We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerto Sherry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puerto Sherry to your Saves list
Hotel Puerto Sherry
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de la Libertad s/n, 11500 El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ramsbotton, Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Christmas break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Booked hotel for a quick break before Christmas 2011. Bit disappointed when we arrived as restaurant was closed but we found an ok Italian nearby. Things improved in the morning with a good brakefast and bright sunshine, even went for a dip in the outdoor pool (freezing)!
Marina is just outside the front door and there is a nice beach a short walk away with other bars and restaurants. Have booked to go back in June and very much looking forward to the trip.

Room Tip: View from rooms overlook marina are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    26
    13
    18
See reviews for
23
62
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Cadiz, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were given a one night stay at this hotel in November 2011 as a wedding anniversary gift by our daughters. It was called a romantic stay and included breakfast and dinner. We were told the room would be ready from 12.00 onwards. We arrived around 12.15 p.m. and had to wait in a freezing cold cafe area for over one hour as the room was not ready. When we got to the room we thought it was a very nice room with views over the marina. We had the rose petals and champagne as described but no chocolates as we were told we would have. My husband want to the reception and asked about this the answer was that is impossible. The room was freezing cold. We put the air conditioning on to heat the room but the hot air would not work. My husband said they had probably disconnected a wire to save on heating bills. He is a heating engineer so knows what he is talking about. We had to go to a restaurant outside the hotel for the evening meal as everything in the hotel was closed. We were the only people in the restaurant. There was no choice at all and only one meal was offered. The main course was salmon which my husband does not really like and unfortunately later on in the evening he didn´t feel terribly well. I must say however that the staff in the restaurant were first class. We went down to breakfast next morning which was served in the cold cafe area. It was self service and included cold fried eggs, cold bacon and sausages which can only be described as cold hot dogs. The orange juice was some sort of watered down juice. On the whole the breakfast was very poor. Perhaps the hotel is better in the high season months but was virtually closed when we were there in November, perhaps they would have been better of closing down for the winter instead of offering a second rate stay.

Room Tip: Personally we would not go to this hotel out of high season again as everything was closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Because of work, I had the pleasure of spending Thanksgiving in Spain. First, I didn't know what to expect because of the construction or demolition that was going on next to our hotel but I never heard any noise. The hotel staff was very friendly to me and the rest of the dumb Americans(lol) who didn't speak much or any Spanish. They where patient and could understand enough to get us in the right direction. The hotel is within walking distance of tennis courts, restaurants and walking trails which was very nice. Really nothing to complain about at this hotel and next time in Spain this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel is great. I took it because Cadiz was too expensive, and took the fairy from Santa Maria to Cadiz. However, it's better to have a car in order to do that. The hotel is beautiful, with great views of the marine. It also has view of Cadiz from the other side of the bay, which is so-so. It is a nice place to get away and a very romantic spot, but you need to have a car. There is a lot of free parking.
The breakfast was expansive and we did not try it. The room is large and air-conditioned well, but somehow not quite perfect. definitely good value, but not 100%.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, it's worth the investment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is the 5th time we have visited this hotel. It is the ideal chill place. However, you can easily drive to the port in Santa Maria and catch the boat to Cadiz. this is cheap and excellent as it goes right to the centre of the city and saves all the parking problems.
The hotel food is excellent and a reasonable price, but there is the alternative of walking along the Marina to the right and continue on to the lovely little cove, and just before you get there, there are restaurants open all year round with a great view of Cadiz and well priced.
There is golf, horse riding and padel courts very close.
The staff are cheerful, helpful and friendly.
I am disappointed that the indoor pool is now closed, but Iunderstand there are plans for this.
Roll on next visit

