We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Cadiz
Oslo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a bit unsure about what to expect. It turned out to be a positive experience. The room was nice, with a big bathroom.

The bed was a bit narrow for two people. The mattresses were according to expectation in Spain – hard and not very comfortable.

The parking is located at the back side of the building. You have to enter a car-lift in order to be taken down to the garage. The sharp turn into the lift allows parking only for small and medium sized cars.

There is a ten minutes’ walk from the hotel to the Cathedral and the main restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your opinion because that´s the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of our guests.

We are nice to hear your opinion about a strong point like the location. The hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly.

Your opinion about the room is very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. Most people think beds are comfortable, maybe you should let us know the inconvenience of your bed in the same moment because we could have given you a solution, like offer to move to another room.

This hotel is placed in the old town, it means narrow streets and not too many parking lots, so the lift is the unique way to have a parking in our building.

We are very happy that you choose our hotel to spend yours holidays in the city.
Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    135
    64
    38
    20
See reviews for
65
154
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel because it is supposedly a spa-hotel and it had received good reviews from TA. On the positive-side, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The outdoor pool is nice. Our room was attractive and clean. The location is excellent. On the negative side, this hotel hardly qualifies as a spa-hotel. We arrived on a Sunday to discover that all spa services (massage, manicure, pedicure, etc.) except for the use of the Turkish baths had stopped at 2pm and would also be closed all of Monday. What kind of spa restricts its services at the height of tourist season?! The spa attendant also had left one of the spa stations without ice. The breakfast buffet is only open until 10:30, so you have to rush to make it. This does not square with the spa concept of the hotel. We arrived at 10:40 am for the buffet and were denied entrance (a service for which we had paid). A 4-star hotel should offer clients more time for breakfast, especially if couples want to do things at a leisurely pace in the morning! Check-out time is at 12pm sharp. We felt rushed to make the check-out time: our magnetic door key expired before 12 noon and the housekeeper entered our room without knocking, precisely at 12 noon. Previous reviews about the state of cleanliness of the main glass elevator are correct. There are smudges on the all glass elevator shaft. Finally, this hotel is overpriced for what it offers. How did this hotel ever get a 4-star rating? I wouldn't be writing this critically if it was a 3-star hotel. If the hotel is unable to offer services up to international standards, maybe it would be better if it advertised itself as a 3-star establishment...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your comments. It is nice to hear your good opinions about the swimming – pool, cleanliness, staff and our excellent location. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

Regarding our Spa you should know it is unique in the city of Cadiz and it´s a good way of relaxing after visiting the old town. We have different offers, among other things, a wide range of massages and circuits to relaxing.
Let me inform you that every Monday –from opening in 2006- we close the spa for maintenances works and it is noted in every website and travel catalogues with the normal timetable. However, we are very sorry for all inconveniences that we may have caused and we apologizes for it

In reference to breakfast Buffet service we are greatly sorry. We have a timetable that we try it be the most appropriate to the needs of all our guests. We understand that 3 hours is enough for this service. Every member of staff try to make the best stayed for our customer and we always offer a complimentary breakfast in the cafeteria after the Buffet was closed if it is included.
We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel. We are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer. The kind of room – furniture, decoration, painting – is the same in all rooms. We try to offer a traditional accommodation with 4-star level.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in Senator Spa in this summer and we really enjoyed it. Our rooms were big and clean. We especially enjoyed the terrace in the roof with swimming pool, perfect for summer! The hotel is located right next to the old town which is the most beautiful part of Cádiz and also with great shopping. The staff of the hotel was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

We are very happy that you choose our hotel to spend yours holidays in the city.

Your impressions on the room dimensions and the cleanness are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed because all the Senator Cádiz`s Team try always our best in order to satisfy all our Guests.
I will let them know your comments about all the Staff because all these comments make us feel so proud…

The hotel is located in the heart of Cadiz with fantastic views from the outdoor swimming pool on the roof and it is appreciated for most of our guest.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just spent two nights at this Hotel.As we drove to Cadiz it was quite easy to find this Hotel and had an underground car park (at a charge) but the car was parked for the two days.Ideal for seeing the City as in old part and near the Port and train station. Check in was swift with a very pleasent Receptionist who gave us all relevent information.The only problem we had was while we had two very large beds there were very hard and uncomfortable otherwise very good stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, we kindly thank you for your comment because this is the best way to improve and know our Service quality.

