We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old town central hotel in need of revamp.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old town central hotel in need of revamp.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night. Car ark only suitable for small cars. Larger use the underground public one about 100 yards away. Reception friendly and helpful with our questions. Breakfast staff seemed more abrupt. Our room (119) overlooked front roadway. They say these rooms are soundproof but we disagree. A 25 tonne lorry off loaded a recycling bin at 7am and there was no soundproofing then! Breakfast was fine. Good selection of cold and hot is cooked for you. Didn't have evening meal in hotel. Our experience was that there were very few actual restaurants in old Cadiz. Plenty of tapas bars and cafes but few 3 course eateries. Worst part for us was the room decor. Brown and dull. Needs livening up. Bed very firm. Hotel has swimming pool and gym but charge guests at a discount. Overall glad we only stayed one night. Not awful just not great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

The Hotel is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests. Although you have to note the city centre has narrow streets and the hotel is located between them.
It is nice to hear you your positive comments about the reception staff and the quality of our breakfast, because it makes us feel proud of our job.
Regarding the noise of your room, let me tell you that all of them are soundproofed and it is a fact that most people can appreciate in their opinions. Although, in some circumstances of laud noises, as you describe, it´s difficult that you don´t hear any noise in the room and we apologize for it, but it is not the logical street noise.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of room. We are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer. The kind of room – furniture, decoration, painting – is the same in all rooms; we try to offer a traditional accommodation with 4-star level, but thanks a lot for your opinion, they are very important for us.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    176
    80
    47
    25
See reviews for
102
204
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Mixed views about this place. It obviously had 4 stars because it has a pool, spa and restaurant but it doesn not feel 4* at all.

LOCATION
You can't fault the location of this hotel. It's a ten minute walk to the cathedral and a ten minute wallk to the train station. It is right in the heart of the Old Town.

RECEPTION
Friendly, helpful staff.

PRICE
We felt that the room rate was overpriced. Breakfast was not included (although the website I booked the room through gave the distinct impression that it was - so not the fault of the hotel).

BREAKFAST
There was no way we were going to pay 10 euros each for a buffet breakfast. Instead we either had breakfast at a nearby cafe or, the better option, took the offer in the hotel bar of a cup of coffee/tea and toast for 2 euros which was really good value. The 'toast' is not your sliced white, it's a large toasted crusty roll served with butter & jam. And very nice it was, too.

BAR
We had a drink and a sandwich here one afternoon and found it nice and decently priced.

ROOM
Decor - It wasn't so much designed as had crawled out of the primordial soup. The walls are painted a vile elastoplast orange. Add this to a checked bedspread and salmon coloured sheets and you have a pretty depressing effect. Particularly as there is little natural light coming in through the window because Cadiz is so built up. We didn't spend more time in the room than was absolutely necessary despite it being large enough to fit two double beds in it. It was too depressing.

Beds - We found the beds comfortable - nice and firm.

Safe - A large safe is provided in the room. It is big enough to easily fit about 4 laptops inside.

Fridge - A fridge is provided. Please not that this is not a mini-bar, it is for you to put your own provisions in.

Tea/Coffee - making facilities are provided in the room but they are a bit stingy with the milk allocation of two little containers per day. Only enough for two cups of tea/coffee.

BATHROOM
Quite large.
Decent towels (again in that delightful orange colour beloved by this hotel).
A hairdryer that actually blows out hot air.
The shower had good water pressure.
Toileteries are provided but they were also a bit mean with the hand soap, provididing one bar during our 4 night stay and by the time we left there was almonst none of it left and the bar had broken in half.

SPA
This was really expensive. The rate is 18 euros per prson. Even using their two-for-the-price-of-one offered on Wednesdays it represented poor value for money. NB the spa is closed on Mondays for maintenance.

