We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casitas Classiques Villacana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa del Sol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casitas Classiques Villacana
Save
You added Casitas Classiques Villacana to your Saves list
Carretera de Cadiz, Km 165 | Playa de la Cancelada, 29680, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #405 of 545 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just had 10 days here and it was a lovely holiday. We had a 3 bed house and it had everything you could possibly need. Beautifully kept gardens and pools. Excellent Bar 90 miles(I think it was called) with a bit of entertainment/karaoke, lovely food and very nice staff. The pool bar too was excellent with good english breakfast if that is what you want and takeway pizza etc. Beach Bar Barraka was lovely too and the restaurant was lovely a la carte with a wonderful menu. All reasonably priced.

You could manage without a car as we did but to be honest it would make life easier if you had one as the on site supermarket was sparse - you could get basics and there were no money changing facilities on site. Walked over the footbridge to Cancelada which is a pretty unspoilt village - this is where you buy your newspaper and there are banks for money changiing - atm; there is a butcher, bakery, greengrocer etc. Went to Bar Heaven Chiringuito along the beach which is very nice too. All in all a good holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment/house around one of the small pools then you can use your own garden furnitu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
estepona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

we stayed in Villacana and it was dirty, cold and full with cockroaches.
The service overal is bad and only intended to take your money.
All promises of, pest control (never came), usage of swimming pools en gym (closed)were not reached.
Internet wifi every day new codes only when you pay.
When I was a few days away found the electricity shot off, the lock changed and was told that could only enter next day after paying energy cost of 240 Eur. ( Paid rent allready till then around 2000,-).
Get my belongings back with assistance of the helpfull local police.
Never again business with Casitas Classiques Sa.
My lawyer is preparing legal acts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our family of 6 stayed in a timeshare apartment. Flew in to Malaga, hire car for the week AND ENJOYED OUR HOLIDAY IN VILLACANA. Heated pools inside and out, sauna, steam room, clean, well-equiped accommodation. Snooker, gym, tennis. BBQ in our own private garden, mid-week refresh for towels and sheets (beds made). Kids never out of the pool, cheap, very well stocked supermarkets nearby. Visited Gibraltar, Ronda, Puerta Banus, Estapona, Benahavis and Mijas. Buy the local fish from Simon the fishman, BBQ with fresh salad in the sunshine. Walk to the local village, Cancelada, across the foot bridge and find Barry the butcher - everything we could have asked for from a family holiday. Proper sangria buy the pool. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Villacana is a well established complex. Casitas Classiques is just a booking agency on the site along with Costa Del Sol holidays. There is also a timeshare complex on the North of the site, most of the reviews are mixed up and listed in the wrong place.

We have been visiting Villacana for over 16 years and really noticed a decline this year, we were here in June this year and are back now in late August. Whilst the gardens and pool areas are well kept the properties themselves do vary. The shop was recently taken over and is now in a very bad state. Hardly any stock, terrible choice of wine on the shelves, no papers sold, veg and fruit looks a mess, it looks as if it is being run into the ground almost on purpose.

We have booked through costa del sol holidays for many years now, Julie is very helpful but the staff on site are not. One particular woman who runs the office is extremely unhelpful to the point of being rude. The property they rent is hit and miss. We are currently staying in Elena 28 and to be honest it is in need of a major refurb, there is damp and paint damage in both bedrooms (we paid a discounted rate of 800 euros for the week) the furniture has seen better days and the bedding and pillows are awful.

