We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel.....more Brits should stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barrosa Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Barrosa Park to your Saves list
Hotel Barrosa Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb Novo Sancti Petri s/n, 11130 Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel.....more Brits should stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent hotel - very clean (poolside toilets / showers spotless for example - regularly cleaned!) - very friendly staff. We stayed half board and the buffet for breakfast and dinner was amazing - huge choice and the grill area items were changed daily for dinner. Easy for adults and children to find what they wanted.....evening entertainment outside the restaurant & bar was good. Rooms really good size and we had a sea view (ask for one on the 3rd floor if possible as uninterrupted views over the bushes on the sand dunes then).

Swimming pool was superb - you have to pay Eur10 per towel at reception, refundable on check-out, and although it says not to reserve sunbeds......if you want a spot by the pool, get your towel down by 10am ideally.

The beach is lovely - the sand so fine and sea clear (beach cleaned every morning!). We rented a bed and shade next to the hotel beach restaurant for a day - well worth it.

Mostly Spanish (good sign!) and Germans staying here, the staff would first talk to us in German but they all spoke English as well.

We would recommend this hotel to friends and family.


Very limited parking at the hotel the only negative, but plenty of spaces across the street.

Room Tip: Go for a Sea view if you can, and try on the 3rd floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    63
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a family vacation. Because we knew that Novo Sancti Petri is not in or near any town center and that we wanted to set our own schedule for trips away from the hotel we had a rental car for the entire stay. We recommend this to the likeminded, and there are plenty of places to go in the area (Cadiz, Jerez, Gibraltar, Ronda, Feria de Jerez/Chiclana).

Check-in went great, we even got an upgrade to a bigger room. After realizing that the balcony was towards the courtyard where the evening entertainment takes place we requested a change to a quieter room, and we got it in the same category, courtesy of the very friendly and helpful staff. A great and pleasant surprise was that there is free WiFi everywhere in the hotel!

The rooms are spacious, clean, painted and furbished in warm colors, with flat screen TV for the ones who need it. Room service is perfect and flexible.

When it comes to the food there is absolutely nothing left to be desired. A warm welcome at the entrance to the restaurant, sometimes with a glass of sherry or champagne, a dedicated area for families with children, and very friendly and attentive waiters are a few facts to start with. The buffet is generous with a huge variety of food all of which we have not been able to try during our 2 week stay. Buffet sections for salads, starters and live cooking of the main courses are duplicate so no long waiting or pushing and shoving. Great varieties of fish, meat, breads and an impressive selection of desserts - mousses, pastries, ice cream, sauces and fruit! Personally I was impressed with the small things, the attention to the details, like side dishes, garnishing, etc.

Even though we did not make use of the childcare facility as our boy is 3 years and the signs said that it is for kids 4 years and older we liked the facilities there.

When we stayed at the hotel it was inhabited mainly by Germans and Spanish.

A negative point has more to do with some of the guests than with the hotel. With quite a few guests the poolside seemed to be more popular than the beach, and we observed that some of our countrymen and women dropped their towels on the deckchairs on their way to the breakfast. Although the management put up signs to deter guests from reserving deckchairs but they would do so anyway. Well, there were enough chairs so I didn't have to pick a fight. In fact, before we left the old deckchairs were replaced by new and better ones.

So if you are looking for a close-to-perfect place for a family holiday in a beautiful area, with lots of things to do and to see, not least the Andalusian people, go to the Barrosa Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Barrosa Park during the last week of April. We booked an apartment with a separate bedroom and kitchenette. We stayed in room 2247 on the second floor of building 2 with a nice sea and pool view. The hotel has a wonderful pool and garden. The service was excellent, the breakfast and dinner were very good. The evening shows by the animation team were very professional (thanks Jaime). The majority of the guests is german but this is not a disadvantage because they are always friendly and pollite. One weak point: there is no safe available in the room, you have to hire one at the reception. We loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilva, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night while staying in the area and found the hotel to be a good base.

The room was spacious and bright, no complaints. The balcony looked out onto trees, but still a nice view. We asked if we could swap for a sea view and the hotel staff were very accommodating, offering us the chance to look at a different room with a sea view, however we ended up sticking with the room we were given as it was better overall.