It was also packed. It was noisy, despite their insistance for people to be quiet to ensure a tranquil atmosphere. I am sure I read somewhere they limited the numbers to 20 people at a time. Well there must have been some 4-legged people in there last Wednesday because I counted 36 pairs of flip flops lying around the facility. It was far too busy and you almost needed a rota with someone blowing a trumpet to tell you when to rotate through the pools. If you do not have pool shoes/flip flops you have to buy them there. However we liked the facilities, particularly the main swimming area which is like swimming in a cave. The lemon pool is nice and the sauna & steam rooms are good.

SWIMING POOL
It's a bit nippy but once you get in it is quite pleasant. There is a nice view of the Cathedral from the roof terrace. It could do with a bit of sprucing up though. Its is very basic. Bring your own towel because you have to pay a 10 euro deposit to use one of the hotel towels and if you want a fresh one the next day (or whenever) you have to pay for it.

LIFT
For goodness sake please get this bloomin' thing serviced! How slow can a lift be??? Very slow, indeed. And often you press 'up' and it goes down. And it often didn't exactly smell as fresh as a daisy.

OVERALL DECOR
The whole place needs to be redecorated. It is really quite drab. They also need to get rid of those awful, poorly designed posters advertising their paella evenings or late check out rates. It makes the place look cheap and nasty. The vending machine in the lobby looks nasty as well.

On the whole we felt that this hotel did not represent the best value for money. It is drably decorated and everything feels quite on the stingy side, be it the overpriced and packed spa, the fact you have to pay a deposit for a towel, the mean allocation fo milk in the room, one tiny bar of soap to last two opf you all week or the nasty posters plastered everywhere. It has an EasyJet feeling about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your extensive and detailed opinion because that´s the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of our guests.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of some details of the hotel. We work daily to give all our customers the best quality and service.
The kind of room – furniture, decoration, painting – is the same in all rooms. We try to offer a traditional accommodation with 4-star level. We located in the city centre and we have to respect the zone.

Our Spa is unique in the city of Cadiz and we think it´s a good way of relaxing after visiting the old town. It offers a wide range of massages and circuits to relaxing. We are unhappy about your not good experience but, sometimes, on some days, when we have a cheaper price, the spa is, sometimes, a little bit busy than usually.

Regarding the reception service, most of our guests have an excellent opinion of our staff. You have to note that every member of the reception thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. We welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast at the bar, because it makes us feel proud of the work done.
The Senator Cádiz is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, it´s perfect to explore the city and all its monuments as the Cathedral and Tavira Tower, both at five-seven minutes walking. Although you must know the city centre has very narrow streets and the hotel is located between them. We unfortunately have not view, just in the part of solarium/terrace. We are glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool.
About the panoramic lift, we are working on it and improve with the technical lift’s service.
We appreciate your opinion because it´s good way to get the maximum satisfaction of our guests. If you decide to give us another opportunity, which we would very much appreciate, please let us know beforehand so that all our organization can be at your service.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel advertises free wifi with the option to purchase a faster option that allows for VPN and other more bandwidth intensive services. Fine. However, what is unsaid is that 'free' users must endure speeds that are mind-numbingly slow. Think 28kbps modem. Just imagine trying to send an email or download an attachment or do anything normal online and....just...waiting...and...waiting.

As for other things, staff is so-so, our room (a suite) is spacious and clean, the pillows old and not too comfortable and the air conditioning doesn't work, the pool is small and the view is good. The place is just ok, certainly isn't 4 star and with these artificially slow internet speeds it's just not worth it. I regret coming here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel. We are trying to give the best quality and service at all our guests.

You have to note that every member of our staff thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. Your opinion is surprising for us, most of our guests have an excellent opinion of our staff, and we will have to know how the situation was. Anyway, we appreciate your opinion because it´s good for keep on working to get the maximum satisfaction of our guests.

