We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpersonal hotel but rooms are okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Puertatierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Puertatierra to your Saves list
Monte Puertatierra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Cadiz
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Unpersonal hotel but rooms are okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed two nights in this hotel. The hotel as such is okay: it is clean, the rooms are large, bathrooms are nice and well functioning. Parking is in a large private garage underneath the hotel @11 euros/night, which is a fair deal. They even clean (unasked for!) your windscreen when your car is parked overnight, so there is no lack of service.
Still, we found the hotel very unpersonal. Not a single time in two days when we entered the lobby, we were greeted by reception staff. Ladies behind the desk were mostly busy with their mobile phones or talking to eachother, gentlemen were mostly busy in the office behind and not visible at all. Rooms lack any personal style or decoration. I guess we had expected more personality in a hotel which is so high on the list of hotels in Cadiz.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and your stay at the hotel.
We were very surprised his words when one of the characteristics of our hotels is the personalized attention we handle all our customers. So you can check it in the comments of other users of this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.
We think it may be due to chance, because we are completely sure that the entire staff is always fully available to our customers.
We regret that this matter caused discontent in your stay. We hope to see you again in Cadiz or any of our hotels in Huelva, Seville and Malaga and you can see how is the attention and personal service to all our customers.
Yours sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Communication & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    178
    50
    14
    3
See reviews for
74
208
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amberley, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

An excellent hotel, almost five star but without the fancy lobby, trendy bar selling overpriced cocktails and drinks - all of which were totally unnecessary for our needs. We booked this hotel on the internet, mainly because it had off-street parking which is hard to find in Cadiz. We took a special offer for over 65's which included a very extensive and good buffet breakfast. Very good value.

Finding the hotel was simple as we had a Navigator. As the hotel is on the left hand side and you can't drive across the oncoming traffic, you just need to proceed on a short way to a round-a-bout and return the way you came to the hotel entrance on the same street. Underground parking is just a few doors further down the street and a lift brings you up to the hotel lobby.

Staff are extremely friendly, professional and helpful.

The room was clean, big enough for a short stay and had all the necessary amenities including working air conditioning, a safe and mini bar. Housekeeping put in English Breakfast tea especially for us and our request for feather pillows and extra pillows was no problem.

This is a very centrally, conveniently located hotel and just about 10 minutes in a taxi from the Old Town.

When we got in our car, there was a little notice saying that our car windscreen had had a complimentary wash. We have never had this small but very useful service given to us anywhere else, ever.

Highly recommended and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Madam:
Thanks for your stay and your comments.
We welcome your visit to our hotel proceed at full satisfaction and their desire to return to stay with us.
Thank you for your recommendation on this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.
We hope to see you again in Cadiz or any of our hotels in Huelva, Malaga and Seville. We are happy to serve it.
Sincerely yours,

Miguel Andreu
Communication & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbarroja, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

“This is a four star hotel with five star service! Our room was beautifully appointed, with every possible comfort and was almost like a suite. The tea making facilities were particularly appreciated. The breakfast was by far the most extensive we have been offered in Spain, every choice being renewed as soon as clients helped themselves. The staff were, without exception, friendly, helpful and superbly professional. The hotel manager was conspicuous and active on many occasions and even joined the catering staff in bringing round hot churros at breakfast time. His gesture on my husband's birthday is a fine example of not only the vigilance of reception staff, who noticed the date on his identification, but his own care for individual guests. The bar/cafeteria staff deserve special commendation. Safe parking on site was cheaper than in many hotels in Cádiz and another delightful gesture was the cleaning of the windscreen, before our departure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your comments and your stay in our hotel.
For us it was sensational to share with you the birthday of her husband. His words the transmit to all our partners, we will be glad to know them.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We only stayed overnight - just passing through - and so we had a place to lay our head. Clean. Bed hard. Good last minute deal, so maybe we got a corresponding last minute room, but I would have been quite disappointed if this had been my holiday destination for any period of time. Checkin and checkout staff fine. Nothing wrong in particular, just soulless and unwelcoming.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and your stay in our hotel.
We understand that in just one night is difficult to make a further assessment of our services and facilities. We wish we knew more to improve their opinion about our hotel. We can say that it would find welcoming and the chance to be treated with the courtesy of our staff, which is very prominent in other reviews of this TripAdvisor Traveller Community.
We hope to see you again in Cadiz for a longer period or at any of our hotels in Malaga, Huelva and Seville. I assure you we will be happy to assist you.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights here on a short holiday in Cadiz. It's on the main drag in the newer part of Cadiz, only 500 m from the walls of the old town. The hotel appears well maintained, staff are friendly and helpful and the room we had was nice but it is a pretty standard place and a bit soulless. Breakfast was served in the cafeteria but it's very limited, no buffet, just tostadas with jam or tomato. I guess it's catering to Spanish tastes, which is fine if that's all you want.

Very close to the beach and you can borrow a beach towel for a 10 euro deposit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and your stay in our hotel.
We believe it is in a confusion: every morning the hotel serves an excellent breakfast buffet includes hot food, fresh fruit, cheeses, juices, cold cuts, different kinds of bread and fresh pastries and of course coffee, tea and plates instantly prepared by our kitchen.
You can see both our website and the comments from other customers of this TripAdvisor Traveller Community to confirm this statement.
Regret that I did not enjoy it, because it is one of the aspects that our customers value and better.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is nicely located in the city centre. About 10 mins walk from the old town and 2 minutes to the busy city beach. Had a great 3 days exploring the lovely city of Cadiz. Relaxed on the busy beach in the centre during the day and enjoyed the tapas trails in the evening!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and your stay in our hotel.
It's great to know they enjoyed their visit to the city and the central location of our hotel contributed to his time relaxing. We welcome this.
Hope to see you again for Cadiz or any other of our properties in Malaga, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is 5 minutes walk from the beach and 10-15 minutes walk from the old town. The staff are very friendly and will help booking trips and restaurants. The rooms are clean and modern with a good power shower, air conditioning, blackout curtains and comfortable beds. The only bad point is that parking is 11.5 euro's per day, which is a bit steep but probably comparable with other parking in the city. Overall though, it was a very comfortable hotel in a good spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Puertatierra, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thanks for your stay in our hotel and for the comments.
We are glad that your stay was to your liking.
I would tell you that the price of parking is usual for a hotel in this area. And of course, cheaper than those that exist in the city and its payment based on hours of use.
Hope to see you again for Malaga or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Puertatierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Puertatierra

Address: Avenida de Andalucia 34, 11008 Cadiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Business Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Puertatierra 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Puertatierra hotel, our hotel in Cadiz, is just a few metres from the beach (in southern Spain).It is a 4-star establishment, set in the historic, artistic and commercial centre of the city. It has 98 large rooms, free WiFi, rooms for meetings and wedding receptions, parking facilities and a wide offer of services to make your stay in Cadiz as comfortable as possible.Hotel Puertatierra is situated in the commercial and business centre of the city of Cadiz, very near the Convention Centre, which is the venue for a multitude of conferences and events of all kinds. It is less than 100m from the Santa María del Mar beach.Our hotel is just 10 minutes away on foot from the historic quarter of the city and its monuments such as the Cathedral, the Roman Theatre, the Falla Theatre, the monument to the Cortes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Monte Puertatierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Puertatierra Hotel cádiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Puertatierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.