We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault the place .... but you think you should, as it is big block of a place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Puertatierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monte Puertatierra to your Saves list
Monte Puertatierra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Cadiz
SE England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could not fault the place .... but you think you should, as it is big block of a place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The staff were friendly and very helpful, locating it was easy and parking convenient under the hotel. The breakfast was going to be expensive so we ate at a good local bar for a third of the cost. The room was good, clean and immaculate. More to the point it was good value for money.

The staff gave us good recommendations on where to eat. If you do not like sitting on a beach, Cadiz is good for an afternoon and evening... that's how long we stayed and I don't think we missed anything, that said it is an interesting place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sir:
Thanks for your stay and your comments.
We are glad that your stay was a full satisfaction and were happy with our hotel.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    173
    46
    14
    3
See reviews for
71
202
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is nice with big rooms.
It is licated 15 minutes walk from the center of the old city.
Hotel has good parking underneath it which costs 16 euros per 24h.
The breakfast is not so rich but it does the "job".
We checked in at 11am and our room qas ready! Great!
The city itself is BORING! Nothing much to do except sunbath at the beach...
We arrived at Cadiz for a sleep over on our way to Malaga, otherwise we wouldn't have visited it.
All & all: nice hotel with large rooms. Good value for the money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your words.
Unfortunately he did not like the city but enjoy a good stay at our hotel.
Hope to see you again for any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

It was a pity to stay one night only. Everything is 4 star quality, the hotel was very clean, the staff is efficient, they parked my car and they clean the windshield which was a very nice surprise.
Didn't try the breakfast because it was too expensive and there are a lot of places right next to it where you can have a great breakfast for a fraction of the price.

When you get out of the hotel turning right, turn right again towards the beach and you will find a good supermarket.

A very good stay indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that your stay was very good.
We recommend that the next time you stay with us try our Breakfast Buffet, where you'll find a wide selection of natural and fresh, cut fruit, bread and fresh pastries, cold cuts, hot avocado and more. I assure you I will leave very satisfied.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here last weekend of March after a previous visit August '13. On both occasions we were treated to a fine welcome, whether from the reception staff or downstairs at breakfast. Although our needs were few, I have no doubt that any queries would have been handled professionally. I'd advise prospective clients to check hotel's website for offers and promotions rather than slavishly booking via agents. We enjoyed three night's B&B for 73 euros per night, admittedly the winter rate. We intend to return to Cadiz and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for another stay with us and his desire to return, something that pleases us know, as well as the recommendation made in this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just returned from a six night stay at this hotel and we had a marvellous time. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay comfortable and easy. The reception helped with all queries about getting about Cadiz and even booked our trip to the Equestrian Centre in Jerez. The bar was lovely and though we only ate in the restaurant once, the food was delicious - Juan, you give a marvellous service.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the best of both worlds i.e. beach and old town. Thank you to everyone at the Hotel Monte Puertatierra for making us so welcome in Cadiz.

Room Tip: As light sleepers we found room 612 on the back on the hotel the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for staying with us and for the comments on this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.
Indeed, the situation of our hotel makes it an ideal place for those looking for the beach or the historic place. We are glad to enjoy these days in the city.
Hope to see you again for Cádiz or any other of our properties in Málaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for one night in mid April and found the hotel to be good.

Highlights being it's proximity to the beach and shops, cafés and restaurants in the old town. Also cleanliness of rooms.

The biggest downside was the designated car parking spaces were two levels below ground and we could not find a lift - much needed with heavy bags.

If you're looking for a pretty bare room at a reasonable price out of season, this is the place to go.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Sir:
Thanks for your stay and your comments.
If we look at a future time, we said can download your luggage at the hotel door and then enter the garage. This will prevent what he told us.
Hope to see you again for Cádiz or any other of our properties in Málaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014. Our plan was to use Cadiz as a base for exploring the region, but we actually spent most of our time in the city, since there was plenty to do and see.

The hotel's location is excellent. It is one block from the beach, which is 8 kms long, and has a promenade along the whole length. You can walk to the city in 10-15 minutes or take bus 1 or 7, which costs only €1.10.

We drove our car into the hotel's underground car park and left it there. You can park in the street, but you might return to find it scratched or dented!

Our room was on the second floor, facing the disused tennis courts at the back of the hotel. It was hardly scenic but very quiet. The alternative is a room at the front facing a busy road.

Our room was huge and nicely furnished. The bed was a super king, whereas most hotels we stayed in on this trip had quite small beds.

The breakfasts are quite expensive at €11.50, but you do get a wide selection (including cava, which is a good way to start the day!)

The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. For example, we heard a persistent noise which sounded like a pump: it wasn't really a problem but we wondered what it was. One of the receptionists visited buildings adjoining the hotel and found it was an elderly man's oxygen talk. Talk about going the extra mile!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your words and your stay at the hotel.
Through his words and understand your points stay was good. Good to know that a great critic of TripAdvisor as you liked our facilities and personalized attention.
Thanks for everything and hope to see you again in Cadiz or any of our hotels in Málaga, Huelva and Seville. We will be happy to help.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Puertatierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra

Address: Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Family Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Puertatierra hotel, our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain).It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Puertatierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Puertatierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.