We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Royal Andalus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Royal Andalus to your Saves list
Iberostar Royal Andalus
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urb Novo Sancti Petri, 11130 Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spanish Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 days on a Bed/Breakfast/Dinner Basis......Then we added another 2 days......then we added another day...
...
This hotel is Superb......From some of the comments we read we were prepared to find some fault..but we DIDN'T

The room on the top floor over looking the pool and sea (side view) got the sun from 10am until 5pm. The room was spacious and spotless and even if we used the stairs wasn't a hard climb ( we are over 65yrs)

The staff EVERYWHERE were so pleasant and so spanish in the fact that they couldn't do enough for you.

From the start of the holiday at reception to the checking out we COULDN'T FAULT A THING.

Well! what can I say about the FOOD........FANTASTIC!!!

The restaurant was busy...but you had to choose between 7pm and 10pm it was busy around 8.30pm so go early if you want it to yourself....not a problem

The food was 5* standard and the variety was amazing....It's like enjoying a cruise but without the ship!!

SO! the children stay up late and it did get crowded on the dance floor but the entertainment was really a pleasure to listen to. No their wasn't entertainment for the chidren, but where we were sitting they enjoyed themselves with their parents instead.

It is a very spanish hotel and that is what we loved about it. The area is beautiful with white sandy beaches and days out to Cadiz..Chiclana..Jerez..Seville. Go in the Fiesta time and see the spanish at their very best.

Thank you to all the staff at the hotel we had a GREAT TIME.. and will be back!

Room Tip: Look at the hotel map and pre book your room we had the top floor and we didn't hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    428
    134
    44
    26
See reviews for
545
375
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff friendly
The restaurant is buffet style, andlarge, able to seat 650 guests, however at the weekend there was a queue to get into the restaurant. Food was good, good variety, but with some lack of imagination.
Lunchtime wine was on tap.
Dinner is wine is waiter served

Our room was compact, but comfortable, with view over pool and toward the sea.
The hotel is quiet during the night, nothing to keep you awake.
Free Wifi is available for 30 minutes in any 24 hour period.The internet is also available in your room, but the signal is sometimes weak.
I thought that the charge for using it was a little exorbitant at 20€ for 7 days especially as if you need to use more than one device at the same time you would need to purchase a second log-in password. This could be expensive for a family who perhaps have several devices that need the internet.,

Service good, we reported our verandah door was very difficult to move & within a couple of hours the problem was rectified.

The clientele were mainly German & Spanish & also a large number of golfers because of the number of golf courses in the village.

Room Tip: Rooms with an even number get the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent location; right on the beach; good and varied food; proximity of golf fields; no etertainment for kids in April; good evening entertainment for adults; prices a bit steep in the spa; twin bed is a disadvantage

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A good hotel in an excellent location. It is easy to get to the local town and if you wish, into Cadiz. The beach is long, sandy and very clean. A pleasure to walk on in all weathers. Spanish families use the hotel to stay at especially during their public holidays which helps to give it the feel of 'being away'. Many of the local people did not speak much English so it was good to try out our Spanish. We highly recommend the hotel and the area and will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Tried to book on-line for New Year 2013/14. The offer comes up as including a Gala Dinner for
31.12.12!!! I phoned the hotel for clarification and was transferred to their Central Booking which was closed for Good Friday. So sent an email to the hotel, and three days later and a further
e-mail later, no response. I tried to phone the Central Booking - permanently engaged. Again, I
phoned the hotel. Whilst I speak some Spanish, I asked if there was an English speaker on the
desk, and received a resounding "NO!!!" and the phone was disconnected.
I see that many reviews are answered by an "Online Satisfaction Manager" who has no name and only properly answers the good reviews.
I have now given up and have no intention of staying at this customer-unfriendly place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal Andalus, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Although we deeply regret reading the difficulties you encountered when trying to book our New Year’s offer at our IBEROSTAR Royal Andalus hotel, we thank you for the time you spent out of your day to share a review so we can take your vision into consideration in order to improve our services.

We read your comment with our utmost attention and clearly there was a mistake on the date displayed on our website, the offer was obviously referred to the 31.12.13, and we understand that you wanted to make sure that the offer was correct before booking it online; unfortunately our call center is closed on good Friday and we can only imagine that the number dialed to contact the hotel was not the correct one as all our reception staff speaks fluently English and this is clearly not our way to answer the phone.