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was our first stop on a three week tour of Andalucia.
The hotel is located in the marina, a very peaceful area. You can walk to the centre of El Puerto de Santa Maria via a walkway along the beach where all the locals walk and jog at night. However it is quite a long walk (three quarters of an hour, not twenty minutes as told by receptionist), so we did this only one evening when we were going for dinner, as we had active days and were rather tired at night. The other nights we took our car. The hotel has free parking and we never had any trouble finding a spot. It was June and there were only a few other guests, so it was very quiet, which we prefered.
The room and bathroom were comfortable. A minor complaint was that the double bed is a bit on the small side. Service was good: housekeeping was efficient and reliable; the same applied to reception staff (except for inquiry about longtitude of walk to city centre, but this was not a big deal). Breakfast was included in our rate and was good: a reasonably big range of products of good quality. I also liked the outside pool area (frequently we were the only people there), which has a view of all the boats in the marina, as do the bar and terrace (watching the sunset is beautiful). Also there is a beautiful beach, which is virtually deserted, right next to the hotel.
We used the hotel as our base to visit both Cadiz (go by ferry boat and make sure to lunch at El Faro, which is a great fish restaurant), Gibraltar and Jerez de la Frontera (fantastic visit to the Sandeman bodega). The Costa de la Luz is still left unspoiled by megatourism, so you can enjoy the authenticity of Andalucia at the coast, with none of the kitch of e.g. the Costa del Sol. Hands down my favourite Costa. Would also definitely return to this hotel when visiting this area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We booked a standard room on the internet and when we arrived we got an upgrade because they were all full. That was nice of course, our room was enormous, just a pity you can,t make your own tea/coffee. The bed was very good also the bathroom was excellent.
We didn,t have breakfast. It's a pity you have to pay for using the internet downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puerto Sherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Sherry

Address: Avda. de la Libertad s/n, 11500 El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puerto Sherry 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puerto Sherry is perfectly located on the Bay of Cadiz. El Puerto de Santa María is just 16 km from Jerez airport.Puerto de Santa María enjoys a rich tradition of more than 3000 years of history. Puerto de Santa María was an eighth century Moorish port and the point where Columbus set sail on his second expedition to the Americas. This varied history is reflected in more than one hundred palaces and monuments.Getting to Hotel Puerto Sherry:•Heliport•High-speed train (AVE) Madrid-Seville.•One hour by road from Seville International AirportThe Hotel Puerto Sherry have at your disposal 59 rooms that will surprise you for its width and comfort. They are modern rooms with sailor environment and recently reformed. Equipped with direct telephone, mini-bar, safe and LCD TV 32". They all have complete bath-room with hair-dryer. All the rooms have sights to the Marina or the Pine Forest.OUTDOOR POOLSHotel Puerto Sherry has two outdoor pools with sun beds & towels service included for our guests.RESTAURANT “LA TERRAZA”Located at the panoramic terrace of Hotel Puerto Sherry, it offers our guests a magnificent gastronomy that will accomplish the most demanding palates, enjoying the best sight of Puerto Sherry Marina.LOBBY BAR24 hours Coffeshop & Snack Bar service.POOL BAROpen Turing July and August from 12:00pm to 02:00am. Incredible cocktails and a special Snack menu perfect for any time of day.PHYSIOTHERAPY CENTRELocated at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry. For information & reservations please call the concierge.FITNESS CENTER24 Hours available and located at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry is free of charge for our guests.HAIR DRESSINGHotel Puerto Sherry has its own Hair Salon located in the lobby. Please contact the concierge for more information & reservations.BUSINESS CENTERLocated in the lobby of Hotel Puerto Sherry. Open 24 hours a day.OUTDOOR POOLSHotel Puerto Sherry has two outdoor pools with sun beds & towels service included for our guests.RESTAURANT “LA TERRAZA”Located at the panoramic terrace of Hotel Puerto Sherry, it offers our guests a magnificent gastronomy that will accomplish the most demanding palates, enjoying the best sight of Puerto Sherry Marina.LOBBY BAR24 hours Coffeshop & Snack Bar service.POOL BAROpen Turing July and August from 12:00pm to 02:00am. Incredible cocktails and a special Snack menu perfect for any time of day.PHYSIOTHERAPY CENTRELocated at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry. For information & reservations please call the concierge.FITNESS CENTER24 Hours available and located at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry is free of charge for our guests.HAIR DRESSINGHotel Puerto Sherry has its own Hair Salon located in the lobby. Please contact the concierge for more information & reservations.BUSINESS CENTERLocated in the lobby of Hotel Puerto Sherry. Open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Puerto Sherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerto Sherry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.