We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“well located for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for a short break to Cadiz it is a 5/7 minute walk from the railway station and a couple of mins walk from a tourist information office. Located in a narrow street opposite the port all the sites of Cadiz old town are within easy walking distance as are bars and restaurants. The staff all seem to speak English to some extent and were all very helpful.
The room (508) was clean, warm and the two large beds very comfortable.
The only things which let it down was the fact that in a double room there was only one shower gel and one shampoo and the toilet brush in the bathroom was in a disgusting state, covered in hair and other unmentionable detritus.
We did not avail ourselves of the breakfast at 10 Euros but had toast coffee and fruit juice in the bar each morning for 3 Euros

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your comments because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

We are nice to hear you your opinion about the kind of room you had with two big beds. Senator Cádiz is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guest and it’s near from railway & bus station, bars and restaurants as you said.

The cleanliness is a point very important for the chain and all our rooms must be impeccable. We are so sorry about inconveniences with shampoo and gel, it should be a mistake. In reference with toilet brush it is intolerable and we are very discontented with your impression; we have already change for a new and clean one.

We also welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast at the bar, because it makes us feel proud of the work done.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    176
    80
    47
    25
See reviews for
102
204
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had very mixed feelings about choosing this place since previous reviews had been really mixed, but I don't regret choosing it. The location was absolutely fantastic and the parking wasn't as difficult as I was led to believe by previous reviews, having received excellent directions from the hotel in advance. Yes, the decor was a bit shabby but I found the place overall, clean enough, and the lobby is very grand and beautiful. The bar was also very nice for a pre-bedtime drink. Breakfast was fabulous - we even had a glass of cava! The rooms were a little drab but beds were very comfortable. The spa is an experience not to be missed, although perhaps a bit overpriced for hotel residents. This place is certainly not a luxury hotel but it does provide decent quality accommodation, and reasonable value for money in a superb location. I would certainly consider staying here again and I would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Its hard to know. I was in 408 which looked over the street so a bit dark and no views except a sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve and know our Service quality.

We are very happy that you enjoyed with our services and facilities; you have to know that every member of the staff knows that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city. We try our best in order to give you the best service.

We are nice to hear your opinion about some strong points like the location or the parking. The hotel is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guest, you can visit the city perfectly. Although, the city has narrow streets and sometime the customer has any problem with our parking. The staff always helps in these cases

The cleanliness is a point very important for the chain and all our rooms must be impeccable. About the decoration, the company tries to follow a traditional style very similar to the central patio but thanks a lot for your opinion, it´s very important for us.

We also welcome your positive comments on our bar and the quality of our breakfast, because it makes us feel proud of our job.

Our Spa is a good way of relaxing after visiting the old town enjoying the history and culture of this ancient city.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

We expect if you decide to come back again, which we would very much appreciate.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are no better than a Holiday Inn Express, the staff are surly and rude, the lights do not work in the public corridors and the lift is filthy.
There seriously has to be better choices in Cadiz, but with no credible chains to choose from you take your chances. In this case we lost.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Hendry,

We have received your complaint about your stay en our Senator Cadiz Spa hotel, which we have carefully examined and are very pleased to answer.

We apologize about the inconvenient because I can assure you or main aim, is to get the satisfaction of all our Guests.

We would like to know your opinion during your stay, so we could try our best to satisfy any requires you may comment.

Anyway, we are sorry for all inconveniences that we may have caused, but if you decide to give us another opportunity, which we would very much appreciate, please let us know beforehand so that all our organization can be at your service.

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CADIZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

nice hotel but to less value for money. Old glory. Do have a very nice swimming pool on the roof and location is great. Beds are comfortable and breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We are nice to hear you your opinion about the kind of room you had with two big beds and nice view – traditional courtyard -; Senator Cádiz is located in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guest but unfortunately we have not view from the room, but from on the roof, are great.

Thank you so much in reference at your comment regarding breakfast.

We don´t understand your opinion about old glory because the Hotel made the opening in 2006 but we respect it.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was not a good experience. I have never written a hotel review before but I feel quite irritated.
We only stayed one night and we were charged almost 160 euros for the night. Had the hotel been anywhere 4 star we would have been happy but the hotel is shabby and the room very cheaply kitted out more like a 1 star. If you have a large car it will not be possible to park there as the car park is accessed via a very narrow lane and then you have to manouvre the car 90 degrees into a car lift. Our relatively small coupe made it with millimitres to spare. When we were told the price for the night ( the booking had been made on our behalf) we were also informed that breakfast was not included! The rooms are very badly decorated, very cheap looking and its the first time that we have slept in mustard coloured sheets and pillow cases. The pillows were thin and cheap. My wife opened the window and leaned on the railing and had to wash her arms as the railings were filthy. She was also bitten during the night and at this time of year there are no mosquitoes. When we went to pay our bill we were informd that the car park was chargeable and was 19 euros for the night!! Later we discovered that the front wing had been badly damaged ( metal was deeply gouged) by some other userwho had not left a note. I did not even bother to report this to the hotel as all we wanted to do was to leave as soon as possible and in fairness it was not the hotels fault. The staff were very formal but cold and uncarring when I commented on the car park cost and worst of all is that we felt cheated by such poor value.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you have no option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel; we are trying to give the best quality and service at our customer.