There was a mini-bar and TV in the room with adequate channels in English. The bathroom looked as though it needed updating. The beds were comfy and we slept well.

The area itself has a beautiful beach which would be great in the summer. We drove to Chiclana de la Frontera at night, which is a nice typical Spanish town, nice to look at in the winter with all the festive lights. We headed back to Novo Sancti Petri for dinner, but were disappointed to find barely any bars and restaurants open. We get that this is off season, but the area was dead. We found a Swiss restaurant in the end, which we went to as a last resort, (as one of the only restaurants open) and we didn't really enjoy it.

Overall it was just a nice mediocre stay. The hotel and area were lacking entertainment and life and we would not be keen to return in the off season again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel complex was built 17 years ago and it shows. With its ski chalet roof and dated rooms it has a very used and dated feel. The hotel obviously caters mostly to the german tuorists so dont expect the staff to speak english! The room was clean but the beds were so hard they were uncomfortable. The bathroom was very dated with a bath difficult to get into but clean. Buffet breakfast was like in any other hotel but I would add that the buffet dinner was plentyfull and of good quality. There is a pool bar but I would not advise you to eat there, its expensive and of poor quality. The hotel has sunbeds on the beach, which you have to pay for, and another bar. I must add that most of the staff was very friendly and most helpfull. They even found some glutenfree bread and bisquits for breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for a family break for those who are not put off by tatty surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as it is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Having visited twice, and hoping to go back again in the next couple of months, this is definitely an all round favourite for my family. Our 3 year old loves it, and that makes life so much easier. Both times we were upgraded to a larger family room (thank you) and although they're not the most up to date furnishings, they were very comfortable and clean. On our first visit we opted for bed and breakfast but decided to pay extra to have dinner in the hotel on one night, which was a great choice, hence the reason for booking dinner, bed and breakfast for our second stay. The choice and quality of food for a buffet style restaurant is excellent and they have a fantastic wine list to complement. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel on the beach was perfect, even despite a couple of damp days :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I spent the month of February at this hotel with GO/CTE (Retired Adult Learning Holidays) and was horrified to learn when I requested a room with walk-in shower that they DID NOT HAVE one walk-in or easy access shower in the whole hotel. Our GO/CTE group consisted of 150 people (all elderly/retired) many with mobility problems. When I complained, I found a white towelling bath robe was delivered to my room suggesting that I wear it to walk down through the hotel lounges to the swimming pool area & use the shower there. Apart from being a most inconvenient & embarrassing way to take my morning shower, I found swimming pool shower had neither door nor curtain on the cubicle PLUS it was not "walk-in"!!. The floor of the shower is raised 14 inches above ground level, meaning a BIG step climb up into it & same BIG step down but with nothing to hold onto to ensure safety ... as the flat marble floor inside the open shower becomes wet & slippery.. totally unsutable / dangerous for anyone infirm or disabled. In ALL bedrooms there is a bath with overhead shower, tucked away into a corner, of the en-suite, behind the marble washbasin stand .. allowing only limited access for guests to climb in over a broad marble topped tiled wall. Several members of our group slipped & fell in these areas.
I was first allocated room 1325 - a dreadful dark / never see any sunshine / cold miserable room, where their large brilliant neon hotel sign throws ghastly light into one's bedroom until after midnight. After 8 days I managed to move to a warmer sunny room No. 1271 ... but in which was unable to receive any WiFi connection. . .probably due to the three Mobile Phone masts situated on the roof directly opposite, and these I believe were also responsible for the sparky shocks I often received when touching the chairs on my verandah!! . . . . Definitely NOT a good 21st Century holiday hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on a room which is not in the shade.. ask for one with "Sol"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barrosa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barrosa Park

Address: Urb Novo Sancti Petri s/n, 11130 Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Chiclana de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barrosa Park 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hipotels Barrosa Park Hotel is a grand 4 star hotel in the beach front line of the beautiful town of Chiclana de la Frontera, Cadiz. It has 384 magnificent rooms destined to offer all of our customers a stay filled with unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Barrosa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrosa Park Hotel
Hotel Barrosa Park Andalucia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barrosa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.