We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Puertatierra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Puertatierra to your Saves list
Monte Puertatierra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Cadiz and this hotel. It was within easy walking distance of the Renfe Station and close to the Old City gates. Our room was large and quiet with a comfortable mattress and pillows. The Reception staff were helpful but the Breakfast staff were exceptional. They were friendly and even made fresh hot Churros for us in addition to an extensive breakfast array. The Tourist Information personnel were excellent and we were particularly were impressed with the coloured lines to follow for different routes for sightseeing. Cadiz is a must see city and I would recommend this Hotel as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thanks for staying with us and for the comments about our hotel, facilities, location and services. We are glad that your stay sifrutó.
Thank you also for your recommendation in this Community of Travelers.
Hope to see you again for Cádiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    227
    65
    19
    3
See reviews for
99
268
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The reception staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful.
Prior to our arrival I emailed them to ask if they would reserve us a table at a popular restaurant which they did for us. Thank you. We don't eat much breakfast so we had coffee and tortilla or toast at a little cafe next door. The lady serving at the bar was smiling and friendly. The lovely beach was 300m away , beach towels were available for a small deposit. It was a 15 minutes to walk either the paseo or along the Avenida or 3 mins on the very frequent number 1 bus. Our bedroom was large and quiet, ok it overlooked a disused tennis court but it didn't matter, we slept well. All in all we paid a fair price for a very pleasant stay. We would come here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madame,
We truly appreciate your review. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much; this type of feedback is a great source of motivation to continue in our ongoing effort to become one of the best hotels in Cadiz.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
With best regards,


Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staying in Costa Mijas for a few weeks & decided to drive to Cadiz - what a lovely break, it was like having two holidays. Cadiz is a charming & bustling place to visit. We stayed at this hotel because of previous recommendations from trip advisor - spot on. The location was ten minutes from the city gates full of winding streets and jammed packed with shops & tapas bars - be brave & try the busiest local's tapas bar & you won't be disappointed! We took advantaged of the 'hop-on' bus, takes about an hour plus a walking tour included - this helped us to familiarise ourselves. We must pay special thanks to Angel at the hotel who helped us when we encountered a flat tyre. Organised for a mechanic to meet us at the car and hey-presto we were on our way! Yes, the hotel is a little tired but we were on the 2nd floor & refurbished - at the back of the hotel with no view but hey what do you expect for a city hotel - the plus side it was very quiet. We, as two couples would recommend the hotel for it's location, cleanliness and more importantly their personal efforts to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms 212 &. 214 back of hotel, no view but quiet - air con excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Madam,
It was our pleasure to help you make your holidays were wonderful. We welcome your words to our hotel and your stay with us.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels for work and a good hotel makes all the difference to my work performance and how I feel about being away from home. I have to say I enjoyed my stay in this hotel unreservedly. The reception staff were extremely helpful, especially with local transport. They even printed out timetables and maps for me. The breakfast buffet had a variety of choices and the restaurant served well cooked food, again, with helpful staff.
The only minor thing that wasn't quite right was the moulded washbasin in the bathroom. The clear Perspex always looked water stained and it was not clear where the indent was and the edges began. Also the plug didn't work and I had to waste water by running it when I washed my face.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thanks for your stay and your comments about our hotel.
We take into account the assessments carried us regarding the bathroom. We will study this issue to find a solution to improve our facilities.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in May and loved it. The hotel was lovely and the staff were so helpful. I asked them many questions and they helped me greatly. The proximity to the beach is great, with it being a few minutes walk. Very handy. It's also quite close to the city centre which has an array of fantastic restaurants and bars. Càdiz is a beautiful place and if you are visiting the city, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your stay, your comments and for recommending our hotel. Many customers like yourself also highlight the proximity to the beach of Santa Maria del Mar, just 100 meters. It is one of the best urban beaches equipped Cadiz, where some truly beautiful sunsets can be seen.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Rooms refurbished to very high standards with high ceilings, hard wood floorings and marble bathrooms. Very light and airy. Excellent room service and cleanliness. Always smiling staff catered to all our needs. Superb food + service. Spoiled for choice- inter- conti breakfast with best coffee in Cadiz. Located just a moments away from the best beach and very special Plazas of the Old Town. Special thanks to all the wonderfull kitchen staff lead by Manuello, Mario, Jose and Antonio! Can´t wait to return in 2015.

Room Tip: Can´t find fault with my room. Superb standards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madame,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are happy to hear that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed our services.
We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Monte Puertatierra or at any of our sister hotels located in Sevilla, Málaga or Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Situated 10-15 min walk from the old town and only 2 minutes from a beautiful beach. It depends on what you want to do on your holiday , ? Site see or swim. If you want to spend most of your time in the old town then the walk in and out is tedious, especially when hot.

The room is comfortable but not exceptional. Simple furnishings, no character, you could be any where in the world.

If I went back to Cadiz I would try to find a small hotel or B&B in the old town, which is rich in history.but if you like the beach then the hotel is well positioned. Breakfast and garage fees apply. So in essence an adequate but not memorable experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thanks for your stay and for taking the time to write these reviews.
Our hotel is located in a shopping area, yet only a few minutes from the beach, as you say. To reach the historic city center, you can take a bus from outside the hotel which takes you in just 5 minutes.
The difference to other hotels located in the historical district is not just the price. Access to it is more complicated (the historical district of the city is pedestrian) and the noise generated at night and limit the rest.
Waiting to see you again for Cádiz, Yours faithfully,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz La Caleta
Tryp Cadiz La Caleta
#1 of 31 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 31 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Cadiz
Barcelo Cadiz
#9 of 31 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Victoria
Hotel Playa Victoria
#8 of 31 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Cadiz Plaza
Hotel Spa Cadiz Plaza
#11 of 31 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Puertatierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra

Address: Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Puertatierra hotel, our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain).It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Monte Puertatierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Puertatierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.