We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Cadiz La Caleta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Cadiz La Caleta to your Saves list
Tryp Cadiz La Caleta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Almicar Barca 47 | Esquina Doctor. Fleming, 11009 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“great location,poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

stayed here for 1 night in june, the location is great opposite the beach,rooms are modern and spacious but no balconys,we came in at 11.30pm at night and wanted a cup of coffee we were told this was not possible as the bar was closed, and we should go to the bar on the street outside ! in this case it would have been nice to have hospitality trays in rooms.breakfast is served in the basement which is dark and uninviting with dated decor,choices ok but in no way as good or varied as other tryp /melia hotels we have stayed in , parking is 15 euro,s per day ! we will not stay here again.you can go into the old town by bus no1 from just outside the hotel,or try some tapas at bar bohemia just across the road it is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo_TRYPCLC-JE, Gerente at Tryp Cadiz La Caleta, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Denise G,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about TRYP La Caleta. I would like to please accept our apologies for not covering your expectations during your stay. Also, I would like to thank you for your valuable comments that are really helpful for us. In that way, please, rest assured that we keep on working with our headquarters in order to improve our services and facilities.

We do really apologize, and though your unfavourable impression about the points you have raised, we hope to have the pleasure of welcome you at TRYP La Caleta in your next stay in Cádiz.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    158
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
55
157
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moldova
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel was clean, rooms are small. Front desk staff was adequate but not helpful. Location is great for the beach but not as great if you are a history buff and want to spend your time in the old city. No local charm to this hotel. It could be in any city a block from the beach and you would not know the difference/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo_TRYPCLC-JE, Gerente at Tryp Cadiz La Caleta, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Marilyn J,

Thank you for sharing your experience at TRYP La Caleta.

We would like to express our most sincere apologies for not covering totally your expectations during your stay with us.

It is very surprising for us to receive comments as yours about the service of our Front Desk Team, because this department is one of the better valued by our guests. Anyway, be sure that we keep on working to improve our service day by day thanks to opinions as yours.

About our location, Cádiz is a small city, divided in two parts: the new one and the old one. We are situated in the new part of the city, just in front of the beach and two buses lines, with stops very close to the hotel, connect you directly with the historical centre of Cádiz.

We would like to thank you for choosing TRYP La Caleta for your stay in Cádiz and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Both the bathroom and room were very modern and spacious. It was also kept spotlessly clean during our four day stay. The location was also perfect, you walk across the road and you're right on the beach. And the beach was absolutely beautiful we loved it. The area was also full of bars and restaurants, which was perfect as we wanted a stress free stay. One day we caught the bus into the Old Town, as the hotel was located on the other side of Cádiz. But it was cheap and easy, around 1E each way. We arrived into Cádiz on the train, and wrongly assuming that the hotel wouldn't be far away we set off on foot. We soon wish we had got on a bus/ hailed a taxi as it took us at least 30 minutes to walk there. But luckily, as I mentioned, the hotel was also in an area with plenty of amenities so this was no problem. However we did find that the hotel wasn't exactly suited to the 'beachy' guest, it was more for business. There was no balcony or anywhere for us to hang our towels, a significant failing if you come here for a beach holiday. We noticed that our hotels further down the beach did in fact have balconies, so perhaps we'd choose one of those in future.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo_TRYPCLC-JE, Gerente at Tryp Cadiz La Caleta, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Senorita2013,

Thank you for you valuable and kind comments about our Hotel TRYP La Caleta during your stay with us.

For us is a great pleasure to discover that our guests leave our Hotel satisfied: our main aim.

As you indicate, TRYP La Caleta is an Urban Hotel, especially classified in these terms, with a privileged situation just in front of La Victoria Beach.

We are glad to hear that you enjoy both Cádiz: the new one, where our Hotel is situated, and the old town, the historic centre, just 2.5 km far from TRYP La Caleta (30 min. on foot) that can be reached, as you did, with any of the two urban buses with stops close to us.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Cádiz. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for one night in between Christmas and New Year. Didn't think hotel up to a four star rating bar or lounge area to sit in. Restaurant down in the basement area. During our time at the hotel found noisy due to hotel being full of tenagers staying. Complained twice due to them running up and down banging doors doors and could hear noise from adjoining rooms. One the positive side good view of the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPLaCaleta, Gerente at Tryp Cadiz La Caleta, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Costatourist,

Thank you for sharing your opinions about our Hotel TRYP La Caleta. We would like to express once again our most sincere apologies for the inconeniences due to the noise caused by other guests during your one-night stay in December.

I have evidence that as soon as we receive your comments about the noise, we immediately took the appropriate measures with these clients, becoming your comfort an absolute priority for our personnel, as we could confirm with you when you left the hotel.

Regarding your comments about our facilities, please, remember that our Restaurant - Coffee Shop La Barquilla is not in the basement. It is situated in the main entrance floor with sea view.

Being aware of the importance of continuous improvement, we keep on working with our headquearters to adapt our facilities and services to our guests needs. In that way, we have recently renovated all the rooms, we have refurnished our lobby area and improvements in our breakfast dining room situated in the basement are projected.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in your next stay in Cádiz.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Tryp La Caleta in Cadiz with family during the new year and after 3 nights we would say that Cadiz is a little cosy city in Spain which offers evething as a big one. We consider one of the most popular city in Spain for a holidays for all aspects. Accomodation at hotel expeted our needs as the Hotel is in front the avenue beach at Atlantic ocean. Lots to do at Cadiz and the night time is amazing. After a nice breakfast at "Las Flores" and a superb T-bone stake at "Montanera" that the spanish call "Chuleton del buey" we would recommend 10 times Cadiz for any stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo_TRYPCLC-JE, Gerente at Tryp Cadiz La Caleta, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Gmblpb,

On behalf of all TRYP La Caleta Hotel’s employees, thank you for sharing your opinion about your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Also, we would like to thank you for choosing TRYP La Caleta and we hope to welcome you in our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The premium room had a wonderful view over the beach, i liked the mood lightning and the furniture was modern and well kept. Big bed, big bathroom with tub, relaxing environment that i managed to fully enjoy.

Room Tip: My review is about a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

good hotel but nothing special.....great location for the beach but other than that we didnt think it has anything that would get us to make a return visit.....it was under some construction but i think as tourists we may select a hotel closer or in the old city next time...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Cadiz La Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Cadiz La Caleta

Address: Avenida Almicar Barca 47 | Esquina Doctor. Fleming, 11009 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#1 Green Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
#2 Business Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Cadiz La Caleta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRYP La Caleta is located right on the well known beach of Playa de Victoria, some 2.5 km (30 minutes on foot) from the historic centre of Cadiz. Two city buses with stops near the hotel will take you directly to the old part of Cadiz. Our rooms are totally renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Cadiz La Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp La Caleta Hotel
Tryp Hotel La Caleta
Tryp Hotel cádiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Cadiz La Caleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.