We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera de Cadiz 165, Calle Hinojo | Urbanizacion Bel Air- Estepona Malaga, 29680 Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The property and the accommodation could not be faulted although we found the resort a little difficult to find. The room was comfortable and spacious with a nice quiet balcony and fully equipped for our stay. Breakfast was included in the room rate which we booked and was very good. On the minus side it was sometimes difficult to get a drink as the bars were not opened, however, like many other guests we had our room fridge stocked up with drinks bought from the nearby Mercadona supermarket, so not a major problem. Internet was extra, but again not a problem for us as we'd booked a holiday away from it all and we may as well have stayed at home if we wished to be on the internet all day! The staff were very helpful and I'd certainly book to stay again, car is essential though to get out and about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    163
    85
    38
    22
See reviews for
215
75
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

as other reviewers have stated you do need a car when you stay here as it is a fair way from anywhere interesting , most of the staff are helpful especially the young man who sorted my hire car (nothing was too much trouble), but some speak very little english which can be difficult .but the main gripe is you get very little included in the price you pay , the spa is extra and expensive , the internet is paid on a meter 2 euros for 20 minutes ,breakfast is 8 euros , a late departure (which i requested when i booked ) cost 30 euros .apart from these gripes we had an enjoyable stay here as it is a nice hotel . as for the costa del sol forget it ,rubbish beaches and dog poo everywhere yuk .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just got back from P&V Estepona. As a bit of background, we have stayed in this hotel several times before (when it was known as the Caledonia Golf), but this was our first time under the new ownership of Pierre et Vacances. It is very different. We were expecting much the same as before, but now everything is extra and chargeable. The travel cot was €9 a night!!!! (Would have been cheaper to buy one), the safe was €3.50 a night, Wifi was quite a lot too and only worked around the reception area. P&V is owned by Center Parcs and I said to my husband that if we had gone to a Center Parcs resort in the UK we would have expected to pay for these things, but as we had stayed here before we expected them still to be included. So really, it's a case of managing your expectations!
The entertainment during the day was fantastic for the kids. Rocio (in the mini-club) obviously cared about the children and worked very hard to entertain them with arts and crafts, games in and around the pool, mini disco etc. She told us that she was on her own now as the other 2 entertainments staff had finished their seasonal contract. The evenings were very quiet though. Although entertainment was scheduled, not enough people turned up so it never took place. It was also a shame that the hotel bars were closed (in the day and in the evening) so there wasn't anywhere really to sit and enjoy the evenings. The hotel really has some great facilities but they weren't being used and there was minimal staff around, even though it was quite busy (especially over the weekend).
By the way, nobody tried to sell us a timeshare - there was a leaflet in the apartment mentioning it but that was all.
I would go back there - with my own travel cot! It is lovely, clean and relaxing for parents who want their kids to be exhausted by the evenings!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited in July for 10 days. The hotel is lovely, rooms are very clean, beds a bit uncomfortable but ok. The pool area was great the kids loved it very lively always something going on.

I think we were the only English people in the hotel although towards the end of our holiday I think we heard an Irish accent, it is mainly French and Spanish families on their holiday. The hotel seemed half empty which is hard to understand. It is a little bit out of the way so you really need a car as nothing is around the hotel but it is an ideal place to base yourself if you want to explore the Costa del Sol. We visited Estepona port area quite a few times during our holiday, there is a fantastic chinese restaurant at the far end of the port, also a wonderful thai restaurant and an italian all with wonderful views over the harbour.

We will certainly visit this hotel in the future as it is a good base and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Positives first!, lovely looking hotel, pool area great, lots of sunbeds.Comfortable beds, very clean and the maids seem to come in everyday and make your bed. You need a car, but I disagree with one review that says its at the top of a steep hill, its a slight incline. Ten mins walk from the beach. The food wasen't great, it was ok,. The staff were pleasant, but not that friendly, more buisness like. The worst thing was the entertainment in the evening, they put up on screen a video quiz, and it went on for ages, it was sad, because they could have had dancing which would have been great for adults as well as kids. But to sit there watching a big tv was really depressing!! everyone looked fed up. The poor staff just stood there looking bored, as they had nothing to do but hand out the quiz sheets!. What happend to romance!? Anyway, in the day they play games in the pool, and play music, iis quite noisy, I don't mind at all, but if you want quiet, then the pool areas not the place for you! Go to Estapona port, really lovely. I

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights over the Easter Holidays with our 6 year old girl, and to say it was quiet would be an understatement! There were only 5 families and that included us. When we arrived we thought we would be fighting for a sun bed, no chance!! i don't know why this place wasn't full with people getting away for a quick break in the sun, but I can only assume that its the economy at the momemt or that maybe its not that well advertised? This place is now owned by Centre Parcs, (within the last 2 months) and maybe they will market this place better. My girl had the run of the place, with the other 2 children, she also had exclusive use of the girl in Kids Club... Amazing by the way! This place had amazing views, but you definately need a car to get to anything. WiFi is a pain as it doesn't stretch to the appartments, you can only recieve it in the lobby, the drinks are very expensive so buy your own for the supermarket down at the bottom. Overall, a nice relaxing break..... the price was fab off season too..!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop-over for two nights during a car journey through Andalucia. Off-season they offer a very reasonable per night rate and you have a small appartment for the price of a small hotel room closer to or iside the city plus the swimming pool.
The rooms are modern, nicely decorated and clean.
What I did not like was that there was no WiFi at all during our stay. I had to use their PCs operated like vending machines. You have to feed them with Euro coins for ever 10-20 min or so. Quite ridiculous for a 4**** hotel. You have to pay for covered parking space, however, there is also plenty uncovered space for free.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona

Address: Carretera de Cadiz 165, Calle Hinojo | Urbanizacion Bel Air- Estepona Malaga, 29680 Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La residencia moderna con piscina exterior esta al borde de un campo de golf, adosado en la montana. La plaza cuenta con terrazas para tomar algo y restaurantes. Estepona, en la extremidad de la Costa del Sol y sus 21km de playas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Estepona Residence
Pierre & Vacances Estepona Residence Hotel Estepona
Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.