacana charge €20 a week!) and we ate at 90 Degrees and the Aztec bars there.

Happy hour at Villacana was from 5-6pm which to me was a bit early as it seemed that most people then didn't go back to the restaurant. We only ate there twice during our week and very few people made use of it, even though the food was good. On one night we came back from the South part at around 10.30pm and there was a singer on stage at the Rincon de Villacana restaurant and only two people sitting at a table about 30ft away from her. It must've been very disappointing for the artist.

Villacana is a lovely resort with lots to offer if all you want to do is relax by the pool, there is a gym and tennis courts and a small pool which is unheated. The indoor pool is very nice but very under used when we were there.

We would go back again as we like the style of the resort but some of the apartments are very tired and in need of some redecoration. Our apartment in particular was very dark and the bedroom window opened onto a pathway but the shutters wouldnt open wide enough to get some light and air in.

Electricity is charged by the unit and we decided we wouldn't use the air con because that would add to the costs. At the end of the week we were charge €4.50 standing charge and €14.50 in charges which was good (we'd heard of people spending two weeks in an apartment with 4 people and because they used the aircon and lots of hot water, they got charged €300!

There are several beach chirringuitos in the area, to the right of the beach is Heaven with day beds and music (not cheap but very good!) and to the left we found Paco's which was a very nice place to sit and watch the world go by.

Overall, we had a wonderful time at Villacan and it made for a great base to visit other places along the coast and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: There are no apartments with sea views as far as I know, the one we had faced into the internal path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Its our 2nd visit here.
High standard appartment with well kept grounds. Ideal for a relaxing holiday.

Close to Marbella and Puerto Banus.

Only downside if you want more than what the local shop can provide its a healthy 20min hike to the local supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had gone with my family & friends to this Apartment hotel in May 2013. The apartments were good, though small. The biggest drawback was there was only 1 bathroom in a 2 bedroom apartment which sleeps 6 people. Also there is a problem with hot water. If 2 or 3 people takes bath, then the others get cold water. The swimming pools in the Hotel are good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish borders
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the North side of the complex & the apartment was excellent.
Plenty of room & even the sofa bed was very comfortable. Great shower, good kitchen & all the British TV channels.
The Gym which you access by walking across the tennis courts is very good & I used this most mornings.
Pool area is nice & relaxed. The girls on the bar are most friendly & helpful. Food is ok at the pool for a lunchtime snack but I would suggest a trip over the bridge to the village as there are two or three very nice restaurants up there.
You need a car. The best supermarket was 10 minutes along the road at Estepona & is right next to the big beach there too.
Would most definately go again..

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room & the patio was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a lovely family holiday here, we stayed in a two bedroom townhouse. The resort has beautiful gardens, some nice swimming pools, a good range of activities and extends down to the beach. The townhouse was very Spanish in style with dark furniture and shutters on windows etc. The kitchen was a good size and well equipped (no washing machine), we made use of the pull down bed in the living room (which pulls down from a unit all made up!) and we had a small roof terrace. The furnishings were in good repair and very clean. The only drawback is the position, whilst the resort is in a small village it is around 10km from Estapona, there are bus stops outside the resort but I would recommend your own car. We had a great time and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in the North part of the resort, our apartment had no road noise a lovely private walled garden with BBQ which we used. The pool here is very friendly has a lovely bar area, great for snacks, there was a problem with the loungers the first week but they replaced them all and after that the was plenty to go around same too with umbrellas.
The south part is nice too but when you are in the north part you can use all the facilities of north and south we would stay at either. We enjoyed the beach bar but the beach itself it a little stony so we walked further along to Heaven beach bar and really enjoyed it there. We met lots of lovely people and hope to return at some point for another holiday. We booked a one bed the only change would be if we could have had a double bed, as the twin beds are a little uncomfortable. The gardens and grounds of the resort are fantastic and make the whole place very beautiful, the grounds are also very clean. The staff at Bar Rinicon were very good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MacDonald Villacana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDonald Villacana Resort

Address: Ctra de Cadiz 165/166, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#5 Family Hotel in Estepona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — MacDonald Villacana Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your MacDonald Villacana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
MacDonald Villacana Resort Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacDonald Villacana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.