We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at Home at Hotel Piedra Paloma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piedra Paloma

Hotel Piedra Paloma
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piedra Paloma to your Saves list
Hotel Piedra Paloma
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. N-340, Km. 148, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Manilva, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feeling at Home at Hotel Piedra Paloma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at Hotel Piedra Paloma in lovely and idyllic Estepona. I stayed longer than a regular traveler since I am preparing to move into a new residence in Manilva, situated just a few miles away.

What impressed me while making me feel very much at home was that I was treated like a member of the family. Warmth was the prevalent attitude. The hotel is family run with brothers Gaby and Antonio mainstays of the operation. Whenever I needed advice of any kind these highly knowledgeable, ever friendly young men were there to assist. They aided me enormously since I am transitioning myself to live in the area. Hence the quicker I could be brought up to speed the better.

I also loved the great breakfasts that the family members prepared and served. The father of the family did a good job of preparing the food and supervising the kitchen. There is nothing like a good breakfast to get the day launched.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
4
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for its location: mid- way between Estepona and Sabanillas/Duquesa. Rooms were basic but clean and tidy. My bedside lamp didn't work and there were no glasses or plastic cups left in the bathroom to use. The breakfast menu looked varied but we were offered only a very limited choice and had to sit in the bar to eat it. However, it was fresh and tasty and the family team of two brothers and their mum tried very hard to ensure everything was to our liking. They were very friendly and caring - especially as we found the bar area closed at only 9 pm. They explained that the bar was only open for breakfast and up to 12 noon! When we insisted we have at least a coffee and brandy as our ' nightcap ', Mum relented and did us proud! If you want a quirky stop over with unusual catering and don't mind a lack of fans or air- con in the public areas during a hot summer, then give it a try. We thought the whole experience was a delight!

Room Tip: Our first floor room 111had a balcony and sea view. The double glazing kept out the road traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have NOT stopped here, but I pass it every day on the way to and from work. What the reviewers surpringly omit to say is that it is within twenty metres of the busy four-lane highway between Estepona and Gibraltar/Algeciras. To get to the beach on foot it is necessary to use the nearby footbridge. As the hotel is 50 metres from a roundabout, trucks and other vehicles are constantly breaking for the roundabout and then accelerating away from it. All that separates the bedrooms from the road is the narrow parking strip of the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was due to stay in a friend's apartment nearby, but it was unavailable for the first couple of days,so I booked into this hotel. It was off season, so very quiet and the restaurant was not open apart from breakfast. The staff were very friendly/helpful, the room was what one would expect, and the breakfast was acceptable. There is a reasonable Italian restaurant within walking distance. This is certainly not a destination hotel, but for Bed and Breakfast on the way to Gibraltar, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

given the area, price was fine. got a decent nights sleep in a clean room. nothing special but certainly acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed in this hotel one night on a trip in Spain on the way to Gibraltar. We did not have a reservation, and just walked in. I know it was out of season (and a Sunday afternoon) in this area of the Costa Del Sol, but this place was a little depressing, with us being the only guests in this hotel, and the front desk not speaking English at all. There was only one restaurant in the immediate area.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piedra Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piedra Paloma

Address: Ctra. N-340, Km. 148, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Piedra Paloma 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piedra Paloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piedra Paloma Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piedra Paloma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.