About his commentary on the Wifi, let me tell you that we have two different options, as you say, the Premium (payment) and the normal to surf the web. Perhaps the occupation that we had in that day, it happened that the connectivity was slowly.
Your impressions on the room dimensions and cleaning, and your opinion about the great views from the pool are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of the air conditioning; maybe you should let us know the inconvenience in the same moment because we could have given you a solution, like closing the window (it must be closed to run the air conditioning).
We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is not going to rock you world but it is a reliable, solid stay in a fantastic location in the Old Town.
We were met by what must have been their best member of Reception staff, Victor Manual, who gave us the friendliest welcome and best restaurant recommendations I have had from any hotel staff anywhere. The rest of the staff were okay, but Victor was exceptional which is why our score for service is a 4 and. To a 2!
My fiancée and I just wanted a base to explore Cadiz and the location is great. The rooftop pool was a great spot to spend the siesta if you didn't want to head to the beach and it had a great view if the surrounding Old Town.
The rooms are hotel rooms - very clean but nothing that will excite you. All in all an average choice if you can't decide on anything else. You won't be disappointed, but you won't be excited either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

We are nice to hear your opinion about a strong point like the location. The hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly. The hotel is quite close to points of interest like the cathedral, Tavira Tower, restaurants….

It is very nice to hear that the reception team, highlighting Victor, was helpful and friendly doing your stay better. You must know that every member of the staff thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

We are also glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool, where you can have a rest and relax after a hard day.

Regarding your point of view of hotel, we are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer. The kind of room – furniture, decoration, painting – is the same in all rooms. We try to offer a traditional accommodation with 4-star level.

Thanks for sharing your opinion about your stay because it´s very useful for all of us and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and me and husband were upgraded to a suite! Lovely surprise, loads of space but a little dark as it was internal room. Man on reception (don't know his name, he wore glasses) was extremely helpful and we went to restaurant he recommended which we enjoyed. Rooftop pool is great but could do with bar service. Cadiz is a wonderful city and prices are very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our service quality.

We are very happy that you choose our hotel to spend yours holidays in the city.
We are nice to hear you your opinion about the room dimensions. The hotel is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for most of our guest. Because of this situation, our clients can enjoy of the magnificent views from our swimming pool.

Thank you for your opinion about our staff, most of our guests have an excellent opinion about it. It is very nice to hear that the staff was helpful and friendly doing your stay better and I let him know personally.

Thanks for sharing your opinion about your stay in Senator Cádiz because it´s very useful for us and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overstarred and overpriced for the quality it offers.
It was a crowded period so I had to choose this hotel but won't go there again.
Location is nice, rooftop pool is cool to check (very tiny tho) but beds are very bad, parking is extra, getting a pool towel takes 15min and 2 A4 sheets...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

Let us know every reader of this website, that our rates in August, when you stayed, are higher than the rest of year, there is a great demand and the prices are a little more expensive than the rest of the year because is high season in summer.
Although, most of our extra services like minibar, breakfast, parking, etc, are official rates during all the year.

You have to note that every member of our staff thinks that their main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. Because of this reason, maybe you should let us know the inconvenience of your bed in the same moment because we could have given you a solution, like moving to another room. In reference at towel service, we apologize to you for the time you spend to get it, but I must tell you that´s the same procedure for the entire customer.

We are sorry for all inconveniences that we may have caused, but if you decide to give us another opportunity, which we would very much appreciate, please let us know beforehand so that all our organization can be at your service.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a bit unsure about what to expect. It turned out to be a positive experience. The room was nice, with a big bathroom.

The bed was a bit narrow for two people. The mattresses were according to expectation in Spain – hard and not very comfortable.

The parking is located at the back side of the building. You have to enter a car-lift in order to be taken down to the garage. The sharp turn into the lift allows parking only for small and medium sized cars.

There is a ten minutes’ walk from the hotel to the Cathedral and the main restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your opinion because that´s the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of our guests.

We are nice to hear your opinion about a strong point like the location. The hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly.

Your opinion about the room is very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. Most people think beds are comfortable, maybe you should let us know the inconvenience of your bed in the same moment because we could have given you a solution, like offer to move to another room.

This hotel is placed in the old town, it means narrow streets and not too many parking lots, so the lift is the unique way to have a parking in our building.

We are very happy that you choose our hotel to spend yours holidays in the city.
Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Address: C/ Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senator Cadiz
Senator Cadiz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.