We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacDonald Villacana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MacDonald Villacana Resort to your Saves list
MacDonald Villacana Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra de Cadiz 165/166, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just got back today from this resort had a great time the hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. As other reviews have mentioned the resort is near a main road but the noise is minimal and does'nt disturb at all.The on site site restaurant is okay but if you walk towards the beach there is a bar called 90 miles the service is fantastic, the food is good and the staff all extremely friendly fantastic atmosphere there is also a few good restarants over the foot bridge in cancelda. we didnt hire a car(we were there for 2 weeks) there is a great bus service right outside the hotel. The only complaint i could have is that the beds are a bit hard but we asked reception for a softer mattress and problem solved.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a lovely week in the MacDoald Villacana resort in August 2011. We had a two bedroomed apartment, set on one floor, with a huge patio area. The whole place is beautiful. You will need a car though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is our second timeshare trade at a McDonald resort, the other being Dona Lola just up the road in Malaga. Villacana is an absolute gem. We had a 2 bedroom suite, more of a townhouse really on two floors. It is very beautifully furnished and maintained. Outside we have a walled patio complete with barbeque, table and chairs, all covered by a flowering trellis. Absolutely gorgeous. I think there has been comment in other reviews about the timeshare units being near the road and a road noise issue. We did not find this an issue at all. Yes, you can hear the road off in the distance but every resort between Barcelona and Gibraltar borders the A7 so everyone hears it. We did not try the onsite restaurants (3) or the 6 pools cause its not quite summer heat yet but the grounds are beautifully manicured and the whole setup is absolutely first class.

We did cross the A7 on the pedestrian overpass which is about 100 yards from Reception and we found a whole slew of restaurants about 200 yards north of the road in a little local village. They cater to the resort crowd and we had no trouble finding good food.

If you are approaching by car from Malaga you may find crossing the A7 to be a little weird. When you exit the highway you end up going under a bridge and the road under the bridge is in bad shape, probably washed out some time ago. Just keep going and on the other side you will pick a proper smooth surface back to the resort.

Room Tip: We were in unit 40 which was excellent and I am sure that all the units are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The resort is a beautiful resort and provides a great escape from the distraction of everyday life. If you are looking for a place to unplug, this is it. The beach was within walking distance, the 90 mile Bar and Restaurant was nice and had great friendly people that worked there. Staff were very helpful and even helped me to rent a car, which came to the resort.

Only downfall is that to get wifi you have to go to the Rincon Restaurant. Also if you are coming to this country buy an outlet converter because American plugs don't work in the room. We eventually bought a converter in the shops in Gibraltar but the ones sold at the onsite grocery store don't work.

Overall I would stay here again because of its peaceful quality.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed for first week in March. Weather was ok the complex was clean and tidy . Staff were very helpful . Enjoyed our stay three teenage kids had lots to do.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice quiet resort and if you cross the footbridge yo reach a lovely village with a few good bars and Restaurants.
there is also the rinicon on the resort which is nice and not expensive.
I also agree with the last reviewer that YOU AVOID the beach bar called upper deck
it seems to attract lots of drunken english who watch the sports on tv,the guy who runs it appears to be irish and seemed ok, it was his wife that lets the place down, she is so rude (she is english ) and the food is sub standard and my wife felt ill after eating here,so avoid this place and take the short walk over the bridge and try the local spanish quality food and Hospitality. or take a drive and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here last week and had a great week, on site rep is fantastic she not only is very nice, but her knowledge of the area is brilliant, Lisa reece is a name to look out for, she looked after me like a sister. There are some lovely resturants nearby. Just avoid the upper deck on the beach, it's food is terrible and owners wife is a miserable cow, avoid this one as you have plenty of choice in the area The las postada is lovely and food is great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacDonald Villacana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDonald Villacana Resort

Address: Ctra de Cadiz 165/166, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#4 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MacDonald Villacana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your MacDonald Villacana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
MacDonald Villacana Resort Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacDonald Villacana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.