We are nice to hear you your opinion about some strong points like the location in the middle of the city town.
It is very proud to hear from you, your comments about the reception staff. You have to know that every member of the Hotel and all the departments thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

We are sorry for all inconveniences that we may have caused in reference at the beds of your room. Maybe you should let us know the inconvenience of your bed in the same moment because we could have given you a solution, like moving to another room. We always try our best to satisfy all our Guests
Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although my wife and holidayed out of season we still expected the trappings of a 4 star hotel. The pool was closed, as it is for 'out of season'(maybe the stars should be seasonal too) we had no minibar in our room and the tea/coffee were never replaced, we had to go down to reception every day to ask for these things. When we got to our room it had 2 single beds and a view of the lobby from the window. On the positive the location was amazing and the staff were very welcoming.

Room Tip: on one side you can see the water and the street and the other is a lobby view. don't be afraid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your opinion because this is the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of all our guests.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel; we are trying to give the best image. Thank you for your comment about our staff, we are very proud of them.

Facilities like outdoor swimming pool, was open in May until October, depending the weather. Although the solarium and terrace is open for who ask for us, as noted in the pool’s door.
Minibars in our rooms are empty, although it can be used by our customers as a fridge. If you need some drink or snack we were happy to serve you at our reception, 24h.
Concerning your room, we are at your entire disposal for changing the room for twin or double, if it is possible and we try always our best for it.

We are sorry for all inconveniences that we may have caused, and thank you for your comment about the staff, every member thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel, and location, the hotel is situated in the heart of Cádiz and it is appreciated for all our guests.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location (walking distance to rail station and old town) and the spa facility. The former was achieved but the latter required a hefty 18 Euro a go, so we didn' t try the spa at all in our five night stay. However, we had a great quiet room, very clean and well serviced, kind and cheerful staff and thoroughly enjoyed the roof garden and pool on the hottest day.

I was a bit let down that the spa was charged additionally as this was not made clear by the booking website. It would have swayed our decision to choose this hotel. And also, the quality of the alleged 'free' WiFi was so poor we couldn't use it to browse the web. To achieve any access we would have had to pay extra for the fast internet (again, not made clear in the first place)

We avoided eating here as the cafeteria seemed to major on Pizza (the interestingly translated room information gives this as 'Creaking Pizza' - we assume from the German translation that this is supposed to be 'Crispy'.) Paella was another favourite (a Spa-ella option involved being immersed in a variety of pools then being fed paella for the princely sum of 29euro - we declined on health grounds!

Still - a big 5 for the great stay and the lovely staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - no view but totally peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.
Your impressions on the room are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed. The cleaning in the rooms and our Staff Service are our priority and of course all rooms are soundproofed for our guest’s comfort. I will mention your comment to all the staff. We are very proud of it

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'm slightly bewildered by the negativity of some of the reviews here. I had a night here with my family (husband, two children, plus mother in law). The location is brilliant - in the heart of the old city, with lots of places to eat, drink, wander, and buy cheap but glamorous shoes nearby. The rooftop pool was a huge plus for the children. Though small, it had the most astonishing views of the white city and the bright blue sea glittering all around, and there is a large roof terrace above where you can order drinks. We swam twice on an overnight stay and were the only people using the pool. The cafe bar in the lobby was very friendly, and had inexpensive breakfast options for those not requiring the 10 euro cooked option in the restaurant next door. All the staff we encountered were immensely helpful and friendly. The hotel offers family rooms sleeping four (quite a hard thing to find in Spain) in two double beds - a bit cramped but perfectly adequate for young children and affordable - there are tea and coffee facilities, a large TV, a fridge and an in-room safe. So, reasonable 4 star facilities for a 2 or 3 star price (in comparison to our stays in other Spanish cities). Cadiz itself was a revelation - a bit like Tangier without the hassle, and so many fewer tourists than the better known Andalucian cities, beautiful, historic, great food (especially fish). I'd happily recommend this to families.

Room Tip: Ours were fifth floor, at the back on the outside wall, and were very quiet. I think we were lucky h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve and know our Service quality.

We are very happy that you enjoyed with our services and facilities; you have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. We try to give you the best service.

We are nice to hear your opinion about the negativity of some reviews. We respect them but we are very proud of our 4* Hotel and strong points as the location, big rooms, wonderful views from the roof and outdoor swimming-pool, helpful, nice and friendly staff. We kindly thank you that you could appreciated it.

We are also glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool. Facilities like outpool are valued for our guest; you can have a rest and relax after a hard day of walking and visiting the city. You have also our SPA.
We also welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast because it makes us feel proud of the work done.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Address: C/ Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senator Cadiz
Senator Cadiz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.