We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your apartment carefully” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villacana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estepona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villacana
Save
You added Villacana to your Saves list
Playa Cancelada, Estepona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Choose your apartment carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went for a week in May and were staying the previous week in another resort so went to check out this complex before we arrived. We could not see the apartment that we were going to stay in as we were told that it was occupied so this in itself was not a problem. However when we arrived we were very disappointed to find a dark dingy and damp smelling apartment on two levels. Outside was a courtyard with an air conditioning unit, a scruffy table and a few chairs and two sunbeds stacked up against the wall. The outside area was a little depressing.
That evening wanted a shower and the water was cold. We noticed that the hot water had been turned off which was poor as the apartment had been occupied the previous week.
I went to reception to express my concern and immediately we were offered a different apartment which was very nice. This had a lovely outside area with a barbecue and a nicely tiled courtyard. This completely changed our view from an extremely negative experience to a positive one.
We only eat once in the resort in the restaurant next to the beach. The food was very good.
The resort itself is next to a main road but no traffic noise as the apartments are well away from the road.
There are a good selection of restaurants over the road.
The gardens are well kept and there are a few outdoor pools. The indoor pool is poor and is very small. The gym is also small and very poor.
In summary, overall a good resort but check which apartment you are getting prior to arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just got back from a short break in Villacana, near Estepona in Spain and we can’t wait to go back.
We found a lovely apartment very spacious for a studio, that has obviously recently been refurbished to a very high standard with a king size bed and a bed settee, stunning shower room. It has a washing machine, microwave/oven grill, hob and a flat screen TV. Bedding and towels were all provided. It was fantastic to have our own private garden with a welcome shaded patio area, the beach and the pools (with safety glass round them) were so close by, easy to pop back and use the facilities of studio, there are several good restaurants and bars on site, we found a beach bar just a stroll up the beautiful beach. There was a shop on site too it is small but had basics plus lovely warm croissants every morning, the village was a 10 minute walk away, and with buses running nearby it was very handy for Marbella, Local buses are great for getting around and only cost 2 euros each way, half hourly service, reception will supply timetables.

.The Price is excellent ring or email ,61nicholson@gmail.com phone no is .... 07544716443

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have just come back from Villacana. Our 2 bedroom one bathroom apartment was on two levels. Very dark inside which means lights have to be turned on and electricity has to be paid separately. For 6 days and just using sparingly lighting, fridge and kettle we paid 22 euros. Our patio/garden was approx 8ft square hardly room to swing a cat let alone house a table, chairs, 2 sun loungers, BBQ and lots of bushes. Doors did not open or shut without making a loud noise (including wardrobe doors) which meant constantly we heard banging all day and night from other apartments. Walls were paper thin so other conversations could be heard. We had swapped one of our timeshare weeks into Villacana (after spending our first week in our own timeshare) Wished we hadn't bothered as our first week was so much better

Room Tip: South of resort is much nicer. If in north get an even number room as they seemed to have larger ro...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My fiance's family have a private apartment here but my parents also have timeshare to come here as well... Having been here 3 years in a row I can't recommend it enough. Fantastic clean resort, clean pools, on the beach and surrounded by some great restaurants. Very relaxed and friendly people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you want a peaceful and relaxing break away from it all then this is the place. It is close enough to estepona (10 minutes by car) and far enough from from the costa resorts to make for a very relaxing time. The apartment we stayed in was on the ground floor that had a very large and private, tiled patio area that was fitted with tables and chairs and a built in barbie. Inside the apartment was fitted out to a high standard, it even had a coffee perculator. The resort is very peaceful with quiet walk ways with fountains and lovely gardens and the smell of jasmine. The staff are friendly and informative. All in all my wife and i had a wonderful break at the villacana club.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor apartment on the west side, they all have a high walled private patio. we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with my parents and sister for 5 days in January. It might be a different resort in the summer, but in the winter, it was completely dead. I don't think we saw another person at the resort the entire time we were there.
Everything was extremely overpriced. 8 Euros per load of laundry. 5 Euros per hour to use the internet on their lobby computer. 10 Euros for 24 hours for wi-fi that can only be used at their restaurant.
The hotel was also hard to get to. It was on the left side of the freeway and so in order to get to it, you have to pass it and turn off on an exit that will take you to the other side of the road. It took us a while to figure it out.
My husband and I lived in Spain for a couple years and this area is not Spanish at all, very touristy.
The units could use updating on the inside.
The jacuzzi shut down at 7 pm. We were disappointed to not get to use it. Seems like an early shut down time.
On the positive side, the kitchens in the rooms were nice. The location to the beach is nice and would be much nicer in the summer.
The grounds were very well upkept and were by far the best part of this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We love Villacana, kids are safe, plenty to do, grounds and gardens immaculate. we had s 4 bed townhouse which is generally well equipped and sized for 6 people.

Villacana is relaxed and low key, staff friendly and helpful, happy to help with queries and information. Foodin restaurant is disappointing and not good value, that would be our only concern. There are better eating alternatives within a ten minute walk.

Weather fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villacana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villacana

Address: Playa Cancelada, Estepona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Estepona
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Villacana Hotel Estepona
Villacana Estepona, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villacana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.