Regarding the price during your stay, in October, it depends of the demand and it is because we have been almost full every day, although minibar, breakfast and parking are official rates during all the year. Let me tell you that your reservation was made by phone and the receptionist explained to the person who made the booking, that the rates was only accommodation with 2 sesion of SPA free –or included in the price-. In fact, you ask for change the spa (included) for the breakfast.

We are sorry for all inconveniences that we may cause in reference of the room and parking. The most people think that rooms are big enough and good decorated, we cannot forget that the location is in the city centre and, for this reason, we have a clear decoration line.

About the parking (it costs 18 euros -10% tax included for a complete day), Senator Cádiz is situated in the heart of Cadiz, which it is appreciated for most guests because you can visit the city perfectly, but, it is absolutely true, the city has narrow street and sometimes, the customer has some problems with our parking. The staff always helps with the parking but it is not easy for big cars..

We are sorry about the problem with your car, we didn´t know anything about it, and for all inconveniences that we may have caused, but if you decide to give us another opportunity, which we would very much appreciate, please let us know beforehand so that all our organization can be at your service.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We dropped by a few hotels in Cadiz before picking this one for the night and we did not regret it. The hotel was an overall positive experience with friendly and helpful staff. The room was comfortable and spacious with good beds. The air conditioning worked well and there was also a roof fan. The bathroom was also large and comfortable. There was also a minibar.

The buffet breakfast was one of the best we had during our two weeks trip, with everything you could ask for and also a selection of fruits, juices, etc.

I would definitely consider this hotel if I ever visit Cadiz again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

We are nice to hear your opinion about one of our strong points as the location; the hotel is situated in the heart of Cadiz and it is appreciated for the guests, you can visit the city perfectly.
The hotel is quite close to points of interest like the cathedral, Tavira Tower, Town Hall, Museo, restaurants….

Thank you so much regarding your impressions on the size of room and the comfort of the beds; we try that the customer enjoy our service and Hotel.

We also welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast, because it makes us feel proud of our job. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

We expect if you decide to come back again, which we would very much appreciate.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hotel is perfectly positioned, close to Plaza de Espana for Transport and a short Walk from Plaza de la Cathedral...indeed, from here, the wonderful narrow Streets and the many Plaza's of the Old Town open up easily for the Tourist on Foot wishing to explore beautiful and historic Cadiz.

I had a Room on the 6th Floor, it was clean comfortable and had a few Extra's that one does not often enjoy in spain. I appreciated the Coffee and Tea making facilities, and my Daughter loved the Ceiling Fan! We had a Large Flat Screen TV with many International Channels...but we were usually too busy to watch TV!

We spent a bit of time in the Pool Area with its wonderful views of the Rooftops of Cadiz.
We also visited the spa which my Daughter loved...especially the Pool with the Oranges in! It was very well organised and great fun.

We had Breakfast every Morning and can thoroughly recommend it.The Food was of good Quality, in fact Our Omelettes were made to Order and cooked fresh in front of us and served at our table, we were able to augment our order with Croissants and Cereals, Fruit and Yoghurt all available at the Buffet.

The staff were truly excellent, friendly, knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for them.The Chef was very good, incredibly hard working, and very kind to my Daughter.

I always have a good time when I'm away on trips but I'm always glad to get Home...not this time.I miss Cadiz and the People we met there...The staff of The Spa Senator were indicative of the friendly and very approachable People of Cadiz. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your comment because this is the best way to improve our Service quality.

Your impressions on the room dimensions and details like the courtesy tray, TV and ceiling are very positive and we are enormously pleased you've enjoyed.

We are also glad that you have enjoyed in the magnificent views from the pool and your comment about our optional service of the Spa.

We also welcome your positive comments on our staff and the quality of our breakfast, because it makes us feel proud of our work done. You have to know that every member of the staff thinks that our main aim is that you feel comfortable during your stay in our hotel and city.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

We expect if you decide to come back again, which we would very much appreciate.

Yours sincerely,

Alvaro Gutierrez
Gerente Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel

Address: C/ Rubio y Diaz 1, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senator Cadiz
Senator Cadiz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.