We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens in the sun!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacDonald Villacana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MacDonald Villacana Resort to your Saves list
MacDonald Villacana Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra de Cadiz 165/166, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Solihull, UK
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens in the sun!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the Villacana resort of MacDonalds for a week in August 2011. This was our first visit to the resort. The resort is situated to the east of Estepona, on the coast side of the busy N340/A7. There are 2 resorts called Villacana, the other situated between the MacDonalds resort and the public beach is also called Villacana. In some respects the resort is quite isolated. The village of Cancelada is across the highways, some ten minutes walk away, Estepona itself is about 8 kms away and Marbella some 21 kms. Malaga is 72 kms away. There are few local shops and the nearest tourist attraction is the Selwo Animal Adventure Park.
We were accommodated in a 2 Bed/1 Bath apartment in the middle of a 3 storey block in the middle of the complex. Reception is at the front of the complex with an adjacent small childrens playground. The complex itself is long and thin in shape stretching about half a mile from front to back but only 50 yards across. Access is down and single road that connects the Reception Car Park to the car park by the Tennis Courts; a single pathway at the rear of the larger Units that have a courtyard each leading out onto this pathway and an internal passageway to which all Units have access. This is formed into a charming series of interlocking courtyards, with balconies, staircases, fountains, tiled features and an abundance of flowers and trees. These pathways all lead down to the large entertainments area that features a grass sunbathing area, irregular pool, indoor plunge pool, covered bar and seating area and, on a balcony, the complex restaurant. There is then access to the Tennis Courts and the Gym. There is a smaller quieter Pool in the centre of the complex. The complex also has a small supermarket.
The Reception area at the front of the resort is pleasant, with a coffee vending machine and a snack vendor. Also a Book exchange and a DVD library. There is a single computer giving internet access at 8 euros for 2 hours. Though the speed was a little slow – it was more than adequate.
Our apartment with marble floors throughout had a cool contemporary feel. It featured a lounge, perhaps 6m x 4m with 2 windows, 3 seater sofa bed, a 2 seater sofa, dining table for 6 and large coffee table. Also a side table and large glass doored cupboard. The 32” flat screen TV had a DVD player in the unit below. Drapes were heavy and had a good black-out effect. All windows to the balconies had glass sliding doors, with outer sliding louvre doors.
The lounge had an integral lobby/hall area from which it was possible to access the kitchen – essentially a galley style with dishwasher, cooker, fridge/freezer and microwave and ample cupboards and work surfaces. Plenty of pots, pans and utensils and cutlery. Also off the lobby was a bathroom, 2m x 3m, with shower over the bath, wash unit, toilet and bidet and door out to a balcony. This had an interconnecting door to the bedroom, with 2 single beds and 2 wardrobes plus a table as a dressing table with chair. On window out to a balcony. There was a utility cupboard off the lobby area with equipment including an umberella.
Each person has a hand towel and bath towel provided (changed once in the week) and Beach Towel (for the week).
There is a safe in one wardrobe (key from Reception).
The general state of the decoration is excellent.

The servicing was done on Tuesday. It was early in the morning so we were there. It took 15 minutes and focused mainly on the Bathroom – it was well done. Changed bed linen was crisp and well pressed.
Sunbathing around the Pools can be a bit of a challenge – the main pool attracts the children – they have their own host, but this Pool is used throughout the day, as the pool is large, there is a large grassed area, there are lots of sun loungers, it is next to the Bar and snack outlet and there is a small indoor pool, used everyday for childrens volleyball at 1600. There was, despite advice in every pool area, the constant towels on sunbeds problem. The other Pool which, in the main, is much quieter, starts to go into shade from about 1400 each day.
The reception is staffed throughout the day and staff were knowledgeable and helpful, check-in and check-out was quick and easy, leisure staff were not particularly noticeable. We hired a car and went to Gibraltar, Ronda, Marbella, Puerto Banus Casares and Mijas. There's a very good bus service into Estepona (west) and Marbella, Puerto Banus etc (east). The bus stop going west is just outside reception and the east bound bus stop is just across the road in Cancelada. I think it's the Portillo bus company and they're very punctual and operate every 22 mins. It's possible to use public transport from Malaga airport (train to Fuengirola,bus to Marbella, connecting bus to Estepona).

