We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Cantaros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Los Cantaros to your Saves list
Hotel Los Cantaros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Curva 6, 11500 El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“charming little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Got stranded in Puerto de Santa Maria for a night, arranged by the insurance company we checked into this hotel. At the beginning I was really worried about it as I usually like to research alot before I make any booking, this is a three star hotel but for me it's definitely 4stars quality. Service is good, check in is prompt, room is very clean and tidy, when I walked into the bathroom I am shocked to find a power jet bath tub! Never seen one in a four star hotel, let alone three. The hotel is in a very good location, very centro and close to everything.

Here comes the critics, the wall is really thin, you wo't realise that in the afternoon since everyone is out but at night you will hear your 'neighbor' talking and noise from the pipe... Free wifi didn't work for the first day but the next day it worked. The breakfast is not something I would choose to have again.

Since I didn't book the hotel myself, I was curious how much this would cost, iI did a bit of search and found that it cost only 60euros per night, I think I would still book it for the location and a room to sleep just make sure you have ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
46
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We arrived to the hotel with our voucher already printed (in which it was clearly stated that we had prepaid the room throught the booking web). However, the receptionist had already charged our credit card 5 days before the arrival date. We complained but she said she couldn't undo the debit until she was able to speak to her manager, and that would be on Monday as he is off during the weekend (and it seems he can't be disturbed when there is a problem caused to a cliente by themselves). It was Saturday, and we were to leave on Sunday, so we wanted it solved before leaving. On Sunday we insisted, and now she had lost the voucher!!! It was only on Monday, when we were at home, that we emailed her manager (he didn't called us) and got our card credited. In the meantime, no apologies, we felt defenceless, mostly when it was the hotel who had created the problem. They didn't mind letting us go with the problem unsolved...

Room Tip: We heard noises from room next to ours (all kind of noises...). Thin walls and door. Very noisy in g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

The hotel is in Puerto de Santa Maria which is about 19 km from Cadiz, but is itself a lovely little tourist destination, and the boat and catamaran can be taken from here to Cadiz. The boat and catamaran landing points are about 3 mins walk from the hotel. There is a fast computer with free internet access in the hotel, and I am writing this review from there. Breakfast is so so with a coffee and fruit juice machine and ensaimadas and chocolate croissants, and toast, so sufficient, not magnificent. But there are loads of restaurants, lots of seafood especially, not so good for vegetarians, and tapas bars nearby. Like all Spanish hotels there is a clatteriness that could be annoying if you were planning to sleep during the day. But it is quiet enough at night, and most important it is clean and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Nothing special, but nothing to complain either. Location is very central (and a few steps from Romejio restaurant, check reviews). We asked for a room at the back, as the little square at the front looked quite lively during semana santa, and the room was quiet. For a little price it had all you'd expect from a 3-star hotel, including frigobar and lots of toiletries. It was average size for Spain, and clean. Breakfast was nothing special, but included in the price. See attached photo of the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

We booked 1 night here as part of our 14 days Andalucia trip, but we enjoyed El Puerto de Santa Maria and the hotel was good, so we cancelled another place and stayed 1 more night here.
Helpful, friendly staff. Great location, many good restaurants just around the corner. Parking close by, half price if payed at the hotel. Good value overall.

  • Liked — Big clean room
  • Disliked — Breakfast was only ok.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

Unfortunately we only stayed here for 1 night. This was the best hotel we stayed at on our trip around spain. Cosy big rooms, superb staff and perfect location. We absolutely recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the local area.The hotel is situated in an excellent position, in the heart of the town and close to a wide variety of bars and fish restaurants .
The rooms are very well equipped
Breakfasts were to a high standard.
The hotel has underground parking next door
Excellent accommodation and wonderful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Cantaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cantaros

Address: Curva 6, 11500 El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Cantaros 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Los Cantaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cantaros Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Cantaros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.