We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sun and boats” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerto Sherry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puerto Sherry to your Saves list
Hotel Puerto Sherry
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de la Libertad s/n, 11500 El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“sun and boats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel is great. I took it because Cadiz was too expensive, and took the fairy from Santa Maria to Cadiz. However, it's better to have a car in order to do that. The hotel is beautiful, with great views of the marine. It also has view of Cadiz from the other side of the bay, which is so-so. It is a nice place to get away and a very romantic spot, but you need to have a car. There is a lot of free parking.
The breakfast was expansive and we did not try it. The room is large and air-conditioned well, but somehow not quite perfect. definitely good value, but not 100%.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, it's worth the investment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    26
    13
    18
See reviews for
23
62
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is the 5th time we have visited this hotel. It is the ideal chill place. However, you can easily drive to the port in Santa Maria and catch the boat to Cadiz. this is cheap and excellent as it goes right to the centre of the city and saves all the parking problems.
The hotel food is excellent and a reasonable price, but there is the alternative of walking along the Marina to the right and continue on to the lovely little cove, and just before you get there, there are restaurants open all year round with a great view of Cadiz and well priced.
There is golf, horse riding and padel courts very close.
The staff are cheerful, helpful and friendly.
I am disappointed that the indoor pool is now closed, but Iunderstand there are plans for this.
Roll on next visit

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was our first stop on a three week tour of Andalucia.
The hotel is located in the marina, a very peaceful area. You can walk to the centre of El Puerto de Santa Maria via a walkway along the beach where all the locals walk and jog at night. However it is quite a long walk (three quarters of an hour, not twenty minutes as told by receptionist), so we did this only one evening when we were going for dinner, as we had active days and were rather tired at night. The other nights we took our car. The hotel has free parking and we never had any trouble finding a spot. It was June and there were only a few other guests, so it was very quiet, which we prefered.
The room and bathroom were comfortable. A minor complaint was that the double bed is a bit on the small side. Service was good: housekeeping was efficient and reliable; the same applied to reception staff (except for inquiry about longtitude of walk to city centre, but this was not a big deal). Breakfast was included in our rate and was good: a reasonably big range of products of good quality. I also liked the outside pool area (frequently we were the only people there), which has a view of all the boats in the marina, as do the bar and terrace (watching the sunset is beautiful). Also there is a beautiful beach, which is virtually deserted, right next to the hotel.
We used the hotel as our base to visit both Cadiz (go by ferry boat and make sure to lunch at El Faro, which is a great fish restaurant), Gibraltar and Jerez de la Frontera (fantastic visit to the Sandeman bodega). The Costa de la Luz is still left unspoiled by megatourism, so you can enjoy the authenticity of Andalucia at the coast, with none of the kitch of e.g. the Costa del Sol. Hands down my favourite Costa. Would also definitely return to this hotel when visiting this area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We booked a standard room on the internet and when we arrived we got an upgrade because they were all full. That was nice of course, our room was enormous, just a pity you can,t make your own tea/coffee. The bed was very good also the bathroom was excellent.
We didn,t have breakfast. It's a pity you have to pay for using the internet downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenheim, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I though that this is a great hotel. We stayed in this hotel for a few days whilst we were on holiday in October/November. The swimming pool was closed, which was a shame because it was one of the reasons why we decided to go to this hotel. The rooms were very spacious, and if you book for a "double-room", you'll end up with a room with two big double beds. Our room was with a sea view and a huge balcony, with sun beds. We had a good time, the staff was helpfull and spoke English.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is a beautifully designed hotel, with good facilities and location, so it was disappointing to find that they allow intolerable levels of noise from the adjacent late-night bar/disco to interfere with the comfort of their guests. While staff were understanding, it was clear that the hotel made no effort to control the noise made by late night revelers. It was also surprising to find that the bathrooms had no hot water.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We had a good time there, as European beds go, these were comfortable. The room service we had was quick and good. The only thing it was lacking is a business area with internet connected computers and printer. Also a minor detail, check-in time is 12 noon, and our room was not ready until 1300. Not a big deal, they should stagger them so the maid service can do their job. The breakfast was also very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puerto Sherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Sherry

Address: Avda. de la Libertad s/n, 11500 El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puerto Sherry 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puerto Sherry is perfectly located on the Bay of Cadiz. El Puerto de Santa María is just 16 km from Jerez airport.Puerto de Santa María enjoys a rich tradition of more than 3000 years of history. Puerto de Santa María was an eighth century Moorish port and the point where Columbus set sail on his second expedition to the Americas. This varied history is reflected in more than one hundred palaces and monuments.Getting to Hotel Puerto Sherry:•Heliport•High-speed train (AVE) Madrid-Seville.•One hour by road from Seville International AirportThe Hotel Puerto Sherry have at your disposal 59 rooms that will surprise you for its width and comfort. They are modern rooms with sailor environment and recently reformed. Equipped with direct telephone, mini-bar, safe and LCD TV 32". They all have complete bath-room with hair-dryer. All the rooms have sights to the Marina or the Pine Forest.OUTDOOR POOLSHotel Puerto Sherry has two outdoor pools with sun beds & towels service included for our guests.RESTAURANT “LA TERRAZA”Located at the panoramic terrace of Hotel Puerto Sherry, it offers our guests a magnificent gastronomy that will accomplish the most demanding palates, enjoying the best sight of Puerto Sherry Marina.LOBBY BAR24 hours Coffeshop & Snack Bar service.POOL BAROpen Turing July and August from 12:00pm to 02:00am. Incredible cocktails and a special Snack menu perfect for any time of day.PHYSIOTHERAPY CENTRELocated at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry. For information & reservations please call the concierge.FITNESS CENTER24 Hours available and located at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry is free of charge for our guests.HAIR DRESSINGHotel Puerto Sherry has its own Hair Salon located in the lobby. Please contact the concierge for more information & reservations.BUSINESS CENTERLocated in the lobby of Hotel Puerto Sherry. Open 24 hours a day.OUTDOOR POOLSHotel Puerto Sherry has two outdoor pools with sun beds & towels service included for our guests.RESTAURANT “LA TERRAZA”Located at the panoramic terrace of Hotel Puerto Sherry, it offers our guests a magnificent gastronomy that will accomplish the most demanding palates, enjoying the best sight of Puerto Sherry Marina.LOBBY BAR24 hours Coffeshop & Snack Bar service.POOL BAROpen Turing July and August from 12:00pm to 02:00am. Incredible cocktails and a special Snack menu perfect for any time of day.PHYSIOTHERAPY CENTRELocated at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry. For information & reservations please call the concierge.FITNESS CENTER24 Hours available and located at the 1st floor of Hotel Puerto Sherry is free of charge for our guests.HAIR DRESSINGHotel Puerto Sherry has its own Hair Salon located in the lobby. Please contact the concierge for more information & reservations.BUSINESS CENTERLocated in the lobby of Hotel Puerto Sherry. Open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Puerto Sherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerto Sherry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.