Once more, we regret reading your dissatisfaction and would be enchanted to accommodate you in our hotels at your earliest convenience, ensuring you in advance of our best intentions to offer you a very enjoyable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal Andalus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is next to the beach, with nice swimming pools and lots of choices of sport activities. The swimming pools are very nice and the beach, too. However, there is nothing else around that hotel. You need a car if you want to go to a restaurant around there or to some shops. The girls working at the reception were very slow and they seemed to be stressed out.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal Andalus, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit at our IBEROSTAR Royal El Andalus hotel as well as for the time you spent writing a review on your personal experience as this helps us understand how to improve in our daily services and offer the best holiday’s experiences possible to all our guests.
We are sorry to read your comment related to our reception staff, we will pass on your observation to our head of department in order to revise and improve as we want to ensure a splendid service from each and every staff member in our hotel, and we apologize if we couldn’t meet your expectations during your stay.
Our hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches of Andalucía and close to many renowned golf courses of the Costa de Sol, we strongly suggest you for any upcoming holiday planning with IBEROSTAR to contact our Call Center where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance for you to choose the best destination, hotel type and services in accordance to your holiday needs and wishes.
On the other hand, we are glad to read that the public grounds and the “La Barrosa” beach were pleasant aspects of your stay and that you could appreciate the many sport and leisure activities brought throughout the day by our animation team.
We hope that you had a nice journey back home and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotels worldwide.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you are into sport this is the hotel for you, golf, tennis and cycling parties were all there while we were. Access to the beach is excellent and the pools both indoor and outdoor are good. But it is a very large hotel which I found made it a little impersonal and sometimes it was difficult to find a table at meals. The food was very good with a wide range of options and some nice changes during the few days I was there. All the food was clearly labelled so you could make an informed choice. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and remarably quite for such a large hotel. Although there are buses into Chiclana it is more difficult to visit towns of interest unless you have a hired car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Royal Andalus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Royal Andalus

Address: Urb Novo Sancti Petri, 11130 Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Chiclana de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#2 Green Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Royal Andalus 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Royal Andalus hotel is a resort in front of the beach of La Barrosa, in Novo Sancti Petri in Chiclana de la Frontera, Cadiz. This elegant and spacious resort has direct access to the beautiful La Barrosa beach with its 6 miles of white sand and dunes, one of the best on the Costa de la Luz. Renovated in 2006, this huge resort for couples and families with kids in Chiclana has 413 rooms with all mod cons for a perfect holiday with your partner, a holiday with children or to do sports in Sancti Petri. Holidays for the athletic. The wide range of sports at the IBEROSTAR Royal Andalus hotel and its vicinity attracts many sports lovers. Spinning, padel tennis, volleyball, archery, water polo, tennis, cycling, horseback riding (In the surroundings), hiking (In the surroundings) and, above all, one of the best golf courses in Cadiz, Golf Novo Sancti Petri. Fun without borders. At the IBEROSTAR Royal Andalus hotel you will have fun with a wide array of StarAction activities. Water sports, adventure sports, shows and performances --a world of fun is waiting for you. Children, entertained and cared for at all times. The IBEROSTAR Royal Andalus hotel has created three fun clubs for children from 4-12 years of age from May to October. There is also a playground and you can access the beach without having to step on the street. In addition, the hotel features a new water park for kids aged 6 to 12 to enjoy themselves in style: a Viking ship, multi-lane slides, a waterfall, a water-spitting three-headed dragon... And many other alluring attractions! Holidays are always fun for children in La Barrosa! Excellent hotel facilities. Two swimming pools for adults and children, two spacious terrace-solariums, spa massages, jet pool, sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath (guests under 18 are not allowed to access the spa, heated pool included). And the finest local and international gastronomy at the restaurants and bars of the IBEROSTAR Royal Andalus hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Iberostar Royal Andalus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Royal Andalus Hotel Chiclana De La Frontera
Iberostar Hotel Royal Andalus
Royal Andalus Iberostar
Iberostar Royal Andalus Andalucia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Royal Andalus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.