There's some entertainment in the evenings: quiz nights, karaoke, bbq, singers (Elvis Presley tribute and Meatloaf tribute) and a visits from snakes and Parrots for the kids.
One little dwnside, there is little local shopping around within walking distance and the supermarket has limited stock so if you are self catering you need to plan your shopping!!!!

Villacana is good resort – try it – you’ll like it, clearly many people return time after time – we met one owner that has been coming for 25 years, and the well stocked owners garden suggests that owners respect the resort.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have just returned from villacana club. We were confussed when we arrived as the pool and beach on the website is part of a larger resort and a 5 min walk from the MacDonald part, the pool in the MacDonalds area is not even on the website. We were also disappointed in the lack of restaurant as we have been to the Dons Lola site which had better and more options. Saying all that the kids loved it. The kids club was very good and everyone one very friendly, the site was very well looked after and very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Unfortunately we arrived at the Villicana after a week at the impressive Marriott Anduluza 3 kms away. The difference was astounding. First off we were charged 30 Euro to hook up to the internet - not even in the room but only available at the restaurant. In the restaurant the only outlets available were both outdoors. I was stuck in the corner of the restaurant on the band stand where you needed a chair to stand on to plug it in and the other was in a main walkway. Obviously this hotel does not cater to business or young travelers interested in being connected to the outside world. These days internet is a basic service at most resorts.
Bring your wallet for the nickel and dime charges such as fees for playing tennis (5 Euro), 8.50 Euro for a small load of wash, and get this a charge for the electricity during your stay. What a way to enjoy your holiday. Every time you flip a switch, cook, or charge any electrical appliance you can’t help but think what it’s all costing you. Almost forgot - bring your own soap or you need to buy some at the local market – no joke. The measly 1 bar of postage stamp size soap evaporated in 1 day and when my wife requested additional soap on the 2nd day she was told that she had to buy her own supply. Bottom line - not providing such a basic service is unacceptable.
To be fair and balanced – the grounds were beautifully landscaped, maintenance guys were omnipresent and it was very tidy.
In summary, not what I call a care-free, kick-back and let-your-hair-down kind of environment.
Thankfully there were so many things to see and do outside the resort to distract you from the draconian atmosphere of the Villicana. It makes you wonder what business school the owners/management of this resort attended, if any.

Room Tip: aAsk up front for all costs and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We arrived at about 2.30pm and were delighted that our 3 bed townhouse was ready (Don Pietro 45). Downstairs was a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, toilet and living room (pull out bed) with doors leading into a tiled enclosed terrace. Upstairs is a large double bedroom with lots of cupboards and wardrobes and a bathroom. Up another flight of stairs to two twin rooms - again with lots of wardrobes- a bathroom, a utility area (with cupboards, sink and fridge) and a balcony. Two families would have enough space here. The sofa's are a bit dated but otherwise the house is lovely. The kitchen has everything and there's a bbq we used several times in the little back garden/terrace. The only thing I would worry about with this townhouse is the two sets of marble stairs - if you have small children you would have to hold their hand every time they used the stairs, they are sharp edged. Maid service was Tuesdays and Fridays and their service was excellent, we didn't see any cockroaches, even outside, despite the heat.

We hired a car and went to Gibralter, Ronda, Marbella, Puerto Banus and Mijas which I'd recommend. Benahavis is also beautiful, only a few miles away on a scenic road and has gorgeous little tapas bars that are unbelievably cheap, but park just before the first building on the way in and walk (the roads in Benahavis are like paths). If you don't hire a car there's a very good bus service into Estepona (west) and Marbella, Puerto Banus etc (east). The bus stop going west is just outside reception and the east bound bus stop is just across the road in Cancelada. I think it's the Portillo bus company and they're very punctual and operate every 22 mins. It's possible to use public transport from Malaga airport (bus to Marbella, connecting bus to Estepona).

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful, there's some entertainment in the evenings: quiz nights, karaoke, bbq, singers and a kids club. The neighbouring towns have lovely street markets (info is in the book on the coffee table). The beach is a few minutes walk away.

Overall we had a fantastic time and I hope we'll return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacDonald Villacana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDonald Villacana Resort

Address: Ctra de Cadiz 165/166, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#4 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MacDonald Villacana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your MacDonald Villacana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
MacDonald Villacana Resort Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacDonald Villacana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.