The better rentals are usually rented out privately by their owners and are better cared for with nicer furnishings. We usually try to stay by the Elena pool as it is quiet and the properties seem better cared for but to be honest unless you know the propety you are staying in it is a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We booked a villa in Villacana through Casitas Classiques. I was very dissapointed with the accomodation we were offered. When we arrived it was filthy and mouldy smelling. We found cockroaches in the cupboards in the kitchen and in the fridge! as well as upstairs in the utility room. Had to clean the bathrooms ourselves. The sofa and chairs in the living room very dirty - we used the bedspreads from upstairs to cover them. There was no airconditioning or internet access as promised on the website.
Reception service virtually non existent!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtownsend
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

we travelled to villicana in july of this yr & i read every review there was to read about the place. The resort is definately split into two north & south. we stayed in the south but really the north is the place to stay. it definately has a better holiday feeling to it, its friendly & organises kiddies clubs, football for the kids, nightly entertainment. now heres the catch if you are staying in the south which is nearer the beach ( stoney beach ) you cannot use the facilities of the north? BUT the north can use the facilities of the south? which mainly comprises of a couple of bars & a large pool. The pools in the north are allowed inflatables , the south they are forbidden, it is well patrolled with a lifeguard at every pool. You also are not allowed play football down the south near the big pool ( which has a huge green space). this was entertainment every night as the guards were always taking the balls off the kids. My review may sound negative but the place is a very nice complex, so well maintained but as a reviewer has already pointed out the macdonald group in the norths accommodation is fab but many of the apt/hses in the south are privately owned ( ours had no fans or air conditioning ) which is a must in july/aug. we travelled out of the complex every night as the restaurants weren't great on the complex ( snack food) . the ninety mile pub was about the best of the pubs down there with entertainment on certain nights. also be aware if you are travelling from malaga & take the turn off the motorway into the complex you have to go under a bridge & it is a very very bad road. all in all we made the most of our holiday & we invested in some fans so we could sleep at night. I really think they should have the same standards in all the apts / hses & also the same rules....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My family and I visited this resort in July 2010, it is the 6th RCI Gold Crown Resort I have stayed in and it is by far the worst (others included Greece, Mexico, San Diego, New Hampshire, Florida). Here are the positives and negatives are listed below:

POSITIVES
• The grounds are very well manicured. The (crab) grass is very short, the flowers are beautiful, and the walkways are clean
• The 1 BR itself is decent. Not incredibly large, but good enough for 4 people if you had 4 people (we were 3). Although the beds are horrible (very hard) and the appliances are outdated (our DVD player and dishwasher did not work). The beds were so bad that we ended up not sleeping in the beds provided, but in the pull-out couch as it was much more comfortable. It was also very annoying that we were told that the beds were queen size, but in reality are 2 twins
• The 2 pool areas are nice – decent sized and clean. The bad part of the pool was the lack of chairs -- although they post signs not to reserve seats, people head to the pool early and put their towels on reserved locations.
• The beach is about a 15-20 minute walk through another resort (Villacana South). Villacana South is absolutely beautiful, but not part of the RCI exchange.

NEGATIVES
• Location is bad. Nothing is nearby.
• You are nit-picked for everything. Laundry (10 euro), DVD rental (4 euro), tennis courts (there is a charge, but we never played), pool/snooker (1 euro per game), electricity, cleaning, internet (5 euro per hour). I expect a few nominal charges when I am on vacation, but the amount they charge essentially means that you may as well just not exchange here and go somewhere else
• The service is lousy. At the pool you have to search out the waiter for a drink, who is usually watching TV with the bartender in the back room. The quality of the drinks you get depend on which bartender is working and whether you are male or female ordering (i.e., my wife would get very small drinks from the male bartender, while I would get large drinks from both the male and female bartender). Service at the front counter is fine.
• The food is fresh, but bland. I don’t recommend eating here, but the problem is that you are very isolated at this resort. Many neighboring restaurants have closed down, so you need to drive at least 20-30 minutes to find a place to eat. Even the 3 recommended places in Frommer’s were all closed.
• As I said above, the appliances are old. We were there for the 25th anniversary of the resort and it seemed most of the things were originals. The coffee maker was something I used in 1985 and the drying rack for clothes was the exact same one I had in college. The beds were rock hard
• Fitness center was a bit of a joke

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casitas Classiques Villacana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas Classiques Villacana

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, Km 165 | Playa de la Cancelada, 29680, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 545 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Casitas Classiques Villacana Hotel Costa Del Sol
Casitas Classiques Villacana Spain/Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casitas Classiques Villacana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.