We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salty old lot” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Romerijo

Romerijo
Plaza Herreria, 1, 11500 El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
+34 956541254
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Rye, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Salty old lot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stick to the off the shelf prawns and shelf fish. Don,t go for anything fried off of the menu. It will be deep fried, ultra salty and oil soaked. The shrimp tortilla and mixed seafood farily dripped with oil.
The house red wine was okay, the white was horrible.
We will not be bothering again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    148
    141
    73
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never went to similar place before..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Strange hybrid structure : mixed from marketplace and seafood restaurant.
The principle is :
-first choosing raw fish and huge variety of shells and crustaceans including shrimp, prawn, mussels, oysters, barnacle, goosenecks and more..
-then telling staff about your choice. will get in ready within a few minutes.
-go have a seat and order drinks while enjoying appetisers .
-finally : enjoy.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitio de Calahonda, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Fresh Fish Feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Unlike some of the others, we thought the fish was very reasonably priced and the staff perfectly welcoming, friendly and helpful. We bought half a kilo of mixed fish (cod, hake, cuttlefish, whitebait etc) for 9.50eu and the two of us struggled to eat it all along with some( soggy spanish style) fries. Fortunately there is a microwave to warm it up again as it took a long time to eat - it is a LOT of fish and would have easily fed 3 adults with some extra fries.

If you are on a budget - just buy the fish as a takeout - they catch you on the 'extras' ;)

We are Brits living and working in Spain - it seems another reviewer here does not understand the Spanish lunchtime system, where, off-peak and in the country, most ventas shut the kitchens, wash-up and scrub-down between 4pm and 7pm. Welcome to REAL Spain. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great seafood spot-must try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went here with Puerto native friend. Two families together. You buy the pre-cooked seafood by the kilo, then proceed to devour it in their restaurant. Excellent service. The prawns and large shrimp are great. The little shrimp (camarones) were excellent-simply boiled, but the small shrimp tortilla (like a panckae) was a crunchy delight. The crab was delicious. Must try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ala Carte Run Wild”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went into the seafood market section thinking we could order our fish and have it brought to us at the table. We were told you could order the same thing on the menu. It was a late lunch, about 4pm and our server seemed disgruntled, plates were banging as he and other wait staff piled up finished plates. It made us uncomfortable. I ordered seafood kabobs and my husband ordered John Dory fish. Waiter came back to tell me kabobs were not available. He said "you want same thing as him?" pointing to my hubs, "it's good". I agreed since we had already spent more than enough time browsing the menu. (Later I thought of the marketside that was full of shrimp and fish). The fish was just ok. I left most of it. But the kicker for me was anyone wanting a "bowl" of ketchup? Add .60e to your bill. A "bowl" of mayo? Add .60. We asked for olive oil for bread dipping. They brought us a miniature. We asked if we had to pay for the oil. He said yes but didn't put it on the bill. You also pay extra for bread. I could have dealt with all this is the service was friendly and we didn't feel like we were pushed to & get out finish. We purposely asked what time they were closing. He said "tonight". I would never go to this place again. They advertise they've been in business since 1952? In today's world good fresh food and reasonable customer service brings diners back. For us? Never again!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romerijo also viewed

El Puerto de Santa Maria, Costa de la Luz
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Costa de la Luz
 
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Costa de la Luz
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Romerijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romerijo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.